We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home on the Grand Canal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Harbour Masters House
Ranked #5 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2008

My mother and I stayed at the Harbour Masters House in September of 2007 and were sorry to be there for only one night. The photo we saw had appealed to us and the reality was every bit as good as the photo. Shannon Harbour itself is a very quiet little place on the Grand Canal, with the Harbour Masters House overlooking the canal itself. Our room was delightful, with one window on the front of the house overlooking the canal below and the other window looking out at the garden behind the house. Grainne told us about several alternatives for dinner, one being the local pub which is only a short walk from the B&B. The full Irish breakfast served next morning was delicious, an excellent start to our day. The location is central, with Clonmacnoise a few miles away. If I am able to travel to Ireland again, I would love to once again stay at The Harbour Masters House -- and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: September 2007
4  Thank Lorief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for The Harbour Masters House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2008

My Wife and I stayed one night along with another couple who was traveling with us! What a Great B&B! The Canal, along with the surrounding countryside, outstanding! We had a great time at the local Pubs. Grainne Kirwin is truly an outstanding Hostess, nothing is too good for her guests! The Irish Breakfast was so very good! Grainne took the time to give us information about the area and also took her time to go into town and put a basket of goodies together for all of us from friends back in The USA. This B&B was a true Ireland experience! Thank-you Grainne!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BigPSaranac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We stayed here for 1 night - what a wonderful house with lovely views. Shannon Harbour is interesting and there are some nice walks down the canal and the shannon. It is a very quiet location and there is a pub/shop within walking distance. Grainne Kirwan is the proprietor. She is very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. This B&B is home from home and the breakfast is first class. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2006

The Harbour Master's House B&B in Birr, on Shannon Harbour, County Offaly, Ireland was an unexpected treat for my daughter and I when we traveled to Ireland last week. It is perfectly suited for families with children with two connecting bedrooms, both with private bathrooms. It is also very comfortable for singles and couples. All bedrooms have private bathrooms in the room. Grainne Kirwan, the hostess, goes out of her way to be accommodating to guests and she can arrange fishing (there is a drying room on premises and equipment for bank fishing), horseback riding, golf, hiking, Shannon cruises - all kinds of activities. The Harbour has mostly houseboats permanently parked on the shore and it is very quiet. Across the street there is a traditional Irish pub/grocery store. The pub has regular traditional Irish music entertainment and pub meals. The beds are comfortable, the breakfasts are outstanding, the site is lovely and relaxing and the historic Clonmacnois monastic site which has some of the best examples of Celtic crosses in Ireland is just a few miles down the road. I'm a seasoned traveler from the U.S. to Ireland and this Bed and Breakfast is truly outstanding.

8  Thank Kitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: prendre les chambres avec vue sur le canal
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athenakambeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
9.3 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
102 reviews
9.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
16.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
153 reviews
13.3 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.6 mi away
Charlotte's Way B&B
Charlotte's Way B&B
#1 of 2 in Banagher
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Masters House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Masters House

Address: Shannon Harbour, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour Masters House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour Masters House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Masters House Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing