We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot in quiet central Ireland”
Review of The Ring Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ring Farmhouse
Ranked #9 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Carmel and John are lovely people, warm and great to chat with. Amidst lush green fields, Birr is a nice place to stop by and relax in the countryside. Clean, comfortable rooms and fresh country air - what a retreat!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarrah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

What a find this place is! Set into the countryside like a little jewel, this haven of tranquility is just a short step away from the busyness of Birr town and only a few miles from the loveliness of the Slieve Blooms.

Myself and my elderly mother and aunt were received with great hospitality and shown into our impeccably-ordered family room which was spacious and well set out, with clean and comfortable furnishings - these passed the beady and critical eye of my 92 year old mother who is something of a connoiseur of comfy chairs!

This was at 6 p.m.
We made tea, just in time for Carmel to lead us into the conservatory overlooking the 40 acre round field with the beautiful black cattle. What a place to watch the sun setting ...

Returning from dinner in Birr about 8.30, we were immediately ushered into yet another lovely guest sitting room where Carmel gave us tea and cakes whilst we watched the Rose of Tralee contest!
We slept like logs.
Breakfast next day started with fresh baked scones followed by everything and anything else you could name.

What a shame we were just passing through. All three of us would have happily stayed in this wonderful establishment for much longer than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Essiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have just returned from another stay at The Ring Farmhouse and found it to be as good as it has been on previous occasions. You always receive a really warm welcome from the hostess Carmel, who goes to great lengths to ensure that not only is your stay at The Ring relaxing but that you are able to fully enjoy the local area. The rooms are both charming and comfortable and the the breakfast sets you up for the day.

Birr has alternative B&B and hotel options but The Ring has become our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaA548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vedaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VECCHIATRINACRIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birr hotels
8 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.3 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aaron House
Aaron House
#11 of 14 in Birr
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Emmet House Bed & Breakfast
8.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
158 reviews
8.3 mi away
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring Farmhouse

Address: The Ring Birr, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range: £60 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ring Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring offers warm, friendly, family accommodation in a peaceful, rural setting. Your comfort is assured in its attractively decorated rooms with Televisions, Tea & Coffee making facilities and other homely details. Alternatively you can simply take a quiet break and relax in the comfort of the guests lounge. Breakfast is a speciality with an abundance of home cooking served in the sun drenched conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Ring Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ring Farmhouse Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing