We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer...”
Review of The Tides B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tides B&B
Ranked #1 of 21 Ballybunion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer...”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This has to be the best guesthouse we have ever stayed in. We traveled down for a wedding and stayed Thursday night. Our room was stunning.The most beautiful room I have ever seen in a guesthouse and everything was absolutely spotless. The room was also lovely and warm and very spacious. The bathroom was spotless and had a lovely bath and a shower. The water pressure was amazing! Dave and Doreen are the best hosts. Dave entertained us with stories throughout our delicious breakfast that Doreen had cooked. My husband was so impressed with the homemade brown bread. Nothing was too much trouble for Dave and Doreen. They were so helpful. We would recommend this guesthouse to anyone planning a stay in Ballybunion. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hello Denise from Kildare,

I thank you both sincerely for posting such a stunning review here on TripAdvisor.
It was lovely having you all over for the wedding here in Ballybunion and our thanks to the Happy Couple to recommend us to you.
The Day in question was indeed lovely and I am delighted for all involved.
Glad you enjoyed the Showers and the best part is that ye will be back.

Till we meet again

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
153
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the most immaculate place I have ever stayed in!! The location is great, the rooms spacious and warm. The hosts, Doreen and David, work very hard to assure that every need is met and that you enjoy a wonderful time in Ireland.
We will definitely be returning next fall!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hello Mary from New York,

Today we hit the big time number of 200 Reviews and a heading such as “Spectacular B&B”
does the business for me Mary and thanks a million indeed.

TripAdvisor reviewers have been great to us and really show how much we put into the place in looking after our guests. Your a darling and we be delighted to have you next fall Mary.

Thanks a million

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have visited Ballybunion several times but this fall was my first time with the privilege of staying at David and Doreen's beautiful B&B. Our room was spacious and cozy with a large and modern bathroom with a tub and stand alone shower. The common area was a great spot to unwind after a long day and I would highly recommend the massage chair after walking 18 holes. On top of the comfortable and clean accommodations, David and Doreen are the nicest hosts you could imagine. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and are willing to help you in anyway possible. We will definitely be returning to Ballybunion and hope there are rooms available at the Tides to make our stay all the more enjoyable. Thank you David and Doreen for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregChiTown1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hello Greg from Chicago,

It has been our pleasure to look after the gang from the Windy City of Chicago and more so this year when we had the pleasure of having such a lovely couple stay with us the next generation of Brosnan's coming to Ballybunion.
Thanking you so much for taking the time to post such a review on TripAdvisor. The best part is the return visit is coming soon. To the both of you our sincere thanks indeed.

Sincerely

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent hosting in a very charming guesthouse - breakfast was perfect and no complaints at all on our stay. Also a big plus for golfers like me as owner is a local and was able to guide me through the hurdles of getting a tee time - also very close to other touristy attractions

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Declan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Declan from Switzerland,

What a stunning review on TripAdvisor with a heading to Match. “Perfectly located golfers B&B”

Sorting out golf times we do every day for our guests at no additional cost.
Ballybunion Old Course is indeed special and glad we were able to help out.

Thank you for you glowing review and having had such good fun I can only hope that you be back again sooner rather than Later.....

Thanks a million

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

David, the owner operator, made us feel at home. Very nice, large rooms and bathrooms. Great location .5 miles on the main road to the village. The food was great. Hospitality was top notch. We had a great time in town and on the links. Very memorable trip and stay. He is a great golfer too!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hello Daniel and many thanks indeed for your lovely review of the Tides Guesthouse.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ballybunion, and it was our pleasure to arrange the golf times for you.

Lets only hope that your return is not too long away for the mighty Links at Ballybunion.

Thanks a million for your sincere review on TripAdvisor.

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My husband and I spent 2+ weeks in Ireland earlier this month and this room was the best of all the B&Bs and hotels that we stayed in. Room was comfortable and quite large with wonderful skylight windows. Bedding was plush and bathroom also very large with good water pressure. The entire guest house was spotless and equipped with modern amenities including hair dryer and wine chiller in the room. We had a wonderful breakfast with our host who told fabulous stories that really entertained. All the modern comforts with classic Irish hospitality. I highly recommend a night or a few at the Tides Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Kayak123,


We read with pride “Beautiful room and wonderful hospitality”

For somebody who has been all over the world and posted reviews of different places to write such a review is warm and rewarding for Doreen and Myself.

The contents of your review is the milestone of what we wish to achieve

Thanks a million to you both

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding in the town. The B & B was faultless as was the warm Irish welcome and hospitality from David and Doreen. The suite was the largest and most comfortable room we have stayed in of any Guesthouse. Breakfast was spot on with a good variety of choice. If you are looking for something a little bit special in a quiet area within walking distance of the town and beach then this is the place. Would definitely stay again if we find ourselves in Ballyb in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlilley198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballybunion G, Owner at The Tides B&B, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Hello Mlilley 198 from the UK,

Thank you for the glowing review on TripAdvisor. Indeed we get a lot of people staying with us if there attending weddings in Listowel of Ballybunion Area's.
To find the Tides Guesthouse - Faultless - there a word to remember.

I am delighted to enjoyed the Master Suites room in fairness there the largest in town and we both love the space in these rooms.

Doreen love you part of the Tides review " if your looking for something a little bit Special"

Your coming back ..... that is all I needed to hear and read means we doing our job right.

Thanks a million

David & Doreen Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybunion
1.1 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
171 reviews
16.9 mi away
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The 19th Lodge
The 19th Lodge
#2 of 21 in Ballybunion
1,133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Teach de Broc
Teach de Broc
#3 of 21 in Ballybunion
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cashen Course House
Cashen Course House
#5 of 21 in Ballybunion
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides B&B

Property: The Tides B&B
Address: Listowel Road, Ballybunion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Ballybunion
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballybunion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tides B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tides B&B. Your Family host David & Doreen Walsh await your arrival in Ballybunion, County Kerry. Recently awarded Five Stars by Failte Ireland you can be rest assured you will be well looked after in Ballybunion. Free Parking Free WI-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Tides B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing