We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wicklow splendour on your doorstep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avon Ri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avon Ri
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Wicklow splendour on your doorstep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a wedding party in one of the holiday houses. Superb location overlooking the lakes. Great food and Guinness in the bar. Plenty of activities for all ages. We did some cycling. The holiday houses themselves are nothing to write home about but perfect for a family or group of friends to stay in with a small kitchen, living room etc and beds upstairs. That said I won't fancy any longer than 2 nights in houses as they do start to feel a little small and cramped. With only a 1 hour drive from Dublin and Russborough House just down the road this is a great little place to stay in for a weekend get away to sample Wicklow's outdoor splendours. Assuming you get the weather of course!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portofella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Portofella,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended and enjoyed our facilities and including our pints of Guinness!

I have passed on your lovely comments to our team.

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    72
    39
    19
    23
See reviews for
144
20
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I love this place. It's an hour drive away from Dublin, including traffic, and is an ideal location for a break away or any type of function. I like the place so much that myself and my wife are holding our wedding reception here.

Very very friendly staff, so helpful with everything. The events team of Laura and Valerie have been so helpful to me and my wife in planning our day, genuinely friendly and professional people.

This location also offers a lot of activities also, from an astro pitch on site to clay pigeon shooting, there is something for everyone. Personal favourite was the Segway tour through the forest, a lot of fun.

The most unique quality of this location is the housing. They offer three bed room houses, with full kitchen facilities at a very reasonably price. The houses are very clean, warm and comfortable and offer a unique sense of privacy that hotels can't offer. All the houses are a two minute walk to the lake or to the forest trail for a walk. The views are amazing, especially at night with a clear sky.

The bar is comfortable again with very friendly staff and the view of the lake from the decking, especially with a clear sky is amazing. The food here is delicious and reasonably priced.

I would highly recommend anyone to visit here, it's a great place, good food, unique clean housing and very friendly helpful staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosesduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mosesduffy,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort. We greatly value our guests feedback.

We are delighted that and your wife enjoyed your wedding! Thank you very much for your lovely comments! We thoroughly enjoyed hosting it for you!

I'm really pleased that you all enjoyed various aspects of our facilities.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic day out. A group of 5 of us got a pigs back deal for a one hour Segway tour...

Our guide was very knowledgable, friendly and made us at ease... We learned the history of the lake and the underwater city...

We where a few min late and this was added onto the end of our time which was really fair and greatly appreciated. The hour flew by and it was so much fun!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue8686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sue8686,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review about our Segway Tours. We are delighted you enjoyed your session! They are great fun and we all love them too! (",)

I have passed on your comments to our team!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my colleague took 25 children (5th and 6th class girls) to Avon Ri for our school tour.An absolutely FABULOUS day was had by all.The girls took part in a wide variety of highly enjoyable activities including kayaking, low ropes,orienteering,high wall,archery and zip-lining. Even though the weather was dreadful for a lot of the day,the girls absolutely loved every minute and I did not hear a SINGLE complaint.
The staff were just wonderful with the girls. The whole day was EXTREMELY well organised.
I cannot recommend Avon Ri highly enough to teachers looking for a fun,well-run,well supervised day out for their pupils.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishNDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear TrishNDub,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our Activity Centre, we are delighted that you, your colleague and your students enjoyed your day with us and thank you for saying that you will recommend us... That means an awful lot as word of mouth is the best advertisement you can get!

We hope to see you again in the future and hope you enjoy a well deserved Summer Holiday's!

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Ten of us stayed here for two nights, six adults and four children. Each house has three double rooms and its own en-suite, although we all opted to have our own house. As one of the adults is wheelchair bound we were delighted with the accessible toilet and shower which were perfect, and better equipped than a lot of first class hotels, with plenty of bars etc.
We ate in the restaurant for lunch and dinner and were very pleased with what was on offer and with the food itself. The children's menu was excellent value for 6.99euro and also included a drink and ice cream.
Avon Ri is set in a beautiful location and it is worth a visit just for the views over the lakes.
While here some of us hired kayaks and pedalo's and we also did archery, these two activities just made our weekend as we all had so much fun doing both. The children especially had the time of their lives, we will definitely return and try some other activities on offer.
You can make your trip here as cheap or expensive as you wish, the more you chose to do the more expensive it will be.
You can bring your own food and cook for yourself, the choice is yours ., as the houses supply all you need for cooking. We all gathered in the one house for breakfast which cut the cost a little and ate out in the bar and restaurant for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: I would think that houses away from the main reception area would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Maureen R,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort and thank you for your lovely review!

I am delighted that you and your family had such a great time and enjoyed our facilities to their full potential!

I have passed on your comments to our team.

We look forward to seeing you all again in the future!

Kind regards,

Laura & The Avon Ri Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We can not thank everyone at Avon Ri enough for such a great time. Having to travel with a wheelchair was made so much easier with the accessable house. So clean and tidy and inviting it really is like staying in a village with awesome views over Blessington Lakes.
We have enjoyeg the experience so much we have booked to come back in two weeks!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avonri, Manager at Avon Ri, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Dave R,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review of our resort!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves and enjoyed our accommodation and that you came back to stay again!!

We hope to see you again over the coming year!

Kind regards,

Laura and The Avon Ri Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We really enjoyed a 2 night stay travelling with 2 children , houses are great very well equipped and loads of space which is brilliant when you have kids, the facilities are basic but perfect for a family break, what made the break was the breathtaking setting, scenery and fantastic staff!!!! I couldn't have asked for more helpful and friendly staff they were excellent every single one that I came into contact with. The bar food was excellent and it was even better eating overlooking the beautiful surroundings. Will definitely be recommending to family and friends And will be back and well done to everyone that looks after Avon Ri, a wee gem in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blessington
19.4 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
21.2 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
16.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Ri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Ri

Property: Avon Ri
Address: | Burgage, Blessington, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avon Ri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ri Hotel Blessington
Avon Ri Blessington, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing