We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool name for quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Lake of shadows, it has a name that would resonate eerie thoughts but far from eerie thoughts it lies. Its a charming hotel which is great value 2mins walk to the beach. The hotel is quirky because it is an old hotel but very user friendly. Staff were lovely and extremely polite. The dinner and breakfast was lovely.
I would recommend this hotel for a nights stay or if you plan on leaving touring everyday.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
There are newer reviews for Lake of Shadows Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

I was disappointed by this hotel. It looks amazing on the website but the decor is old and worn and the room was stuffy and hot. The breakfast was very forgettable too. However the staff were very friendly and that made up in a small way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baron66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Straight out of an Agatha Christie novel, this hotel has a very quirky calming atmosphere. Nothing fancy here. Watch out for uneven floors. Rooms vary in style and size.
Splendid service at all levels.

There are no dead bodies to be discovered, Miss Marple would take care of that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moggydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Have young family, food for both adults & children just beautiful. Thoroughly enjoyed eating here & will return.

Thank Kellypf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This hotel is a little dated in feel and appearance amd certainly does not offer luxury accomodation. However , whilst the rooms were quite 2 star in appearance the beds were surprisingly comfortable. From a food perspective then food again was quite nice with large portions. I would recommend any of the fish options as they were all quite fresh and tasteful. If you are staying the weekend and consider yourself a light sleeper request a room away from over the bar/dining area as there seems to be music on those nights.
On a plus the staff were quite helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CorkToAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Lake of Shadows hotel is an old world hotel but with clean, modern facilities, friendly staff, good food and a delightful scenic outlook. The scenery of County Donegal, the lakes and streams delighted us and finding the friendly hotel made our trip more memorable. I would recommend this hotel to those interested in getting off the tourist track and seeing the real Ireland

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a lovely small hotel with a friendly and helpful staff. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it lived up to the recommendation from the locals as "the place to eat" in town. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and will recommend it to friends. Buncrana is a nice town with a lovely six-arched bridge on beautiful Lough Swilly. A nice town for walking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shamrock547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.5 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
916 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
303 reviews
15.7 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
395 reviews
7.4 mi away
Frontier Hotel
Frontier Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
48 reviews
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of Shadows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of Shadows Hotel

Address: Grianan Park, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range: £69 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style, family run hotel located in the heart of Buncrana town, next the shore line. 23 ensuite bedrooms ranging from Single to Family size rooms. Private banquet room to accommodate up to 150 guests with food served daily in the Bistro Bar and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake of Shadows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of Shadows Hotel Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing