We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Avon Ri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avon Ri
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I have just come back from Avon Ri, we hired out 5 houses for a family reunion, we had a fantastic time,the staff at Avon Ri are great nothing is to much trouble for them.Siobhain at reception is very good at her job also nothing is to much trouble for her.Avon Ri was a very good choice for the family get to gether, And I would like to say it is very good value.Food at Avon Ri pub is also very good and a very good price.Avon Ri wiil see us back again I am sure.
from a very happy holiday maker Teresa G

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOSPITAL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2009

We stayed here in early August to celebrate my Father-in-laws Birthday. We (23 people including 4 kids) stayed for 2 nights & booked 4 self catering houses and found them well equiped & very clean.
We had a meal in the restaurant on the 2nd night & the standard of food & service was top class. The children was made very welcome. Before the meal we had a drink in the bar (a section was reserved for us) which has a deck attached and the views are just fantastic... Great place to watch the sun go down!
Some of our group did Clay Pidegon Shooting, some did the Walking Trails & others (including me & my kids) took to the Swimming Pool. There is also a fully equipped Gym & tennis court but my energy didn't stretch that far to try them out!!! - maybe next time!.
I would recommend Avon Ri to Families/Groups as there is plenty to do onsite & is a great base for sightseeing around Wicklow.
Looking forward to going back in 2010

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gremar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I travelled here with a group of friends for a long weekend.
The accommodation was of a good standard. Three spacious rooms that would be a similar standard to any three star hotel. The house has a lovely seating area out the back of the house.
The kitchen was well equipped with even a dishwasher and washer/drier. The only thing I would add to the sitting room would be a standard lamp to great a more subdued lighting effect in the evening.
There was good attention to detail as some dishwasher tablets/washing powder/ tea./coffee etc was included with the house. The heating was on when we arrived and this gave the house a toasty feel.

The bar in the resort had lovely comfy chairs and nice coffee.
We ate in the restaurant on Sunday night and it was a good standard.
The current offer of two courses for 22euro and 26 euro for three courses was good value.
But why the restaurant closed at 6pm on a Sunday evening during a bank holiday weekend just astounded me.

There are numerous actives available at the site and these are well organised and offer excellent value for money.
Our group did archery, kayaking and clay pigeon shooting. All were great fun if only the sun would come out!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GalwayRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We (family of 4 including 2 young teenage boys) stayed here for a weekend in August. I cannot recommend Avon Ri highly enough. The huge, well-equipped 3 bedroomed house exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly, the food in the bar was great and the service marevellous. The activities (kayaking, archery etc.) were well run and great fun. The leisure centre was spotless. We all had a fantastic time and cannot wait to return for a bit longer next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pinkdogreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I searched all over Wicklow and Kildare to find a venue suitable for our small (approx 60) wedding in June this year. From the beginning, Greg the Manager was excellent - a consummate professional, who was friendly, flexible and not at all fazed by any suggestions. On the day itself the place looked beautiful and had the total wow factor as it overlooks the lakes. The food was delicious and the staff serving were friendly, accommadating, and most importantly, knew what they were doing. The houses in the complex are clean, comfortable and totally affordable - friends from Belfast stayed overnight in them, and have already mentioned that they would certainly visit again. My sister married two years previous and her venue promised the world and failed miserably - the Avon Ri promised everything and delivered no doubt. I would absolutely recommend the Avon Ri and I am fussy cow :O)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AineWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

I can't believe one of the previous reviews on this site, that person must have stayed at a completely different place than us.! We coudn't fault the place. From the second we arrived the staff were so friendly and helpful. We stayed in a lovely 3bed self catering house right on the lake but there was no need to use the cooking facilities as the food in the restaurant and bar was absolutely fantastic, and so reasonably priced for the quality.
We spent a wonderful morning sitting in the jacuzzi and the pool area and there was a well equipped gym available.
There were lots of activities available on the lake such as kayaking and windsurfing but we opted for a bit of relaxing fishing, my wife even managed to catch one!
The bar facillities are great and there was a really nice friendly buzz about the place, we were lucky enough to get a table out on the terrace and enjoyed unbelievable views over a nice bottle of wine.
I couldn't recommend this place enough we'll definately be back

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan___12319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I recently brought a hen night of 25 ladies, mostly in their early thirties, to Avon Ri.
Everything was perfect.
Accommodation ws comfortable and spacious - and for the price we paid, we were pleasantly surprised. Not five-star luxury, but of a decent standard.
Staff were really helpful at all stages of the booking process, and throughout our stay.
Our package included dinner in the Il Iago restaurant, which was much better than we expected (again, given the price we paid). The staff in the adventure centre, where we spent half a day, couldn't have been more helpful and patient.
The centre/hotel is located about ten minutes walk from Blessington village, which is on a main bus route from the city centre. There's plenty to do in the centre, and in the wider area, with bikes available for rent at a reasonable price.
The bar was hopping on Friday night, and quieter on Saturday night - but as we weren't your traditional rowdy hen night, this suited us fine. And the 25 of us did form a congo line, and dragged everyone else in the bar into it with us.....
All in all, this place comes highly recommended.
The only quibble was that wireless internet access was very poor, but the staff at reception were willing to help with printing, checking flight bookings etc.
And breakfast wasn't plentiful, but we didn't have high expectations anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkTouristOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blessington
16.9 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,057 reviews
19.5 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,090 reviews
21.3 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Martello Hotel
17.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
6.7 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Ri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Ri

Address: | Burgage, Blessington, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Price Range: £137 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Ri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Avon Ri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ri Hotel Blessington
Avon Ri Blessington, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing