We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly Self Catering”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glebe Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandon
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly Self Catering”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very impressed with the Coach House apartment, very comfortable and our two dogs loved it, we stayed for a couple of weeks. We were made very welcome and given full use of the fantastic grounds of this lovely georgian house. The location is quiet peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast and evening meals are available in the house if required. Very convenient to both Bandon and Ballinspittle which have good facilities, lovely beaches a short drive away.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    10
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Had a lovely welcome, stayed in the upstairs apartment which was lovely for the 4 of us. It was lovely and clean apart from the spiders, but who can ever keep the little critters away! I know at home I can’t. lol.
The setting was amazing and close access to everything. The two lovely ladies that run the B+B were very helpful and had plenty of time for all their guests.
Will be returning and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula231269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a brilliant overnight stay in Glebe House at the end of Easter,we visited Bandon only a few mins away,a lovely market town.The owners live in the basement level so you sort of have the run of the house which is great since we have 2 young children.We played tennis on the lawn and there's a little trampoline too for the kids.We had organised with Gillian, the very helpful owner, that we ate dinner there and it was fab,no yucky chicken nuggets for the kids they were given what we got.You can bring your own wine etc.. so we drank prosecco and played cards on little antique chairs with our kids,really cute.The breakfast is super great with lovely home made breads, waffles,real fruit salad and the most exceptional quality meats in the cooked breakfast.Tea is made with tea leaves and served in pretty porcelain cups and saucers.The 2 local pubs are a 2 min. walk away in the village and the owners are so lovely and full of chat.All in all a truly wonderful place to stay,eat,relax in west Cork,we hope to go back during the summer with our kiddies again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Green room since we have 2 kids and it was great with a hugh bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coleendelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We just had the most fabulous weekend at Glebe House for Julie's 50th birthday. 20 friends from all over West Cork gathered to enjoy the relaxed, generous and faultless hospitality of Gill Good in her beautiful house. Kevin from Forage and Find cooked up an exotic Vietnamese feast (where would you get it?), served by the efficient, friendly and ever patient Regina. Shannon from Diva in Ballinspittle created a wondrous cake. Breakfast next morning-or was it really afternoon, was delicious, restorative, and everlasting, with coffee ariving endlessly, even as we spilled out onto the sunny terrace, vaguely thinking about going home. The gardens, maintained beautifully by Caroline, provided a restful backdrop for our recovery, and yes, we did eventually, reluctantly, leave!

Room Tip: For a romantic treat, the Rose room was a joy, giving onto a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionnuala H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Glebe country house is located a few miles down the road from Kinsale . The period house is set in a beautiful garden so peace and quiet is guaranteed. The breakfast was nice and filling while the beds and rooms were comfortable.The host was welcoming and kind to us during our stay and gave helpful tips on things to do and see. The bathroom had everything a bathroom needed but twice the size of a normal hotel one!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stratabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great house, excellent location, nice host, hearty breakfasts (cooked Irish, waffles, kippers), good coffee
6 year old loved Minnie, the terrier
5mins walk to local pub
Check out Howes Strand, 'secret beach'
Eat in Maxs in Kinsale (book first)
Have already recommended to my parents for weekend break

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This big old country house and gardens are a beautiful retreat from the hustle bustle of daily life, and the proprietor is very friendly. Wonderful garden for playing catch, hide and seek with the children. Although safety might be an issue with very young children. Unfortunately the beauty and immediate appeal of the manor house and gardens quickly dissipate on crossing the threshold of the garden apartment and loft. We found the apartments to be neglected, with cobwebs and dust in abundance. It felt like both apartments needed a really good Spring clean. As is sometimes the case in old houses in Ireland a smell of damp prevails. In this case it permeates the wardrobes and drawers to such an extent that we decided to keep our clothes in our suitcases. The kitchen has all the basic utensils although the quality of cook's knives was poor. There were no sponges or brushes supplied for washing up (loft) and the one tea cloth that was supplied looked old and dirty, so we bought our own! Bed linen is "tired" and faded and the same applies to carpets, blinds and sofas. This is a property with great potential but at the moment in need of a lot of TLC. We were very disapointed as the coach house and loft fell very short of our expectations based on various promotional website descriptions.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Cath6819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
7.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
894 reviews
5.0 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Munster Arms
Munster Arms
#2 of 2 in Bandon
77 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hayfield Manor Hotel
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Country House

Property: Glebe Country House
Address: Glebe Country House Glebe Country House Glebe Country House Balinadee | Near Kinsale, Bandon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small georgian country house Bed & Breakfast with 2 self catering apartments in our Coach House, set in 2 acres of gardens. We serve evening meals by prior arrangement and can cater for most dietary requirements. We have a large kitchen garden including herbs and soft fruit and enjoy home baking. We offer Vintage Style Afternoon Tea to groups over 10 by prior arrangement. We also host Marquee Weddings and other outdoor events. Keep an eye on our facebook page for details. We are in the village of Ballinadee which is on a creek off the river Bandon, with Pubs Shop & Churches, just 7 miles from Kinsale and 5 miles from Bandon. The Sandy Surfing beach of Garrettstown with its Blue flag is just 4 miles away. We are Dog Friendly and there are coastal and woodland walks, and Horse Trekking is available in the village. There is a local bakery and incredible cafes in Ballinspittle and Bandon. Kinsale is known for its fabulous Harbour, Arts Week, Historic sites, Sailing and Restaurants and Food Festival. We are within driving distance of West Cork Garden Trail, Blarney Castle, Charles Fort, Banty House and the Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glebe Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glebe Country Hotel
Glebe Country House Bandon, Ireland - Munster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing