We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glebe Country House
Nearby Hotels
Munster Arms(Bandon)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtmacsherry Hotel(Courtmacsherry)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$167
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trident Hotel Kinsale(Kinsale)
US$173
US$138
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Donovan's Hotel(Clonakilty)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Emmet Hotel(Clonakilty)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oriel House Hotel(Ballincollig)
US$140
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
25
11
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
11
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsallow dogswest corkkinsaleloungegeorgian
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Glebe country house is located a few miles down the road from Kinsale . The period house is set in a beautiful garden so peace and quiet is guaranteed. The breakfast was nice and filling while the beds and rooms were comfortable.The host was welcoming and kind to us during our stay and gave helpful tips on things to do and see. The bathroom had everything a bathroom needed but twice the size of a normal hotel one!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stratabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great house, excellent location, nice host, hearty breakfasts (cooked Irish, waffles, kippers), good coffee
6 year old loved Minnie, the terrier
5mins walk to local pub
Check out Howes Strand, 'secret beach'
Eat in Maxs in Kinsale (book first)
Have already recommended to my parents for weekend break

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This big old country house and gardens are a beautiful retreat from the hustle bustle of daily life, and the proprietor is very friendly. Wonderful garden for playing catch, hide and seek with the children. Although safety might be an issue with very young children. Unfortunately the beauty and immediate appeal of the manor house and gardens quickly dissipate on crossing the threshold of the garden apartment and loft. We found the apartments to be neglected, with cobwebs and dust in abundance. It felt like both apartments needed a really good Spring clean. As is sometimes the case in old houses in Ireland a smell of damp prevails. In this case it permeates the wardrobes and drawers to such an extent that we decided to keep our clothes in our suitcases. The kitchen has all the basic utensils although the quality of cook's knives was poor. There were no sponges or brushes supplied for washing up (loft) and the one tea cloth that was supplied looked old and dirty, so we bought our own! Bed linen is "tired" and faded and the same applies to carpets, blinds and sofas. This is a property with great potential but at the moment in need of a lot of TLC. We were very disapointed as the coach house and loft fell very short of our expectations based on various promotional website descriptions.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
7  Thank Cath6819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We had rather mixed feelings about our short stay at Glebe Country House B&B. It’s an impressive looking Georgian style building in a small village near(ish) to Kinsale. It’s not that easy to find and even our Sat Nav got a bit confused telling us that we were driving off road for several parts of the way. The address says that it’s near Kinsale but it felt like a fair distance driving on the country roads. When we arrived we had just spent a few days in a really great value country house hotel in Co. Kerry and so the contrast with Glebe Country House was particularly noticeable. We were greeted by the lady proprietor who was polite but yet seemed quite cold and we found it hard to feel welcome. Our room in the main house felt rather tired – the bathroom was aged and the water ran too slowly to have a proper shower. The room was furnished in an antique style but it felt more “just old” than “stylish antique” and we found the bed uncomfortable. The small details also made us feel that it was all just a bit tired – you know the sort of thing - one of the dim ceiling lights had blown and one of the window panes was cracked and taped over. We even noticed a 2-pin plug forced into a 3-pin socket which didn’t inspire confidence. The breakfast was simple but reasonably done and the sitting room was pleasant and comfortable and the whole place was kept very clean. The garden was particularly well kept and looked nice. However, overall we felt that it was too pricey for what we got and so we felt disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McClive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a night on a weekend trip with another couple. We stayed in the cottage next to the main house, which was a decent size for four people and 2 dogs. We got the bigger bedroom so were more comfortable than our friends, who had a smaller room with two twin beds. Both rooms were ensuite and the showers were decent. Everything was clean bot nothing too fancy. I was pleasantly surprised to see instructions on where to recycle, compost and dispose of your own waste, so they are making an effort in that department. Getting into town was a bit of a hassle as we didn't exactly know where we were going and had to turn around a few times, but we figured it out easily enough. It took about 15 minutes to drive to Kinsale and, once we got there, we had a few awkward turns due to detours because the whole town centre was torn up to repair water pipes, I believe. It was nice to have our own kitchen and sitting room, as well as tons of land to tire the dogs out on. The host was a bit flighty- it was their first weekend putting their boat in the water so they were in and out running around. We didn't do breakfast since they were so busy and she couldn't remember what price she quoted for us so make sure to bring an email confirmation when arriving! No real complaints- it was worth it for a quiet weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KerBarr0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews