We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aonach Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aonach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm and lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

My dad and I recently stayed with Mary on our trip to Ireland for Dad's 70th birthday. What a great little find this place was! Mary is a warm and sweet host who greeted us with tea and biscuits - a welcome sight after a very long day of driving. Her dog, Brandy, takes his job as official greeter very seriously and does a fantastic job of it. Our room was very clean and super cozy - two musts for me. I'm rather picky and I have to say I slept like a log the whole time. The breakfasts were plentiful and very tasty. Lots of selection as well. You will not go hungry! The house is located very conveniently by car but Mary knows a very reliable and fair taxi service if you prefer that. She gave us great tips on dinner options in the area. (You must try The Thatch - wow!) But mostly it was her gracious, kind, funny, tidy, and ever so warm hostessing that sealed the deal. Great job.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived in Birr late in the afternoon in October and there just happen to be one of the biggest weddings going on in town that booked every motel and b&b room available. Thankfully we were guided to the Aonach B&B on the outskirts of town which was a real blessing. Mary with her wonderful dog Brendy made us feel really welcomed. We found everything to be spotless and nothing was a problem, our room was large and clean and the breakfast was just great to start the day. The only problem Mary had was that the two crazy Aussie were trying to steal her dog which my wife fell in love with. So thanks so much Mary and we would highly recommend the Aonach B&B to all travellers who visit Birr.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed in this B&B in September while attending a wedding nearby. Greeted by the lady of the house on arrival with offers of tea and biscuits - just what we needed! We'd booked up all the bedrooms and they were all absolutely fine. One was much bigger than the others but they were all what you'd expect in a B&B. If you're looking for a lot of privacy than a hotel would be a better option as generally we could hear the goings on in the house - this was as you would expect in a B&B though. We each had our own house key and there was absolutely no problem with us coming back late from the wedding..

A special mention about breakfast - it wad divine! We were all in need of a hearty breakfast and the food and tea just kept on coming.

Good value, great service and accommodations! Oh, and a cute dog!

Room Tip: Ask for the big one at the front - it has a double and a single!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank witchofagnesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My friend and I are just back from our stay in Aonach B&B. We were warmly welcomed by Mary who was very kind to us during our stay. The room was extremely comfortable with everything you could ask for including free wi-fi which we were very happy about. The breakfast each morning was also excellent. I can't forget Mary's little dog Brendy who was extremely cute and very playful. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed in this B&B at the start of July and upon arrival Mary and her playful lil dog were extremely welcoming. It was a perfect location for the wedding reception I was attending in the town and Mary was even so kind as to wash my shirt which had a bad stain on it. It was like brand new afterwards so the motherly touch worked a treat. Couldn't have asked for more with the accomodation and a great stay was finished off with a delicious breakfast the following morning.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We arrived on an end to end cycling trip rather frazzled in the midst of a heatwave. Mary very welcoming as were her family. Tea in the garden. Facilities unpretencious but perfectly comfortable - we had a room at front which was utterly scorching (but that no fault of owner). Star of the 'show' was undoubtedly Brandy. Cute little dog, very playful even in the heat. This was his last day with full set of hair before being collected in a van the next morning to be taken off and clipped! Highlight was Mary's son reacting to the emotion of it all by: "jesus, he's only going for a haircut"!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were very happy with this B&B. The owner was friendly, rooms well equipped, whole place comfortable and very clean, and breakfast big and nice. We had good chilled out time. I happily recommend it to people passing by!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elishk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.5 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
0.8 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ring Farmhouse
The Ring Farmhouse
#11 of 14 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.2 mi away
Giltraps Townhouse & Glamping
0.9 mi away
Minnock's Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonach Bed & Breakfast

Property: Aonach Bed & Breakfast
Address: Syngefield, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite relaxing family home within 10minutes walk of Birr heritage town and castle. Close to pubs and restaurants. 30 minutes drive to Clonmacnoise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aonach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonach Bed & Breakfast Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing