We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house and welcoming hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glebe Country House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandon
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed at this B&B while touring Cork and Kerry. It was a great B&B with large rooms, a very friendly and chatty host and the most amazing breakfast.
The ensuite bathroom was a little dated but all in working order and clean.
We were given the number of a local taxi who brought us to nearby Kinsale for some nightlife. This taxi man was extremely friendly and arranged to pick us up for a return trip later that night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Glebe Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

While we enjoyed our stay at this lodge insofar as the hosts were truely charming and very helpful and breakfast was always good, they do need to invest in the property itself especially in the two bedrooms on the lower level of the main house. The rooms felt damp and wet and were uncomfortable to stay in. Again, the house and grounds are beautiful; the hosts were sublime, lovely, genuine people but the lower two rooms need good ventilation/heating to bring them up to par with the rest of the house..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kewcheystories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Beautiful country house with lovely gardens We travelled as a family group with a small child.Gill made us feel very welcome. We were greeted with tea and homemade biscuits in the lovely sitting room. The upstairs bedrooms we had were clean,comfortable and well appointed. Breakfast was lovely with a great choice. The homemade waffles were great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Quiet, clean, kind people, what else would you want?Lovely breakfast, beautiful location. Very glad i followed the raccomendation of the waiter in Sorrentos. Really enjoyed my stay. Would certanly come back.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank marklikegoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed in the upstairs loft apartment for a week in July and we had very mixed feelings about the place. Access to the apartment is up steep, irregular stone steps, ducking wet, overgrown bushes. Bit tricky in the rain.The apartment itself is very much in need of a renovation. In particular the carpet is old, shabby and in multiple patterns. There was an fraying offcut in the bedroom. Not only was it old and jaded but also musty and dirty. Other reviews which said this place was spotless were not accurate. The lounge suite looked like it had come from a 70s charity shop and was also musty and hard to get in and out of.

There are two double beds in the bedroom and the one we chose was comfortable and the linen was clean and crisp, but there was only a reading light on one side so that made reading in bed for me difficult.

We had to ask for a hair dryer and then I had the problem of not being able to plug it in anywhere near a mirror. There seems to be some sort of prohibition in Europe and the UK to using a hairdryer in a bathroom where you would expect to use it.

The village of Ballinadee is cute but the facilities are not what we had been expecting. The little supermarket is a tragic place with largely empty shelves. The 2 pubs which we had expected seemed to be closed. We certainly didn't venture in. Having said that the countryside and the gardens of Glebe House are lovely and the trip to Kinsale is manageble. it would be a nice place to come with your dogs and maybe the facilities in the B&B are crisper than those in the self catering apartments.

The information about local places and services which was supplied in the apartment was not what it could have been. For example, the wi fi password was not in the book so we asked for it. Our hostess wrote down the number but both my husband and I misinterpreted the handwriting and spent 2 days frustratingly trying to get online. This should have been typed up in the booklet so that we didn't need to ask and also to avoid mistakes. Others spoke of dinner in the house but there was no information offered.

All in all this is a place that could be sensational but needs some urgent upgrading and rethinking. One compensation for us was that it was relatively cheap for a 'supposed' 4 star, but if I had been paying top dollar I would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austinvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very impressed with the Coach House apartment, very comfortable and our two dogs loved it, we stayed for a couple of weeks. We were made very welcome and given full use of the fantastic grounds of this lovely georgian house. The location is quiet peaceful and relaxing. Breakfast and evening meals are available in the house if required. Very convenient to both Bandon and Ballinspittle which have good facilities, lovely beaches a short drive away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JGCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Had a lovely welcome, stayed in the upstairs apartment which was lovely for the 4 of us. It was lovely and clean apart from the spiders, but who can ever keep the little critters away! I know at home I can’t. lol.
The setting was amazing and close access to everything. The two lovely ladies that run the B+B were very helpful and had plenty of time for all their guests.
Will be returning and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paula231269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandon
7.2 mi away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
Actons Hotel Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
947 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
999 reviews
4.8 mi away
Munster Arms
Munster Arms
#2 of 2 in Bandon
83 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Emmet Hotel
The Emmet Hotel
#7 of 8 in Clonakilty
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glebe Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glebe Country House

Address: Glebe Country House Glebe Country House Glebe Country House Balinadee | Near Kinsale, Bandon, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bandon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bandon
Price Range: £94 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small georgian country house Bed & Breakfast with 2 self catering apartments in our Coach House, set in 2 acres of gardens. We serve evening meals by prior arrangement and can cater for most dietary requirements. We have a large kitchen garden including herbs and soft fruit and enjoy home baking. We offer Vintage Style Afternoon Tea to groups over 10 by prior arrangement. We also host Marquee Weddings and other outdoor events. Keep an eye on our facebook page for details. We are in the village of Ballinadee which is on a creek off the river Bandon, with Pubs Shop & Churches, just 7 miles from Kinsale and 5 miles from Bandon. The Sandy Surfing beach of Garrettstown with its Blue flag is just 4 miles away. We are Dog Friendly and there are coastal and woodland walks, and Horse Trekking is available in the village. There is a local bakery and incredible cafes in Ballinspittle and Bandon. Kinsale is known for its fabulous Harbour, Arts Week, Historic sites, Sailing and Restaurants and Food Festival. We are within driving distance of West Cork Garden Trail, Blarney Castle, Charles Fort, Banty House and the Ring of Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Glebe Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glebe Country Hotel
Glebe Country House Bandon, Ireland - Munster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing