We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“maeve is amazing”
Review of The Maltings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Maltings
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Certificate of Excellence
brightwaters
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“maeve is amazing”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Maltings is great, site is cool, room clean and big, and sound of river is like a lullaby. The best thing is Maeve herself. Breakfast starts at eight, but when we told her we had to be off at 6:30 am, she offered to get up at six and have food for us. Even hot scones!!!! She gave us a map and great ideas for local food and directed us a faster way to Dublin. I want to go back and spend a few nights there--Birr has a castle, gardens, and we found a great pub, Havertys, and the town was not touristy at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank genny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
41
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Another "spur of the moment booking" (actually recommended in a guide book) and it delivered straight away. The owner offered us tea and cake (and chocolate digestives :-)) on arrival and gave us a great recommendation for dinner ("The Thatch" as few miles up the road out of Birr). The room was excellent: really comfortable and nice outlook over the river. Wi-Fi worked properly from the room and was free. Plenty of parking outside. best of all was going to sleep listening to the sounds of the river running over a nearby weir. Will guarantee a good night's sleep (unless the sound of running water gives you problems!). Lovely. Breakfast next day was great.

Room Tip: we were in room 4 but I thin rooms 1-4 would be similar. Room 5 is an extra flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed here recently for one night. I found the owners extremely hospitable and the reception area etc., fine. The area where it is located has good parking and is relatively quiet, for those who find it hard to sleep the small river behind is quite noisy, I thought it was lovely and enjoyed the sound but some may think different! The room was spacious and no real concerns here, the only small complaints were that the kettle was empty in the room, if it were very late it would have been inconvenient to get it filled and the frame surround on the entry door has a small gap where you can actually look into the room from outside! With the hot water full up on the shower, it was still almost cold, it did not appear that you can reduce the cold water flow on the unit to increase the heat so I left it and moved on to breakfast. This was fine and the view outside to the river is really lovely. I hesitate to give complaints in family run places but for €80 a night I expect things to be spot-on. Birr town is well worth a visit and I enjoyed our stop here and our visit the the groounds of the Castle too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Converted Guinness malt house beside a rippling river that has a pretty walk alongside the town of Birr. Both restaurant and bedroom overlook the stream and very relaxing to enjoy a marvellous breakfast hot and cold with a superb choice from cooked Irish, fruit, cereals, croissants etc.
Large airy comfortable bedroom.
Maeve is a great host.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keir C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I have previously worked in Birr and am a regular visitor. I stay at the Maltings each time. This family run guesthouse is fabulous as others have said. Only background noise is water trickling over a weir on the adjacent river. Birr is a well kept secret with lots to do especially for families. The river walk and the castle are musts. Playground, library, restaurants and shopping nearby. I'll be back again (and again and again. . . )

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank wyldwyll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This attractive b&b lies at the edge of the Brosna river, next to a residential area. Initially concerned that this location might be noisy at night, my worries were unfounded and I had a good sleep.
My room was spacious, and simply, but comfortably furnished, with a view over the river.
Breakfast is taken in the large guest lounge; if you get the chance, ask for a table overlooking the river. I enjoyed sitting there watching the fish swim by and a kingfisher dart upstream - what a treat! Breakfast comprised buffet with fruit and yoghurt, cereal and toast and hot dishes cooked to order.
This is a good location from which to explore Birr town with its Georgian architecture; Birr Castle (a 2-minute walk); Clonmacnoise (early-Christian monastic site); Lough Derg; Slieve Bloom Mountains; and Lough Boora Parklands.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarnia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Leitrim
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Arrived late but were greeted nicely by Maeve the owner. Clean B & B and former malt house/mill with character and great location on the river and just beside Birr Castle and city center. Breakfast was lovely too.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back with river views..not too high as there's no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonVQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.4 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
146 reviews
11.0 mi away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Emmet House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Townsend House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maltings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maltings

Property: The Maltings
Address: Castle St., Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Maltings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltings Hotel Birr
The Maltings Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing