We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL”
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

just back from a family weekend stay at the inishowen ,had a great time ,great hotel .the breakfast was very good ,so was the food in the restaurant,the kids had a great time .will definitely be back.

Room Tip: try for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    292
    106
    46
    29
See reviews for
305
327
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have stayed at the gateway several times with kids and it a great value getaway with the beach on your doorstep and friendly staff, plus the kids club is brilliant , yes it could do with some updating in the bedrooms but overall for the price you can't beat it, and will definitely keep going back.

Room Tip: just be sure to request a room with a sea view as its gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel offers a lot of value for a family. It includes a large hotel section, a full bar/ restaurant, a breakfast room with a view, a large lap pool, gym, kids entertainment area, large function facility with adjoining bar area and provides a view over lovely Lough Swilly from most of these. There is also a spa. We stayed 4 nights while there for a wedding, in standard room overlooking the parking area with Queen bed en suite. Bath was particularly good sized, room large enough to spread out and the bed was very comfortable. It was quiet for sleeping. Everything was clean and in good working condition. We found the breakfast more than adequate as there were many choices. On several occasions, we ate in the bar/restaurant where we found the food to be good. The staff must be complimented for their friendliness, professional attitude and efficiency. We found this hotel and restaurant to be very good quality and recommend it as a great location with very good value.

Room Tip: We spent so little time in the room that a room overlooking the parking area was not an important fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Let's be clear, this is not a five star hotel or even a four star hotel when it comes to those things that would make a hotel these standards BUT as a family hotel, this is four and a half stars and can be five stars.

The staff are "amateur" at times but the willingness is there. Service can be slow, awkward and sometimes bordering on embarrassing but if you persevere, it all works out in the end.

You may ask why I am giving this hotel five stars when my review is so critical. The reason is that I want to manage prospective guests expectations. If you want a family friendly hotel with average to above average food and an understanding from the staff of the challenges of parenthood; go to this hotel. If you want a bit of luxury, book into Ballyliffen hotel but don't expect the same Craic!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed on 18th to 20th April with my daughter as a mothers day gift, it was a special deal, 2 nights B&B, 4 course meal with a glass of champagne and a spa treatment. The room was excellent with a seaview, the meal was delicious and the staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating. I must say the Seagrass Spa is a hidden gem in Buncrana, had a facial, back, neck and shoulder massage lasting 1hr 15mins and it was one of the best spa treatments I've ever had, and one of the best spa's I've ever been in and I go to quite a few spa hotels! We lounged around the spa for a couple of hours and were never made to feel that we should move on, quite the opposite, and again the staff very very friendly and accomodating, FANTASTIC STAY!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlerock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed 6th April on the Sunday night deal, B&B with evening dinner, great value. Staff all very polite and helpful and hotel has a nice family attitude. Looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BIGREDAGAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Have just enjoyed a sunshine break in Buncrana, staying at the Inishowen Gateway as usual. I reviewed this hotel three years ago, and nothing has changed. Please don't regard this as negative!

The consistently high standards remain. It seems we never catch the hotel on "an off day". Everyone from the cleaners to the chef delivers the same high standards time and time again. We never have to check the bedding is clean before turning in. We never have to worry if the food will be as good as last time. In fact, it seems tastier each time, and the puddings are worth the 85 mile round trip alone!

We took a short break to the Solis Lough Eske Hotel last month, and the five-star experience was wonderful and magical without a doubt, yet we found this latest trip to the Inishowen Gateway every bit as enjoyable. From the moment we receive a friendly greeting at the front desk we feel right at home. Of course, it's hard to top the experience of having breakfast in the Peninsula Restaurant, with the morning sun shining on the waters of Lough Swilly outside the window, especially with such a selection of buffet foods to choose from.

Being Easter, there were a lot of young families in the hotel. I remarked to my husband how nice it is for people to have a place where the children are welcomed, and parents don't have to worry about a baby sitter if they want a break away. There are always high-chairs in the dining room with contented looking little diners, and the older children's facilities look excellent. I wish we'd found these facilities during our child-rearing years!

Of course, there are plenty of us older ones as well, enjoying the relaxing atmosphere this hotel always provides, thanks to its spacious layout and comfortable bedrooms with wonderful views.

Buncrana remains one of our favourite places. It's such a tidy, uncommercialised little town, with friendly residents, and the walk along the sea front to the far beach makes a great start to each day. (Allow at least an hour and a half for return walk from the car park at the town leisure centre).

We are booked in again for June, and looking forward to it already!

Room Tip: Back rooms have great views provided you are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staycation57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
300 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,124 reviews
16.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
6.1 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing