We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf in ballybunion”
Review of The Tides B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tides B&B
Ranked #2 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Golf in ballybunion”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed three nights and already planning to go back next year. Rooms, hospitality and breakfast all first class. Have stayed in numerous hotel and guest house rooms, and the one here was by far the best. David has a story for every occasion and was very helpful with information about the local area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Hello Steve,

We are very thankful to your boys for taking the time to write such a wounde4erful review of the Tides Guesthouse. But most of all to everybody reading to this on TripAdvisor that ye had the good since of booking a few nights at the Tides in the process at the very start.

We are both pleased that you enjoyed the rooms, the stay and the Hospitality and sure a story or two goes a long way at breakfast . It is great to meet such lovely people to share these stories with of both home and away.

Best of all it was lovely to read the greatest part of your review - the plan of attack of the return trip. We must be doing something right and hope we can continue to do in the years ahead.

Thanks a million to you all.

Till we meet again at the Mighty Shores of Ballybunion !

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
153
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hockenheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

David and Doreen were outstanding hosts on our last minute booking. They upgraded our room to the suite which was excellent. We were traveling with our 4-year-old that came down with a cold. They were very accomodating, helpful and understanding during the entire stay. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and we never needed to eat lunch because of how much they served.

During our 4-day trip, we were able to drive and visit the Dingle peninsula to include Funghie the Dolphin, the Cliffs of Moher and Killarney. Ballybunion didn't have a lot open during this time of the year, but appears to be a nice little town later in the season.

We definitely wish we could stay at The Tides longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Battle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Good morning Battle6

It was lovely way to start our day as reading your kind review. When clients book with us and more so when they have the good since of staying three and four nights we try our very best to give a complementary upgrade to our Master Suite rooms if they are available.

Breakfast is something we pride ourselves on in looking after of Visitors and is was so good of you to tell all TripAdvisor's reading you kind review.

Till we meet again and your lovely daughter we are forever grateful of the work your husband does and wish you all safe keeping till ye get back home in the USA.

Yours sincerely

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed here for one night over the bank holiday weekend and really enjoyed it. The hosts were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The room was very comfortable and the local area deserves to be explored with its' beautiful beaches and world renowned golf course. Highly recommended and will book a stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Hello Patrick

Our sincere thanks for taking the Time to tell everybody about your stay in Ballybunion and posting this review about the Tides Guesthouse here on TripAdvisor.

Indeed the bank holiday weekend was quite cold snap but things were warm inside.
It is always good to see such review score by yourself and advising others to visit the Town of Ballybunion as a base camp and explore the various places around us.
Bromore Cliffs and the five miles of golden sand beaches and the Hot Seaweed baths, Fishing and golfing to name but a few .....

Till we meet again once again our sincere thanks

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had a lovely stay here for just one night over the recent bank holiday wkend. It was a lovely walk in to the town and we received great hospitality during our stay. The rooms were spotless and there was some nice touches you don't get in every b&b, like the massage chair, large towels and a powerful shower. My only criticism would be the price, which I felt could be lower during this off-peak time. Having said that,it was the cheapest luxury accommodation we could find online in ballybunion and the standard was very high.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omathunad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hello Omathunad,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review of your stay in Ballybunion.
We were delighted that you wrote such a positive review of Kerry's Hidden Gem.

Off season in Ballybunion has a slightly reduced cost to our valued clients but increased cost to ourselves. As the Bank holiday weekend was cold our heating system was deployed and did its job very well indeed with all parts of the house very warm indeed. This comes at a hugh cost now days with Gas costing nearly 1 Euro a liter.
The room you folks booked was one of our Master Suite Rooms and if requested we had a standard twin room available online as well.

Never the less is was lovely having you folks and we look forward to a return trip to the Mighty Shores of Ballybunion.

Our Sincere thanks
David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

My mother and I spent Mothers Day at The Tides. We had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the suite which is huge. Everything was beyond average. The breakfast was beautiful - we were still full that evening!This is a great place to stay and a good base to travel from. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther01979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hello Ester,

What a lovey treat for your mother and yourself only to get away to Ballybunion.
We were delighted that you chose the Tides Guesthouse and more so to write such a glowing review afterwards.

Delighted that you had the Master Suites such hugh room with all the trimmings.
It was a pleasure to look after you both on this special trip away a memory to last a lifetime and lovely for us to play even only a small part in making this happen.

Till we meet once again take care of yourselves !

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I recently spent a night in The Tides in Ballybunion. The owners were welcoming and friendly from the outset. They gave us great tips about things to do in the area and made some good recommendations for restaurants etc. We stayed in a suite, which is a fantastic sized room..really large and very comfortable. The house was spotless and there is a lovely sitting room downstairs that guests can use if they wish. Breakfast was very good. Overall would definitely recommend The Tides.

Helen & Ross

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hello Helen and Ross,

First we like to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.
It makes it better when coming from a Dublin person writing such lovely things about the Kerry People !!!!
Hospitality is what the Tides Guesthouse is all about and I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us in Ballybunion.
The great tips of course was Bromore Cliffs Walks and the miles of golden sand beaches.

The restaurants of Ballybunion are not all open fully yet this year but the ones that are are giving such great service and quality of food it is easy to advise.

Once again from Doreen and myself our sincere thanks for such a review and if things go right we be in Dublin for the third Sunday of September for the Sam Maguire !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I am quite tardy on submitting our review of the fabulous Tides Guesthouse in Ballybunion, Ireland. We were on a golf vacation which we planned on our own and by chance reserved a few nights at The Tides Guesthouse. Our hosts David and Doreen Walsh were such lovely and accommodating hosts. Our room was beautiful, spacious and clean with a large private bath. The breakfasts were perfection; especially David's Irish pancakes. Such a treat. George; my husband was golfing and since David is such an aficionado the two of them couldn't talk together enough.
I highly recommend The Tides Guesthouse...you will not be disappointed.
Cheers! Brigid and George Stasen

Room Tip: While in Ireland the best part of the trip is being able to engage with the locals. This guesthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Hello Brigid & George,

Having such lovely people from the USA is always a pleasure.
I agree with you it was good planning on your part to reserve a few nights at the Tides Guesthouse. I be hoping we get a lot more people to follow such a good example !!!

The Tides is located in such a great place for Golf Vacation with the quality of Five Highly rated Golf Course's just a hour away from Base camp and the Old course only two minutes away makes life so easy indeed. Talking to George about the golf is indeed a pleasure and it is always great to share the stories of the golfing world with our guests.

The recommendation by the both of you is very welcoming and shows that our good efforts in looking after our visitors are all well worth while.
It was very good of you to take the time to write this review as this review along with the wonderful reviews by others have given us a Travelers Choice award for 2013 !

Our sincere thanks

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
1.1 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,134 reviews
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides B&B

Property: The Tides B&B
Address: Listowel Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tides B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tides B&B. Your Family host David & Doreen Walsh await your arrival in Ballybunion, County Kerry. Recently awarded Five Stars by Failte Ireland you can be rest assured you will be well looked after in Ballybunion. Free Parking Free WI-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Tides B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing