We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable, magical family celebrations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just back from a wonderful weekend in Birr. We chose Birr County Arms because it was in the centre of the country and perfect for family to meet coming from all corners of Ireland.

It was the prefect night away from start to finish, that appealed to all age groups. The children loved the pool, the women got some great treatments and we had an absolutely magnificent meal in a private dinning room in the old house. We all sat around a huge round table. The adults were served champagne and then a really wonderful menu which was a big hit with us all. Being in the private dining room was really special as it meant we were able to relax, chat comfortably and play cards late into the night!

We cannot thank Peter Loughnane, one of the owners and his warm, friendly staff who really couldn't do enough for us. As a parent of 3 children it was also wonderful to be in a huge bedroom with plenty of space for us all!
So wonderful memories, a great break which refreshed us all and a very happy birthday girl. We will be returning I hope for many more family occasions. Sincere thanks to the wonderful team at Birr. See you soon again I hope.

Room Tip: Ask about the family rooms which are the most spacious I have experienced to date!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiamhOCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

From the moment we arrived here, the staff went above and beyond the call of duty with us. They were very friendly and helpful to us. The food was delicious and the portions were huge!!
Great atmosphere in hotel, would definitely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: We had a huge family room and loved that the breakfast was served to us aswell.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanceWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We booked a table for dinner in the bar downstairs - but there is a room at the bak of the bar where you can comfortably sit for dinner with children. Perfect!! The food was also delicious and the staff are great - very attentive to both adults and children. Great kids menu also.
Also a lovely big lobby with lots of comfy seating, both adults and children loved it.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonOffaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We can honestly say that we have never stayed in a hotel that pays so much attention to customer service. We arrived on 24 Jan this year with our children for 2 nights to celebrate their 9th birthday. We were greeted at reception by a very friendly and professional girl and then by the Owner Willie, who was very welcoming to us and our children. Our room was beautiful . Lots of space for 4 , tasteful décor and very very clean. We ate at the bar on our first night and again were treated to the fabulous hospitality of the bar staff and Willie himself. We swam in the pool twice on Saturday. It too was really clean and very well equipped. We went out visiting the area on Sat afternoon - Birr Castle and Gardens is well worth a visit. Saturday evening we ate in the restaurant . The food was very nice. Later that evening our children received a beautiful selection of chocolates each for their birthday. We will definitely be visiting again and have spread the word to our friends and family. Its wonderful to see that customer service is alive and well in the County Arms Hotel, not something that you can depend on everywhere you go, but it really makes the difference. We felt valued. Thank you to everyone in the County Arms hotel for making our stay so wonderful especially when you also had a debs ball on Friday night and a Wedding on Saturday - you were never 'too busy' to give us the best service and smile. !

Room Tip: Just ask - they will do their best for Everyone !
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarpurCarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a groupon package to go away for my birthday, The hotel is quite easy to get to, and the locals were lovely if you needed any directions. The grounds are lovely. Our first impressions were great. When we walked in, there was a receptionist at the desk. She looked up, definitely saw we had cases, and went into the back. We waited at the desk for about 2 minutes -there is a bell, but I am a hotel receptionist too, so we didn't like to press. The check in was quite hasty, despite the fact there was no one else waiting. This did put me off. However, the room we stayed in, a standard double, was really nice and a credit to housekeeping. There were slippers and bathrobes, and the bathroom had body lotion as well as standard shampoo and showergel. We had left a do not disturb sign on the door because the room didn't need to be serviced, however the housekeeper left towels and toiletries outside, beautifully presented - very impressed. Used the pool and gym each day, fantastic staff, especially the girl on on friday the 28th (evening). They always offered towels, toiletries and showed us where everything was. We had breakfast each morning and dinner on one evening - when we walked into the restaurants, the staff didn't acknowledge us, we were left standing, and in the end took a seat ourselves. After that though, the staff were lovely, checking were we OK for everything and bringing everything as ordered. A special thanks to the red haired girl that served us dinner on Saturday - I am a little picky and wanted things swopped and wanted juice instead of wine - all no problem. Food was always delicious and there was a good choice, despite the package although the supplement charges for some main courses may be a bit high. Reception on check out were exemplary! took our luggage and enquired about our stay. There were long queues, but they remained positive, and you could see the guests loved them. Great sunday buzz! Would recommend a walk of the grounds and local area! gorgeous. One final point is that Saturday, there was a function on, and there were a lot of kids going up and down on the elevator, and creating a racket. We didn't inform anyone though. Overall, the staff, in places, may need a little push, but I would come back, and would recommend it to anyone else looking for a relaxing weekend away!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Trish10111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I am just home from an overnight stay in the County Arms. A group of 20 for a work get together. In all it was a fabulous experience from start to finish. Staff should all be congratulated on there friendly and professional work ethic and the food was just delicious ... .
Hope to be back in Sept with the same group .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collettemccullagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just back from a two day stay at this Hotel, using groupon voucher. The hotel is charming in a old world style. Bedrooms were clean we were lucky enough to have a view to the back garden from our room which was really lovely. Had irish breakfast on first morning and it was very greasy, so choose poached eggs and smoked salmon the next day and that was excellent. There is a great choice of cereals and fruits etc for breakfast. Had bar food on first night and that was very good. Barman good fun and a character. Had the evening meal on second night and it was good, it lacked in presentation. Great choice of very nice wines and not overly priced. Leisure facilities were great. The staff at front desk and the young lady who served the breakfast were exteremly professional and very welcoming. We had lunch in Parkers which is in Rivertown 2 km from hotel and I would highly recommend there for either lunch or evening meal. Hotel does taxi service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out to the back garden as it is very quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.5 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
153 reviews
8.7 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
21.2 mi away
Tullamore Court Hotel
Tullamore Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Tullamore
686 reviews
19.6 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Moorpark Street, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range: £74 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Ireland's finest family-run Hotels since 1962. Unwind at the Springs Leisure Club & Wellness suites with luxurious spa treatments. Stay in spacious bedrooms including family rooms with bunk beds. Meet in modern conference facilities, enhanced by our central location within 90 minutes of Dublin, Galway & Limerick. Enjoy our award-winning Restaurant, pretty gardens, lively bar and relaxing foyer. Special offers include Murder Mystery, Walking, Golf, Spa. 6 bedrooms adapted for wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Arms Hotel And Leisure Club
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing