We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to chill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Minnock's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We found this place two years ago when we were looking for B&B so we could go to the game fair and were not disappointed got a great welcome and a great nights sleep and a very good breakfast next morning this place is a little gem many thanks Veronica for a great stay

Room Tip: Good rooms great hospitality and not to far from the town great place to rest after a hard day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica M, Owner at Minnock's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you kindly for your comments. It was a pleasure to share my home with you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

stayed at minnocks b&b for 4 days there was eleven in our group and nothing was to much trouble for Veronica ,the rooms were excellent and very comfortable the breakfast was outstanding we could not have wished for a better stay Veronica even arranged taxis for us to travel to and from Birr, would just like to say thank you for a great time from all eleven of us and wish you well we will be back next year.
thank you. Marie and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica M, Owner at Minnock's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi Marie and friends, thank you so much for your positive feedback following your recent stay. As always, it was a pleasure to have you all stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for the beautiful flowers, they are in pride of place in the hallway. We look forward to welcoming you all again in the future,
Kind Regards,
Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford, ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Have sampled Minnock's breakfast in their branch in Manama. The breakfast included all the standard components - juice cereal, cold meat, delicious bread etc., all served with a sense of humour. a thoroughly pleasant. Haven't sampled their bed though. That remains a treat to be anticipated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed with Veronica whilst visiting my daughter in Co Offaly and am only delighted to report that I enjoyed my stay only made better by the welcome comfort on a wet windy day with a cup of coffee with wonder scones and a comfortable stay in a great room with marvelous onsuite. Veronica was a wealth of information on the local area and was a perfect hostess.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica M, Owner at Minnock's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Helen thank you. For your kind comments. I hope I will have the pleasure of meeting with you again if you are in the area. The kettle is always boiling veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Good afternoon weary travellers and welcome to your oasis for the night...should you find yourself for some inexplicable reason in BIRR, Co Offaly. However, I digress...I'm not here to review the county...more the the County's Top B+B - Minnock's. After I had a quick jam with my good friend Mundy in the local, Minnock's beckoned and I couldn't wait to get me head down onto a comfy pillow...and that, I assure you was what was waiting for me. Granted I had to rouse the lady of the house from her slumber, but to my joy, she not only didn't complain, but sat up with me for a 'nightcap'! What a woman. After she escorted me to my room (which by the way had a fine en-suite and a lovely view over a neatly pruned hedge) I had a great sleep and was only woken (8.40am) the next morning by her cockerel...good sign that...the breakfast had plenty of free range eggs...made to order by herself and freshly baked brown-bread from the night before. I knew the sausages weren't my usual, Superquinn... they were better...'from the local butcher' said she. 'Sound' said I, as I gobbled down yet another free range egg proffered with a wonderful generousity of spirit. I asked Mrs. Minnock if she sold the eggs also...unfortunately, her prize hen was out of sorts and wasn't 'layin' as much for the last few days. As I gathered my gear and guitar, paid for my lodgings, and reviewed my stay...a great welcome, patience of a saint, a nightcap, a wonderful night's sleep, a sumptuous full Irish along with...4 free range eggs! yes...4! She put a lump of warm tinfoil into my hands. 'That's for later on, to make up for the eggs', says she. What was it only 4 piping hot homemade scones. She's some woman, Mrs. M and some B+B...can't wait for the return gig.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabehan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veronica M, Owner at Minnock's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear Patrick,
Apologies for my tardy response to your glowing submission. As always it was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time we will have to arrange for you to play some music here! Do let us know when you are back in the area, the kettle is always on the boil. Regards to your lovely wife and son,
Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have stayed with Veronica many times while visiting relatives in the area, there is always a great welcome with scones and tea, very comfortable rooms and a wonderful Irish breakfast,it's a ideal
location for touring around, can't ask for anything more, will definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Over the years I have stayed in most of the rooms they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

My wife Gail and I stayed at Minnock's for a few days whilst visiting relatives nearby. We were welcomed by Veronica with a cup of tea with biscuits and cake before going up to our room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very nice with tea/coffee making facilities available. There is WIFI and a tv in every room. The breakfast was overwhelming, a choice of cereals, fruit or yoghurt followed by anything up to a full Irish breakfast accompanied by toast and freshly made scones. We will definitely be returning when we are in Birr again.
Seán and Gail Gleeson

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toxophilus_Archer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
1.0 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Aonach Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Emmet House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minnock's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minnock's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Minnock's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Roscrea Road, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Minnock's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minnock's Bed & Breakfast Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing