We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Enjoyable Evening with friends.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Townsend House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 14 Birr B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Very Enjoyable Evening with friends.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Last friday we had a the most enjoyable evening at Townsend houses new Tapas Bar. Firstly, our wine was lovely (€20 per bottle approx) and €4 for a pint of guinness for our husbands, and the very tasty tapas went down a treat with all. My favourites were the Chorizo and Chickpea with crispy bread, the chicken Oysters and the onions rings whose batter was a light as feathers. Some thin slices of pineapple were brought after to clear the palate...a nice touch. We had a great evening and met up with some friends whom we hadn't seen in a while. There is an also an outdoor seating area which I will keep an eye on the weather forecast for, as I can see myself sipping a glass of wine and savouring some tapas in the evening sun. A wonderful addition to our small town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dexysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kearns1, Manager at Townsend House Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your review on our Tapas and Wine Bar.We are thrilled you enjoyed your evening with friends and look forward to your return visit,
Regards Lorraine and Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
44
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Martin & Lorraine are wonderful hosts! Highly recommend. Clean, comfortable, and enjoyable, and the food was fabulous. Location is perfect to access the town and local pubs. First time to the Townsend House, will not be our last!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Peter Ducharme

Lorraine and Martin could not have been more accommodating. We ended our 10 day trip in Birr to relax and enjoy our last couple days in Ireland. The food and rooms were just what we anticipated. After, seeing a lot of the Ireland coast line. The views and slow pace of the country side to Ireland was very inspirational. Would highly recommend this bed & breakfast and seeing the country side to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moycullen, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Was made feel very welcome. The owners did a great job in learning everyone's name (I was with a group of about 15). The breakfast was excellent. The size of the hotel made for good room privacy. At night, the wine bar provided a great sing-song area. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmtierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Arrived late Saturday evening, tired from driving with young daughter. Lovely first impression of period building with tasteful decor. Lorraine made us feel very welcome with little fuss. Property looks much loved and is well situated close to town centre and Birr Castle. Charming church bells ring the hour every hour but not too loud as to disturb sleep. Bed was so comfy I slept soundly. Well rested in morning, bathroom was spotless and has a good powerful shower. Breakfast was a treat with a beautifully presented full Irish. Really enjoyed it but would have liked to try another night. Plan to visit in future.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkQuinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corowa, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked this location and accommodation randomly the night before we due to arrive. It was a pleasant surprise. Birr Castle gardens were beautiful and are featured in the Great Gardens of Europe. The town was unique and our accommodation couldn't be better. We will return there and stay longer next time we're in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quantumtraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Found a listing for Townsend House in an old Frommer's and had no trouble finding it in the canter of Birr. An old Georgian Townhome, it has been perfectly maintained with large, comfortable rooms and baths. With a comfortable living room, breakfast room and wine bar, Martin provides the comfort & feel of a four star hotel.
We highly recommend the Townsend House to anyone. It is a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyonsnd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birr
0.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
8.8 mi away
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
Kinnitty Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinnitty
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dooly's Hotel
Dooly's Hotel
#3 of 3 in Birr
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Walcot Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Emmet House Bed & Breakfast
9.1 mi away
The Harbour Masters House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsend House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsend House Guest House

Property: Townsend House Guest House
Address: Townsend House Townsend Street, Birr, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Offaly > Birr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Birr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Townsend House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsend House Guest House is located in the center of Birr,Co.Offaly,Ireland's finest Georgian Town.This 19th Century house is complete with mature gardens and offers an enclosed courtyard perfect for private parking.Townsend House Guest House is a period house and all bedrooms are decorated with a Georgian theme and have the finest antique furniture with a mixture of king and queen size beds. All 10 bedrooms are ensuite,complete with direct dial telephone,satalite TV,tea/coffee making facilities and complimentaryWifi access. Townsend House is a 5 minute walk from Birr Castle Demense and Birr Theatre and Arts Centre,it is also within walking distance from the finest restaurants,hotels and pubs. Townsend House Tapas and Wine Restaurant opens Thursday to Saturday nights from 6 Pm till 10 pm for food ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Townsend House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townsend House Guest House Birr, County Offaly, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing