We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tides B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tides B&B
Ranked #2 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful room and wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I spent 2+ weeks in Ireland earlier this month and this room was the best of all the B&Bs and hotels that we stayed in. Room was comfortable and quite large with wonderful skylight windows. Bedding was plush and bathroom also very large with good water pressure. The entire guest house was spotless and equipped with modern amenities including hair dryer and wine chiller in the room. We had a wonderful breakfast with our host who told fabulous stories that really entertained. All the modern comforts with classic Irish hospitality. I highly recommend a night or a few at the Tides Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Kayak123,


We read with pride “Beautiful room and wonderful hospitality”

For somebody who has been all over the world and posted reviews of different places to write such a review is warm and rewarding for Doreen and Myself.

The contents of your review is the milestone of what we wish to achieve

Thanks a million to you both

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
145
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in the town. The B & B was faultless as was the warm Irish welcome and hospitality from David and Doreen. The suite was the largest and most comfortable room we have stayed in of any Guesthouse. Breakfast was spot on with a good variety of choice. If you are looking for something a little bit special in a quiet area within walking distance of the town and beach then this is the place. Would definitely stay again if we find ourselves in Ballyb in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlilley198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Mlilley 198 from the UK,

Thank you for the glowing review on TripAdvisor. Indeed we get a lot of people staying with us if there attending weddings in Listowel of Ballybunion Area's.
To find the Tides Guesthouse - Faultless - there a word to remember.

I am delighted to enjoyed the Master Suites room in fairness there the largest in town and we both love the space in these rooms.

Doreen love you part of the Tides review " if your looking for something a little bit Special"

Your coming back ..... that is all I needed to hear and read means we doing our job right.

Thanks a million

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A great B&B. Very clean and also quiet. Shower to die for, best in the country. Nice bright room with large bay window, and a beautiful view. A very accommodating host. The breakfast, a full Irish was first class. Lots of fresh fruit and very good coffee. Will definitely stay here on future trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendano_kells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Brendano from New York,

I am delighted to found the Showers to die for we put a lot of effort and money to get these power showers right for your folks to refresh and relax after the days events.

The review is stunning and we both thank you sincerely for posting on TripAdvisor.

The best part of the review that you boys are coming back again. Cant say better than that !

Thanks Boys

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My mother & I stayed for two nights and found the staff, cleanliness and rooms to be of an excellent standard. David was very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble, to the point of going out of their way to ensure that they had baked beans for my brothers breakfast, a request that hadn't been made in 11 years!! A lovely warm welcome awaits you if you stay in this beautiful guesthouse, we hope to return again in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Donna form the United Kingdom,

Such a review posted on TripAdvisor is a great endorsement of the work we do in looking after our guests at the Tides Guesthouse.
Mrs Beans herself I got some kick out of that one..... 11 years never asked for Baked Beans for breakfast even dough we have four excellent choices from the kitchen to choose from Herself asked for Beans.......

The last part of your review is that you folks are returning and soon.
Once again thank you both so much

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Was in Ireland for two weeks with my dad golfing several of the wonderful links courses. This was one of the few places we spent two nights to play both the Ballybunion courses. David was a great host and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. For golfers, the place is like a shrine to Irish Golf with awesome pictures/photo and Davids unbelievable trophy cases of crystal. Rooms were outstanding as was the rest of the house. Great parking and close to downtown. Check out the awesome message chair-- What a treat after a day on the links!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Tony from Washington,

The heading of " Clean , Comfortable and Top Notch" and all in one heading about the Tides Guesthouse there insist much more to say for such a glowing and warm review.

I know that you boys will be back........ bring the golf clubs... the fairways are calling ......

Thanks Guys your the best

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My partner and our three year old stopped for the night after a long day driving.
What a fantastic place to unwind and recharge the batteries.

Great hospitality and food - extremely spacious rooms
2 minutes from town centre.

Would highly recommend to anyone looking for that hidden gem.
Thanks a million

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatIre13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Catire13 from Christ Church New Zealand,

In fairness we take pride in the heading of your review " First Class"
"What a fantastic place to unwind and recharge the batteries" this says a lot about what we trying to do and how we go about doing this each day we welcome such wonderful people who knock on the door and we glad we met your family.

Thank you kindly for the glowing review on TripAdvisor.

Till we meet again take care of yourselves.

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I, along with our 2 young children (aged 2/4), and a party of many others thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in the Tides Guesthouse. Food was incredible, ownership extremely warm and professional (and forgiving!). Great location, only 2 minutes from center, 5 from golf courses. Never forget it!

Room Tip: If you have a family - go for the 'family room' - very large, spacious - great to let kids r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frassisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Frassisi from the Windy city of Chicago,


It was lovely to see a family coming to the mighty Shores of Ballybunion. With the Sun , sea and five miles of golden sand beaches what a get away and we were delighted to have your family at the tides Guesthouse in Ballybunion.

Thank you for posting this stunning review of your stay on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you did and both Doreen and myself look forward to see you all again some day soon.

Sincerely

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
1.1 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
162 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
475 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#1 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilcooly's Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides B&B

Property: The Tides B&B
Address: Listowel Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tides B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tides B&B. Your Family host David & Doreen Walsh await your arrival in Ballybunion, County Kerry. Recently awarded Five Stars by Failte Ireland you can be rest assured you will be well looked after in Ballybunion. Free Parking Free WI-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Tides B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing