We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay ”
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice stay ”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Was here last weekend for a friends wedding . good clean hotel and friendly staff . Food for the wedding breakfast was good but severely let down for them roast potatoes quite possibly the worst ones I've ever had in my life . Definitely deep-fried !!! Beautiful views over the back of the hotel .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tonycpfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Tony

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend including the impressive views we have from both our Peninsula restaurant and selected bedrooms. It is very disappointing to read you did not like our roast potatoes served during the wedding meal. I will be sure to address this issue with our Head Chef but let me assure you we defiantly do not deep fry our roast potatoes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inishowen Gateway Hotel in the near future.

kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    282
    105
    45
    28
See reviews for
289
322
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We went to this hotel with an Urquhart's tour on 21 July - 25 July. I had never been to Ireland before and this a lovely surprise. The hotel is set right on the golf course and beach front in Buncranna. We had a room overlooking both. The rooms are very spacious, we had a double and a single in our room and only required a twin. The rooms are tastefully decorated with quality bedding and curtains. There is a 26" flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom is beautifully tiles with a shower over the bath. There is complimentary shower gel and soap in the bathroom.
The dining area we used was a function suite at night for the tour people. The menu was varied and really nice. The main reaturant was used in the morning for breakfast and everything you can think of for breakfast was provided. The quality of all the food served was very good. The bar area was nice and provided lunches if required and the bar prices were pretty reasonable for a hotel. There is a 20 mt swimming pool and jacuzz,i golf course, all free for guests of the hotel. This was a pleasant surprise and the staff cannot do enough for you to ensure your stay is perfect. Well done Gateway and we look forward to coming back again and again. There is also a kids zone with activities for children to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor overlooking the golf course and sea. Also ask for a non smoking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia59Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sylvia

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us.
It is lovely to read you enjoyed your first visit to Ireland and to Donegal and hopefully you will return to us again for a future visit. Inishowen is often referred to as Ireland In Miniature due to its many culture and heritage sites dotted along the Inishowen 100 route and our close proximity to Derry which is only a short 15 minute drive. Our hotel offers a range of facilities to appeal to all types of guests from leisure to romantic breaks to the corporate traveller. We are delighted to have met your expectations as we always aim to please all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a one night stay and the biggest compliment I can give is that our kids wanted to stay for a fortnight! Room was grand (although should have paid for the sea view) although personally the bed in terms of comfort wasn't great. Pool for the kids was great, as was the kids club and play area, also very secure. Wifi access was good, meal in the bar in the evening was excellent (albeit on the packaged meal and overnight stay menu was a bit limited). View over the golf course and water was brilliant. Breakfast in the morning with full Irish, cereals etc was as good as we've stayed at. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again and would recommend to others

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hello Ronan

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Our Planet Active kids club is one of the main reasons we are such a popular family hotel here in Donegal. As we also offer supervised sessions it gives mums and dads time to themselves to indulge in a bit of pampering in our Spa or a round of golf on Buncrana Golf course, knowing the children are well looked after and entertained by our Kid Club leaders.

We are delighted to read you will be recommending us to family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you all back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Fabulous weekend had in the Inishowen Gateway Hotel, the Receptionist are highly efficient and ready to greet you with a smile, the food was fabulous, generous portions and great value for money. The rooms were spotless with stunning views, breakfast was also excellent with breath taking views. I cant recommend this hotel enough either for a couples break of a family holiday.
I will definitely be returning for the hospitality, great food, great views and the value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hello Annmarie

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inishowen Gateway Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Hi I would just like to thank your staff and all involved in the running of the hotel, we had a room booked and as a young couple with two small children one of which has a disability , we stayed with 2 nights dinner and b&b. we had a ball and the young children had a great stay thoroughly enjoyed the visit, very clean and friendly hotel the staff could not do enough for us all to make sure we enjoyed the stay, the room was fantastic,as was the kids club they really looked after our little ones.I recommended and booked this hotel for two reasons 1 it was near the beach and park which does not cost a fortune for young families and two the club you had with the swimming pool access for them. thank you for a great few days. .
Regards

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliciatmccloskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Alicia
It was a pleasure looking after you all during your stay with us last weekend. Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We do have excellent kids facilities here at the hotel with our Planet Active Kids club running two supervised sessions daily, our workshops and evening disco and movie night. Our family fun hour in the pool and location next to Lisfannon beach make us a very popular destination for families.

We hope to see you all again in the near future and continue to impress with our staff, food and facilities..

Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at this hotel , paid extra for a room with a view and I can't stress enough it was well worth as the sunset on Saturday night was the most amazing thing I have ever seen. Every member of staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and clean , the beds were comfy and plenty of pillows.We couldn't fault the leisure facilities and the food was great especially in the restaurant and with the view while you eat there its an added bonus.The only thing that spoiled this wonderful trip was the few drunken noisy wedding guests on both nights or should I say early mornings that didn't consider those of us who were there to relax and unwind in this fantastic hotel. The night staff did deal with it but by then we had been disturbed by otherwise a tranquil and peaceful setting,I must mention that one of the management team namely Chrissy was very patient and understanding of our issue . I had already booked to go back in August before this trip and was apprehensive about going back but thanks to Chrissy we are hoping that when we return there won't be any reoccurring incidents, we certainly don't think that people shouldn't have fun just more considerate of others.

Room Tip: One with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jackie
We are delighted to read your review regarding your room view - we are one of very few hotels in Donegal that can boast about our spectacular views and scenery so thank you for taking the time to comment.
We do apologise for the disturbance you encountered during the night that ruined an otherwise perfect break for you. Our night staff did their best to deal with the situation quickly but in the circumstances it proved to take longer than expected and we are very sorry for this.

Your comments regarding our Manager Chrissie are very welcome, she will be delighted to hear a guest spoke so highly of her.
We look forward to welcoming you back the Inishowen Gateway in future and can assure you that this problem will not occur again.

Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

So booked the inishowen gateway for 2 nights to attend a wedding.
Booked 3 mths prior as website advised that best rooms would be allocated on a first come first served basis.
When we arrived the receptionist couldn't find our booking.
We were then placed in an awful room which was small, stank of smoke and overlooked the car park. There was also no information about the hotel in the room, we had wanted to order room service and had to contact the bar to bring us a menu.
After contacting reception to complain she sent a cleaner to the room to spray the room to get rid of the smell. The cleaner was very shocked at the smell it was that strong. Needless to say the smell did not disappear and we were informed we could not be moved rooms as the hotel was full.
We were moved the following day. The day of the wedding. We returned at 3pm to be told our new room was not ready. Had to wait around for 30 mins for them to finish getting the room ready.
I will say that the new room was lovely and what we should have been given initially.
As for the wedding reception, the function room was beautiful and the food was lovely. However, the door man who was placed on the door from wedding into the hotel was rude to everyone. Even the bride and groom complained about him.
The card machine was also broken in the wedding reception bar which was a nuisance as we had to keep going to the hotel bar. On one occasion a nice bar man named matt wrote on a receipt we were still to get drinks and we were able to show this to the barman in the wedding and get our drinks there which made it a lot easier. The we asked another barman (an older man) to do this and he said no very rudely and started serving someone else.
We were offered no apology for anything over the weekend.
Not at all impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Kimy30
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We apologise that there was some confusion over your booking on arrival. Our receptionist was able to locate your booking and checked you in but I do apologise for your delay
.
I'm afraid that although the majority of our rooms are non smoking, some guests do ignore this rule and smoke in non smoking rooms which is very difficult to clean afterwards. As we were fully booked the night you checked in we were unable to move you rooms until the following day and they was still a lingering smell of smoke which we tried to recify.

Thank you for your comments regarding our food and décor for weddings, we always aim to impress.

Our credit card machine was not in operation at the weekend and for this we do apologise. We do generally recommend to guests to avail of the option of posting drinks to their room bill during their stay with us as it removes the hassle of having to present a card for each round of drinks purchased. It makes it easier for the guest. To avail of this option Guests simply swipe their card at reception which opens their room account.

I apologise to you that no manager here at the hotel offered an apology for the issues you raise here. On check out we do ask if everything was ok during a guests stay and your upset should have been noted and addressed. Should you feel you would like to discuss the matter further then please email me directly at joleene@inishowengateway.com

I look forward to hearing from you.

kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
17.9 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
6.1 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing