We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could ask for a better place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

What can I say we were there 5 night and could have stayed longer hence why we are going next month again . The rooms were good and fairly priced all the staff were lovely and very friendly the food was excellent and nothing was to much bother . The lake of shadows is a great base for seeing the sights of inishowen . We could also pay in euro's or sterling with good exchange rate on sterling . Can't wait till 21st June to visit again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely wee place, clean and homely, great breakfast and loads of it, jus like home. Will definitely stay here again . Sorry hit terrible rate 4 gym, pool. By mistake lol. Don't let this put u off, they don't hv em.

Room Tip: I cud'nt complain, it wz just an overnight stay, I wz happy enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed for 3 days at the start off the new year.All the staff worked really hard to make sure we were well looked after.Food was great and well priced and breakfast is cooked to order.Our only fault was the bathroom in the bedroom,terrible,toilet would not flush and bath very badly stained.They need to sort this out.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 152 so avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRENDAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for one night and it did exactly what i expected it to do. Clean room and a comfortable bed, albeit a bit noisy as the window doesn't shut fully. Shower head was a bit low so you have to duck down to wash your face and hair and im only shy of 6 ft. The Irish Breakfast was good the next morning. Had a club sandwich in the bar and it was good quality and reasonably priced. Overall, a good value family run hotel that is a little dated.

Room Tip: keep away from room 103, window doesn't shut and you can hear a lot of noise from the residents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvanTravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We attended a wedding here & stayed the night. The hotel is a little old fashioned but that's not something that bothers me. The wedding meal was delicious & the service was great, the drink was reasonably priced too. The room was very clean, bed cosy & lovely & warm too. Overall we enjoyed our stay & would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cazflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed recently whilst on a golf trip at this hotel. It was comfortable and clean but in need of a little refurbishment. The staff were first class and made the stay more memorable.
Had a good meal in their restaurant where the food was well prepared, well presented and tasted fine. A note to Guinness connoisseurs - the bar here has a fine pint of Guinness.
Cooked breakfast does not begin until 08.00 and the shower in my room was on trickle flow only. Apart from this it was very good value for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Not a lot of choices in Buncrana, hotel was OK for the value. Location was great for our interests, with Doherty's Keep a block away, with nice riverwalk. Townsfolk were very very helpful and friendly. Hotel beds were clean, and food was actually very well done, good chef on Board and restaurant staff were friendly and on top of everything. However, when we checked in hotel reception staff were more dismissive than happy to see us. We did not feel welcome. Bath was pretty bad, a lot of mold on walls and floor, trickle of a shower, and the walls too thin for a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: With such thin walls, probably not a great room in the place, but for the value and location, accept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishEwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.5 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
935 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
308 reviews
15.7 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Frontier Hotel
Frontier Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
48 reviews
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,921 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake of Shadows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake of Shadows Hotel

Address: Grianan Park, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range: £77 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional style, family run hotel located in the heart of Buncrana town, next the shore line. 23 ensuite bedrooms ranging from Single to Family size rooms. Private banquet room to accommodate up to 150 guests with food served daily in the Bistro Bar and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lake of Shadows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Of Shadows Hotel Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing