We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great stay!”
Review of The Ring Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ring Farmhouse
Ranked #9 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great stay!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My 80 year old mother, 12 year old daughter and I stayed at The Ring Farmhouse for one night this spring. Carmel greeted us warmly and welcomed us to the farm. She went so far as to provide cold medicine for a bad head cold that had set it that afternoon and then an additional dose the following morning - it definitely kept me going! We loved roaming with the cows and calves. John was terrific explaining the herd to us and the process of raising cows. We were even able to observe an artificial insemination the following morning! Carmel had good ideas for dinner, given how tired we were, and breakfast the following morning was terrific. The triple room was very pleasant, comfortable and clean, as was our bathroom. All in all, it was a terrific stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfoot18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have stayed there in Mid May 2014 with my wife and 4 year old daughter. The place is close enough to the town yet it has it's own farm space so you feel as if you are away in the country.
The host was very friendly and the room quality was above the expected BnB standart.
The farm setting gives plenty of eye catching attractions for the young.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I am delighted to have stayed in the Ring Farmhouse during our short trip to the Midlands. Carmel, the hostess, and the Carroll family made us feel very welcome and at home. The room was comfortable and immaculately clean. It was a nice touch to be able to walk around the farm and come back to the kitchen for tea and beautiful homemade scones. I would not hesitate return to the Ring if I am passing by the region again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yunwoo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Carmel and John are lovely people, warm and great to chat with. Amidst lush green fields, Birr is a nice place to stop by and relax in the countryside. Clean, comfortable rooms and fresh country air - what a retreat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

What a find this place is! Set into the countryside like a little jewel, this haven of tranquility is just a short step away from the busyness of Birr town and only a few miles from the loveliness of the Slieve Blooms.

Myself and my elderly mother and aunt were received with great hospitality and shown into our impeccably-ordered family room which was spacious and well set out, with clean and comfortable furnishings - these passed the beady and critical eye of my 92 year old mother who is something of a connoiseur of comfy chairs!

This was at 6 p.m.
We made tea, just in time for Carmel to lead us into the conservatory overlooking the 40 acre round field with the beautiful black cattle. What a place to watch the sun setting ...

Returning from dinner in Birr about 8.30, we were immediately ushered into yet another lovely guest sitting room where Carmel gave us tea and cakes whilst we watched the Rose of Tralee contest!
We slept like logs.
Breakfast next day started with fresh baked scones followed by everything and anything else you could name.

What a shame we were just passing through. All three of us would have happily stayed in this wonderful establishment for much longer than one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Essiebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We have just returned from another stay at The Ring Farmhouse and found it to be as good as it has been on previous occasions. You always receive a really warm welcome from the hostess Carmel, who goes to great lengths to ensure that not only is your stay at The Ring relaxing but that you are able to fully enjoy the local area. The rooms are both charming and comfortable and the the breakfast sets you up for the day.

Birr has alternative B&B and hotel options but The Ring has become our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaA548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birr hotels
1.3 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
1.7 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
146 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Aonach Bed & Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Townsend House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ring Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ring Farmhouse

Property: The Ring Farmhouse
Address: The Ring Birr, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ring Farmhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ring offers warm, friendly, family accommodation in a peaceful, rural setting. Your comfort is assured in its attractively decorated rooms with Televisions, Tea & Coffee making facilities and other homely details. Alternatively you can simply take a quiet break and relax in the comfort of the guests lounge. Breakfast is a speciality with an abundance of home cooking served in the sun drenched conservatory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ring Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ring Farmhouse Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing