We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bar Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We often stop here to eat with the kids and it is always very good. The hotel has a lovely lobby area and bar area. We were seated quickly and presented with menus & crayons. The kids menus have activities to keep them occupied. Not that we had to wait long, I had the lunch special of pork belly & my husband had the beef. Both were excellent, very well presented & plenty of veg & potatoes. The menu choices for children were very good and include half roast with veg & potatoes, fish & chicken to name a few. Our 3 had the children's brownies for dessert and I was sorry I didn't order one for myself! Staff very friendly and welcoming. We will definately be back may even stay overnight the next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MimiBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

stayed here Tuesday and Wednesday night with friends. The reception area was very good but it went downhill from there. rest of hotel was extremely dated and run down. bedroom was dusty and dirty and the hotel smelled of must. ate in the restaurant on Tuesday night where we were served a bad carvery type meal. breakfast the following morning was appalling. ate elsewhere Wednesday night. I wonder how this can be 4 stars. it is, at best a 2 star. Won't be back. Pull up your socks guys. ....

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sleepti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

we stayed for one night. room spacious and clean with a decent ensuite. tv could do with a serious upgrade. We ate in the bar - both of us had the burger -very large portions and tasty. menu and specials looked very good. breakfast was also very good with a good choice both cold and warm. we did not use the leisure centre. Only issue apart from tv was the bed - was not very comfortable. staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIVERZEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here on business and very disappointed that many things had not improved since highlighted in june 2013 breakfast still very poor served lukewarm and unappetising look room had outdated tv no remote control and despite request to reception none was supplied no hairdryer in room these things are hardly rocket science We loved the leisure facilities and staff there well done on that I am at a loss to comment further on issues that are really basic to a comfortable stay after a 3 and a half hour journey There was also a leak in the en suite which left a very damp floor but who cared

Room Tip: sorry cant be helpful in this category
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonoftc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights midweek. we had a wonderful stay, the hotel was beautiful and we really enjoyed ourselves. the hotel was just two mins from the town, walking distance but maybe not in heels! :P the staff were absolutely brilliant, they couldn't have been nicer, especially Ros on reception, she was so pleasant and welcoming, really made us feel at home! :) all the staff were a credit to the hotel! the leisure centre was great also, nice and quiet too so we could fully relax! :) and the food was gorgeous as well! we don't have a bad word to say about the hotel and we would definitely go back there again! :D

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenleon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked a two night stay through groupon. Offaly wouldn't usually be on the traditional tourist trail, but we were looking for a bit of relaxation in a hotel with a good sports club, the gym and pool here are excellent. The food is also delicious and fairly priced. The hotel itself is pretty nice and the staff very friendly. I suppose if we were looking to nitpick it would be that there was no music in the bar (live or recorded) and the TV in the room was a bit past its best. Other than that we had a great time and would recommend to anybody looking a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brucegrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had bar food dinner here and it was excellent. Staff very helpful and they go out out of there way to help you. You would know that this hotel is a family run hotel as they take pride in what they do.
Will be returning at some stage.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BHE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.5 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
153 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
21.2 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
686 reviews
19.6 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Moorpark Street, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Ireland's finest family-run Hotels since 1962. Unwind at the Springs Leisure Club & Wellness suites with luxurious spa treatments. Stay in spacious bedrooms including family rooms with bunk beds. Meet in modern conference facilities, enhanced by our central location within 90 minutes of Dublin, Galway & Limerick. Enjoy our award-winning Restaurant, pretty gardens, lively bar and relaxing foyer. Special offers include Murder Mystery, Walking, Golf, Spa. 6 bedrooms adapted for wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Arms Hotel And Leisure Club
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing