We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, Top Notch”
Review of The Tides B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tides B&B
Ranked #2 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Was in Ireland for two weeks with my dad golfing several of the wonderful links courses. This was one of the few places we spent two nights to play both the Ballybunion courses. David was a great host and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. For golfers, the place is like a shrine to Irish Golf with awesome pictures/photo and Davids unbelievable trophy cases of crystal. Rooms were outstanding as was the rest of the house. Great parking and close to downtown. Check out the awesome message chair-- What a treat after a day on the links!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hello Tony from Washington,

The heading of " Clean , Comfortable and Top Notch" and all in one heading about the Tides Guesthouse there insist much more to say for such a glowing and warm review.

I know that you boys will be back........ bring the golf clubs... the fairways are calling ......

Thanks Guys your the best

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

My partner and our three year old stopped for the night after a long day driving.
What a fantastic place to unwind and recharge the batteries.

Great hospitality and food - extremely spacious rooms
2 minutes from town centre.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for that hidden gem.
Thanks a million

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatIre13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hello Catire13 from Christ Church New Zealand,

In fairness we take pride in the heading of your review " First Class"
"What a fantastic place to unwind and recharge the batteries" this says a lot about what we trying to do and how we go about doing this each day we welcome such wonderful people who knock on the door and we glad we met your family.

Thank you kindly for the glowing review on TripAdvisor.

Till we meet again take care of yourselves.

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I, along with our 2 young children (aged 2/4), and a party of many others thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in the Tides Guesthouse. Food was incredible, ownership extremely warm and professional (and forgiving!). Great location, only 2 minutes from center, 5 from golf courses. Never forget it!

Room Tip: If you have a family - go for the 'family room' - very large, spacious - great to let kids r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frassisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hello Frassisi from the Windy city of Chicago,


It was lovely to see a family coming to the mighty Shores of Ballybunion. With the Sun , sea and five miles of golden sand beaches what a get away and we were delighted to have your family at the tides Guesthouse in Ballybunion.

Thank you for posting this stunning review of your stay on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you did and both Doreen and myself look forward to see you all again some day soon.

Sincerely

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I took our two children ages 15 and 17 on a 16 day trip to Ireland. The Tides was an absolutely first class experience from the owners to the breakfast to the beds / furniture in our room. It is located a short distance outside of the town / beach which was great as it was very quiet at night (something we didn't find at other places when we stayed in the town along the way.
The room was very large and the bathroom was private and large and all was very well decorated. The windows seemed to be brand new and offered ample fresh air during an unusually hot time in Ireland. We absolutely don't have anything negative to say about our experience at this B&B.
David, the owner is also a very accomplished golfer and seems like he would be a great reference if you are interested in golfing in Ireland.

Room Tip: The room was very large and the bathroom was private and large and all was very well decorated. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Hello Eric from New York,

Our sincere thanks for such a "outstanding" heading and glorious review on TripAdvisor.
It was our pleasure to look after you all and we can only hope that the return trip is not too far away.

To you all once again our sincere thanks

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was a great place to stay. The place is bright, with lots of windows, light hardwood floors, high ceilings, and very nice furniture and decorations.

The bathrooms are big, the shower is excellent, plenty of hot water, good towels, a bathtub if you want, and again, very nicely decorated.

The breakfast was excellent, parking is plentiful and private, and the owner is a fine, cheerful and very helpful fellow.

Only small negative was that I couldn't get service on the upstairs internet, so I used the downstairs internet, and it was iffy upstairs..worked great is the wonderful common area. In a perfect world they would have had cable tv rather than the few channels available in Ireland, but that could be said for most of the places.

I would not hesitate to stay there again....a wonderful place and a great owner.

Room Tip: All upstairs rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hello Gator Golfer from Wisconsin,

It a joy in the morning when you turn on the computer and see such a wonderful review of the Tides Guesthouse posted on TripAdvisor. 188 Reviews so the 200 mark is getting very close indeed.

The comments of the house are glowing and thank you both so much.
The upstairs Internet is something that indeed needs to be looked at as this was much better last month so today we are updating the wireless for the upstairs bedrooms.

We look forward to having you both back at the Mighty Shores of Ballybunion and this was the nicest part of the review - ye coming back to the Tides.

Sincerely to you both

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

You could stay here for a night but you would be doing yourself a disservice - you need to stay longer! If you don't, you won't be able to find out how wonderful and helpful David & Doreen are. David became our concierge extraordinaire, helping us sort out everything such as tee times, ferry schedules, routes, places to see and events not to be missed. Staying at the The Tides turned out to be our favorite part of our 2 week holiday. Ballybunion is a great place if you take the time to enjoy it. Great beach, good food, wonderful sights and friendly locals. We plan on a return visit. I am already planning it! The Tides will be my home base. Bottom line - clean, comfortable, welcoming, well appointed, the way you would want to treat your good friends if you were to invite them to stay with you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ridesilent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hello Ridesilent,

What a review posted on TripAdviser..... I like it a lot.
Helping our guests plan out a the days events is been part of the Holiday trip with you folks.
I never get tired of doing this and see the reaction when you come home to the Tides.
We love it when our guests treat the place like home from home and you both certainly did that.

The best part ye coming back to base came Ballybunion.....
There no more to be said only ask when ?

Sincerely to you both for such a glowing and stunning review

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This guest house is wonderful, certinaly 5 stars, clean and very comfortable. We arrived to a nice welcome, room was lovely with a large bathroom with seperate shower. Breakfast was great and the best part is the price..... Bally Bunion is nice and the guest house made our stay even more joyable. Great hosts. We shall return and plan to tell our friends to go. Many thanks Tides.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janesharo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Good morning Jane from Israel,

I enjoyed you both here at Ballybunion. It was a wonderful weekend coming over for the wedding and a lovely wedding it was as well. Well I think you get the picture of an Irish wedding now after been here - the atmosphere - it is at last three days.......


Your review of the Tides Guesthouse is stunning to say the least and our sincere thanks for same.
The nicest part is that not only are your folks returning but you tell the friends as well about us and this makes a huge difference.

Hope ye enjoy Dublin

David & Doreen Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
1.1 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
191 reviews
8.1 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
190 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Astor B&B
The Astor B&B
#9 of 21 in Ballybunion
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides B&B

Address: Listowel Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range: £88 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tides B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tides B&B. Your Family host David & Doreen Walsh await your arrival in Ballybunion, County Kerry. Recently awarded Five Stars by Failte Ireland you can be rest assured you will be well looked after in Ballybunion. Free Parking Free WI-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Tides B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing