We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful handy location, large comfortable room, great breakfast with view of river”
Review of The Maltings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maltings
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We were greeted with friendly informality and instantly felt at home in this lovely spot by the river. Our room was spacious and comfortable and quiet. Breakfast with a view of fish having theirs, was delicious. Birr castle gardens, right next door, is a beautiful and fascinating place. We loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

What a wonderful getaway! We loved staying in a historic building, and the fact that the river was right beside us was a lovely bonus! It is in walking distance of the village of Birr, which we enjoyed exploring, and right beside Birr Castle, of which has a FANTASTIC astronomy, science and photography museum and idyllic grounds to stroll through. The Maltings is a must to stay in if you are sight-seeing/visiting Birr!!

Room Tip: All rooms are river-side and have a gorgeous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeptemberJetSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Maltings is an impressive building situated on the river. Our room was spacious and very clean with an amazing view of the river. Our host Maeve and her husband were helpful and friendly and served up a really good breakfast - fresh fruit salads, yoghurts, cereal, pastries and a full Irish breakfast. We had a wedding to go to and our breakfast kept us full up until the wedding breakfast later on that afternoon.

The Maltings is about a 5 minute walk from the town centre and a few minutes walk from Birr Castle.

Check out time was 12noon, we wanted to look round the castle before we left and there was no problem leaving our luggage at The Maltings to return a few hours later.

I would highly recommend this B&B as a peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Large rooms, very comfortable and hospitable (as we've found in Ireland generally).

The breakfast is incredible! It could be described as "all day" - not that it is served all day, but it LASTS all day!

You will not be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

A wonderful "find" for us. Larger clean rooms,with special breakfasts -- and gracious, helpful hosts. A special stay for us = 3 nights.

Room Tip: Rooms on a stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slogeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at The Maltings in Birr because of the friendliness of the owner and the location. It was pleasant to find a message on check-in and the help we received throughout the stay. The breakfast was in a wonderful room that had a view of the small river that flows beside the inn. Walking distance to the Birr Castle, the Birr Square and other historic sites in this Georgian community made our stay easier. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverrunnermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We agree with the previous reviewers, The Maltings is great, historic place. When we were there on September 21, 2011 they were remodeling the entrance area with very attractive stone work. The setting is wonderful- right on the river and almost in the shadow of the castle. We would definitle stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.5 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
159 reviews
11 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
9 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
819 reviews
22.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maltings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltings

Address: Castle St., Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range: £68 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Maltings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltings Hotel Birr
The Maltings Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing