We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveller rating
341
181
86
50
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
181
86
50
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a family run hotel birr castle bunk beds bar food lovely hotel family break next morning couldn't do enough saturday night from start to finish keep up the good work one night stay wedding venue food was lovely top class kids club wedding reception
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 715 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

The following is a list of the things that were broken in our terrible, awful and dreadful room.
The front door handle came off in my hand.
The card reader was barley hanging on.
The iron, which was also in a stupid place in the room.
The toilet, it would not flush and the water kept running.
The shower. ALL OF IT! The taps were broken, the shower head was broken and there was NO HOT WATER.
2 of the 4 lamps were broken and there was very little light in the room.
Service was not very polite and was chaotic at best. Spent 2 weeks travelling Ireland and it was such a shame to end our trip with this awful place. Breakfast was also very basic and here was a huge lack of basic items, like milk!
The worst part was we knew 4 other rooms that had the same issues with their room being awful and collectively made complaints the fell on very deaf ears. This place has very high turn over and people only stay for a night maybe two, so wouldn’t really care but it is absolutely unacceptable to not be able to have a shower! We were washing ourselves with wet towels, we ended up checking out early and going to another hotel so we could shower and not feel so crap. This place is terrible!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrSchnitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 night stay at the County Arms, Birr. The room was regular sized family room with usual tea/coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, good hairdryer, bath with shower. Very clean.
The kids part of the swimming pool is quite small but was plenty for us and was quiet from 10am to 11am. There were lots of toys, floats & arm bands available.
Breakfast was very good, lots of choices in buffet / hot buffet and option to order pancakes and other made to order items. The toast is worth mentioning, hot and freshly toasted, the nicest toast I’ve ever had at a hotel breakfast. Breakfast service was very efficient, the staff were very quick to respond to any requests. The breakfast room / restaurant opens onto a roof terrace with steps down to a garden with apple trees and fairy doors. Lovely on a sunny morning.
The bar food was good quality, tasty and reasonably priced. We had dinner at the bar on 2 evenings. On both occasions the bar staff delivered our dessert to the room after dinner as the kids were getting tired.

There was lots to do close by the hotel. Birr Castle is well work a visit, great playground for kids and of course the Great Telescope which is so impressive. There’s also a nice playground in the town, a short walk from the hotel. There’s a beautiful park (Camcor Park, I think) in the town with a river running through it. It’s a big town park and a wonderful feature in the town. My kids had a ball running through the park and spotting fairy doors high up in the trees. There’s also a very nice pet farm and play centre, Tearaways, approx 8 mins by car on the Portumna Road out of Birr.

Getting back to the hotel, I have to mention that the service from staff in each area of the hotel was really excellent. Reception, restaurant (for breakfast), bar, pool, room cleaning staff were all excellent. Any requests we had were responded to swiftly and in a very naturally friendly manner. I was really impressed with their attentiveness and attitude.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Dee_Galway_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night on 6th August last. It was booked months in advance as attending a local wedding.
Hotel is very comfortable, rooms spacious, clean, with tea/coffee making facilities. Shower was powerful. Breakfast was also very good, plentiful. The BUT came when we returned from the wedding at midnight and were refused a residents bar and told it was not possible to have a night cap. We went to bed and then thought what the heck let's try room service and guess what... no problem. Very very strange for a hotel this size. We actually wanted to have a night cap with fellow guests, not with ourselves. For this reason I'm giving it 3/5

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JPBrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Warm welcome from reception and very helpful with information. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was lovely great choice to be had. Had our dinner in the bar it was very good indeed. We had supper here too it was good and reasonable. The bathrooms were clean whenever I used them.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank LilianB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here as part of a coach group. We had a lovely stsy, the staff were so friendly and could not do enough to help, especially as our room wasn't quite what we expected. The room was changed without any fuss.
Our only real complaint was the lack of vegetables, ie, greens or salad, plenty of mashed potato and swede !!!.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews