We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy rural hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cosy rural hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Very comfortable hotel in the countryside near Blessington, Co Wicklow. Hotel has own golf course and both bar and restaurant overlook the course, providing views of the golf course and surrounding countryside. Staff friendly and helpful. Bedroom was a good size with comfortable beds and a good size bathroom. Usual goodies in bathroom and tea/coffee making facilities in bedroom. Enjoyed meals in both bar and restaurant and good choice of food at reasonable prices. Excellent breakfast was included in our package. Only downside to stay was bedroom not serviced until around 4.30. However this did not spoil our stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: If you are on a ground floor bedroom to rear you may have golfers wandering past your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    223
    77
    31
    20
See reviews for
197
454
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Initial overnight stay was a gift with B&B, evening meal and a round of golf, so I extended it to a two day break.
Arrived around 2pm too a very busy reception, receptionist was very pleasant and was not long before we where given a very nice suite. Room was spotless, apart from what looked like a leak in the roof near the window which had left a very large black stain. This though did not dampen our few days. Hotel bar & Lounge was packed, but we sat outside as the weather was brilliant ordered some snacks, did not have to wait long before being served. Later that evening we ate in the restaurant and had the two meal course. Portions where just right and food was excellent. The view from the restaurant was beautiful as it overlooked the golf course. We then spent the rest of the evening in the bar. Breakfast was excellent with plenty to choose from. Played the golf course on the Monday and it was very challenging, really enjoyed it. So all in all a lovely two days break in a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take a room near the reception as the noise from the bar will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quantum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel has a lovely peaceful location. The room was very spacious. Only downside was that it was on the ground floor and everybody on the golf course or sitting outside in the hotel bar could look into our room. Having thin curtains would solve this.

The water temperature in the shower was either hot, very hot or scalding. No chance to change it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knaufe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really nice hotel, stayed for one night on a dinner, b&b package, food was gorgeous. Staff were really pleasant. Nice atmosphere around the hotel, not too quiet in the bar considering it's isolated setting. Grounds were beautiful. Room was nice, clean, average size, comfortable bed. Good base for exploring the sights of Wicklow, we did the drive they recommend in their welcome pack, definitely worth doing if you have a spare half hour. Would recommend for a quiet couple break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Driscollll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a lovely Hotel overlooking the golf course. It is set in a large estate giving the impression of being away from everything although only 30 mins from Dublin.
Our deal, which we took from the hotel web site special offers, was amazing! The accommodation was excellent and dinner and breakfast were very good.
The staff are to be congratulated on being particularly friendly and helpful making this a most enjoyable stay.
The adjacent golf course was good to play, well laid out and in great condition,beware the rough!!
Great value and I would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: Elderly or anyone with hip or knee problems should mention this when booking as the toilets in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful stay in the Tulfarris Hotel. We actually attended a wedding reception there on Saturday and stayed until Sunday and BOY was it worth staying. We had the most amazing meal at the reception in a beautiful room, in fact the whole setting at Tulfarris is wonderful. Who would'nt enjoy beautiful scenary, the golf course surrounded by the lakes being just one aspect! We had the nicest AND LARGEST room we have ever stayed in (and we have been to quite a few over the years), very clean, nicely decorated - the list goes on and on. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly and our breakfast was everything you could wish for PLUS the wonderful views from the dining room.
All in all - we will be returning for a longer stay as soon as possible and would recommend this venue to everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be of the highest standard so no need to worry about picking any particular on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 412dell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello 412dell,

Thank you for the truly lovely review and I am really happy that you hand your husband had a wonderful time here at Tulfarris. Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind Regards
Mark

Mark Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here. Nice food in the lime tree restaurant and a pleasant few drinks in the Elk bar, would recommend for short stay. Staff were great but the man in charge was a bit belittling towards some of them. Overall good experience

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Pat672014

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your review, we really do appreciate it. I am glad that you had a lovely stay but I am a little surprised by your comment on the man in charge. Could you possibly contact me at the hotel so I may talk about this more.

Looking forward to hearing from you

Kind Regards
Mark

Mark Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blessington
20.1 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
18.0 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
6.6 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
7.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
18.7 mi away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort

Property: Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
Address: Blessington Lakes, Blessington, Ireland (Formerly Wingate)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Blessington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Blessington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulfarris Hotel And Golf Blessington
Tulfarris Hotel Blessington
Tulfarris Resort Blessington
Tulfarris Hotel And Golf Resort Blessington, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing