We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Hotel with an understanding view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Family Hotel with an understanding view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Let's be clear, this is not a five star hotel or even a four star hotel when it comes to those things that would make a hotel these standards BUT as a family hotel, this is four and a half stars and can be five stars.

The staff are "amateur" at times but the willingness is there. Service can be slow, awkward and sometimes bordering on embarrassing but if you persevere, it all works out in the end.

You may ask why I am giving this hotel five stars when my review is so critical. The reason is that I want to manage prospective guests expectations. If you want a family friendly hotel with average to above average food and an understanding from the staff of the challenges of parenthood; go to this hotel. If you want a bit of luxury, book into Ballyliffen hotel but don't expect the same Craic!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    275
    102
    45
    27
See reviews for
284
315
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed on 18th to 20th April with my daughter as a mothers day gift, it was a special deal, 2 nights B&B, 4 course meal with a glass of champagne and a spa treatment. The room was excellent with a seaview, the meal was delicious and the staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating. I must say the Seagrass Spa is a hidden gem in Buncrana, had a facial, back, neck and shoulder massage lasting 1hr 15mins and it was one of the best spa treatments I've ever had, and one of the best spa's I've ever been in and I go to quite a few spa hotels! We lounged around the spa for a couple of hours and were never made to feel that we should move on, quite the opposite, and again the staff very very friendly and accomodating, FANTASTIC STAY!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlerock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 6th April on the Sunday night deal, B&B with evening dinner, great value. Staff all very polite and helpful and hotel has a nice family attitude. Looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BIGREDAGAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have just enjoyed a sunshine break in Buncrana, staying at the Inishowen Gateway as usual. I reviewed this hotel three years ago, and nothing has changed. Please don't regard this as negative!

The consistently high standards remain. It seems we never catch the hotel on "an off day". Everyone from the cleaners to the chef delivers the same high standards time and time again. We never have to check the bedding is clean before turning in. We never have to worry if the food will be as good as last time. In fact, it seems tastier each time, and the puddings are worth the 85 mile round trip alone!

We took a short break to the Solis Lough Eske Hotel last month, and the five-star experience was wonderful and magical without a doubt, yet we found this latest trip to the Inishowen Gateway every bit as enjoyable. From the moment we receive a friendly greeting at the front desk we feel right at home. Of course, it's hard to top the experience of having breakfast in the Peninsula Restaurant, with the morning sun shining on the waters of Lough Swilly outside the window, especially with such a selection of buffet foods to choose from.

Being Easter, there were a lot of young families in the hotel. I remarked to my husband how nice it is for people to have a place where the children are welcomed, and parents don't have to worry about a baby sitter if they want a break away. There are always high-chairs in the dining room with contented looking little diners, and the older children's facilities look excellent. I wish we'd found these facilities during our child-rearing years!

Of course, there are plenty of us older ones as well, enjoying the relaxing atmosphere this hotel always provides, thanks to its spacious layout and comfortable bedrooms with wonderful views.

Buncrana remains one of our favourite places. It's such a tidy, uncommercialised little town, with friendly residents, and the walk along the sea front to the far beach makes a great start to each day. (Allow at least an hour and a half for return walk from the car park at the town leisure centre).

We are booked in again for June, and looking forward to it already!

Room Tip: Back rooms have great views provided you are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iris068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband works away for weeks on end and as I knew the laws for Good Friday in the Republic of Ireland, I rang this hotel to ask if they were serving food and drink as it was his birthday on the 18th April... This was at 10 a.m. in the morning. The lady I was speaking to(unfortunately I can't remember her name, the staff will tho' by checking the roster) told me that food and drink would be served up until 9.30 p.m. As we are regular customers I feel that this hotel only worries about money issues and not pristine customer service.

Customers be aware

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank 553HelenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Went here for a family birthday weekend. Brilliant hotel. Dinner was lovely had chicken and beef in peppered sauce was divine. The breakfasts are lovely great selection. Staff very friendly and great with kids and the plant active they have for kids is amazing. Swimming pool was lovely and relaxing overall brilliant stay anf will be back :)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for sharing such lovely feedback following your stay with us on a special family occasion. We greatly appreciate your compliments; it was lovely to read the mention of fantastic food coupled with pleasant staff. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with all my colleagues at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel. Your own words of “overall brilliant stay and will be back” are most rewarding for us to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Siobhan Devine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armoy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from another lovely relaxing time away in the Innishowen Gateway Hotel. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel! Great food in the bar with an amazing view over the golf course and harbour. buffet breakfast has a great selection! Staff very pleasant and helpful. Looking forward to going again :)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view overlooking the golf course and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
It was great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel. Our location is certainly a big bonus situated along the Golf Course with exceptional views overlooking the Lough Swilly and Donegal Mountains.
I am delighted that you found the team here to be warm and friendly – again this is feedback which we receive on a very regular basis. The team at the Inishowen Gateway Hotel are so focused and passionate when it comes to delivering top class service and food quality to all guests and I am delighted you got to experience this.
On behalf of everyone here, sincere thanks once again for your kind comments and I do hope it is not too long before we have the privilege of welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards
Siobhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 5 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 5 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
17.9 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
6.1 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing