We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family dinner”
Review of West Wicklow House

West Wicklow House
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Blessington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: West Wicklow House Blessington is a cozy traditional Irish pub located on the N81 road in the picturesque village of Blessington at the foot of the wicklow mountains. Home to scenic movies such as Braveheart, king Arthur, The New Vikings series and PS I love You. We are open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch and evening meals and offer great group rates. Our menus are based on traditional pub food with excellent contemporary and classic seafood specials. All our staff are helpful and full of local knowledge to assist you plan your sightseeing day. So if you like walking the Wicklow Hills, visiting the Glendalough Monastic site or just driving around the beautiful Blessington Lakes make sure to add the West Wicklow House to your to visit list. Check us out on Facebook, West Wicklow House Blessington. Excellent on street free parking and free wifi available.
Blessington, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“family dinner”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good relaxed atmosphere with good food. Family friendly environment. ~Staff always happy to help ,would recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sharonsteveandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your good review, we hope that you will continue to dine with us in the west wicklow house. Why not introduce yourself the next time your in ?
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    60
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice local gastro pub”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Me and my wife visited this lovely place for a quick lunch and a pint on Saturday afternoon. Pub was quite busy, cos some football was on but we took a table outside in garden area which was nice and open to sun. Food arrived quickly and was rather good and service was great.

We liked draft pints of Bulmers Cider very much !!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foxo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review, we are always happy for feedback. Hope you will continue to enjoy the West Wicklow House.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“West Wicklow House sets the standard!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were recommended to this Bistro/Pub and enjoyed a perfect meal. The welcome was warm and genuine. The restaurant was comfortable and nicely decorated. We had scallops and they were the best ever tasted. This set the bar very high for all the other places we visited. We were made extremely welcome and after the delicious main course, I asked for a small ice cream - 5 scoops arrived, which was the most generous small ice cream portion I have ever had and was really lovely and creamy. My husband had the best bread and butter pudding he had ever tasted, and we were delighted with the complimentary mini Irish coffees at the end of the meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LyndaPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of the West Wicklow House. We do our best to offer the best service and food we can. Such reviews are greatly appreciated and give us the energy to keep the bar high. look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Not only is the West Wicklow a fantastic pub, but Peter & Dominic also do outside catering as Catering Services. We had them to do the catering for our wedding, which was in a marquee. Throughout the whole process of planning, and right up to the day, we could not speak highly enough about the service we received - it was absolutely fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble, everything was run so professionally & the staff there on the day were excellent. The food was superb & well presented. We would highly recommend both the West Wicklow and Catering Services for delicious food and for wonderful service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wicklow Ho... B, Manager at West Wicklow House, responded to this review, 24 April 2015
Hi jack thank you for your great review, we had a ball catering for your wedding. If that day was any reflection on the rest of your lives together you will both always be wearing a smile!!
Thanks again
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss!!!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

we visited Blessington and found this pub WOW !!!!!!!!!!! The specials today had scallops to die for and waitress said the specials change every day . Well worth a visit for some really good bar food 10 out of 10 !!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sassysiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Wicklow House also viewed

Blessington, County Wicklow
 
Blessington, County Wicklow
Blessington, County Wicklow
 
Blessington, County Wicklow
Wicklow, County Wicklow
 

Been to West Wicklow House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing