We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“David Urquhart Coach Tour”
Review of Inishowen Gateway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishowen Gateway
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“David Urquhart Coach Tour”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I recently visited this hotel with David Urquhart Coach Tours. The hotel was comfortable, clean and the staff were lovely. The food was really nice and the breakfast was lovely. The hotel made an ideal base for our many wonderful tours to different parts of Ireland and we would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course as the views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Dorothy
Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We host many tours and groups each week all year round and love to look after every guest either new or repeat. Inishowen is a wonderful place to base yourself to explore the many wonderful hidden gems located along the Inishowen Wild Atlantic Way.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    282
    105
    45
    28
See reviews for
289
322
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just back yesterday from a 2 night break with our 3 kids. This is the third time we have stayed here and it is great for kids. This was the first time we had stayed during the summer having visited Santas kingdom for the past two years.The staff are very friendly, food is lovely and the staff in the kids club are amazing. Thank you for a great family holiday and we hope to be back to visit Santa and Mrs Claus in December.x

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loutiernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Loutieman
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. Our kids club has seen some changes this year with the addition of nightly themes for the evening sessions, disco and quiz nights and the addition of a new range of workshops during Planet imagination so it is great to hear your family enjoyed their time with our kid club leaders in Planet Active.
We look forward to welcoming your family to us again in December when we open Santa's Kingdom.

Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a lovely time at this hotel room overlooking golf course and sea. Breakfast excellent and dinner in restaurant nice. Hotel in lovely location near beach and 15 min walk into town. pool good size with jacuzzi & sauna & steamroom.

Room Tip: room at back overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carjamder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Carjamder
Thank you for submitting your recent review of our hotel. Our location means our guests can avail of the spectacular views across the water and of the Donegal Mountains. For those who don't avail of the sea view then they wont be disappointed as breakfast is served every morning overlooking Lough Swilly and Buncrana Golf course on our first floor Peninsula restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to our hotel in the near future for another enjoyable stay.
Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Myself and my partner recently stayed in the Inishowen. We had one nights b+b plus dinner and a spa treatment. We both chose to have the hydrotherapy bath and we paid €25 extra to have one each. It was lovely and the spa is so relaxing. The lady who was working in the Spa was a pleasure and couldnt have been more helpful. We ate in the Peninsula Restaurant and the meal was beautiful. Nothing was too much hassle. Our room was lovely and clean and the breakfast next day I could not fault. I will definately be back to this hotel. Staff are lovely and cant do enough for you, food is excellent and the getaway deals are exceptionally good value.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankiemca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Ciarafrank
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. Our Getaway to the Gateway offer is a very good value and offers a little bit of everything for those looking to getaway, just for 1 night including dinner, golf, mini spa treatment and breakfast with full use of our Leisure centre.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to our Hotel in the near future,
Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was there at a family wedding last week and was hugely disappointed with management.I had booked 6 months in advance and got the wrong room, they couldn't change as the hotel was booked out. The food was horrible and I would not recommend the hotel to anyone again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EM54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear EM54321
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on our Hotel. How very disappointing to read about your stay. However your comments are extremely vague for me to take any action on such as your comment regarding the wrong room your were allocated - do you mean that you were given a twin room when you had booked a double? It is very hard to for us improve our service to our valued customers when comments so vague are made. In regards to the food being horrible - again this is very vague so almost impossible to address.
We strive to always provide the very best in Donegal hospitality and aim to continuously improve our service were possible. Without feedback from our valued customers we cannot do this.
Maybe you would be so kind as to email us directly with your comments so we can address any issues. My email address is sales@inishowengateway.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Was here last weekend for a friends wedding . good clean hotel and friendly staff . Food for the wedding breakfast was good but severely let down for them roast potatoes quite possibly the worst ones I've ever had in my life . Definitely deep-fried !!! Beautiful views over the back of the hotel .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tonycpfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Tony

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend including the impressive views we have from both our Peninsula restaurant and selected bedrooms. It is very disappointing to read you did not like our roast potatoes served during the wedding meal. I will be sure to address this issue with our Head Chef but let me assure you we defiantly do not deep fry our roast potatoes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inishowen Gateway Hotel in the near future.

kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We went to this hotel with an Urquhart's tour on 21 July - 25 July. I had never been to Ireland before and this a lovely surprise. The hotel is set right on the golf course and beach front in Buncranna. We had a room overlooking both. The rooms are very spacious, we had a double and a single in our room and only required a twin. The rooms are tastefully decorated with quality bedding and curtains. There is a 26" flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom is beautifully tiles with a shower over the bath. There is complimentary shower gel and soap in the bathroom.
The dining area we used was a function suite at night for the tour people. The menu was varied and really nice. The main reaturant was used in the morning for breakfast and everything you can think of for breakfast was provided. The quality of all the food served was very good. The bar area was nice and provided lunches if required and the bar prices were pretty reasonable for a hotel. There is a 20 mt swimming pool and jacuzz,i golf course, all free for guests of the hotel. This was a pleasant surprise and the staff cannot do enough for you to ensure your stay is perfect. Well done Gateway and we look forward to coming back again and again. There is also a kids zone with activities for children to enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor overlooking the golf course and sea. Also ask for a non smoking ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvia59Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mang, Guest Relations Manager at Inishowen Gateway, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sylvia

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us.
It is lovely to read you enjoyed your first visit to Ireland and to Donegal and hopefully you will return to us again for a future visit. Inishowen is often referred to as Ireland In Miniature due to its many culture and heritage sites dotted along the Inishowen 100 route and our close proximity to Derry which is only a short 15 minute drive. Our hotel offers a range of facilities to appeal to all types of guests from leisure to romantic breaks to the corporate traveller. We are delighted to have met your expectations as we always aim to please all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Kind regards
Joleene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
13.4 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
17.9 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
6.1 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishowen Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishowen Gateway

Property: Inishowen Gateway
Address: Inishowen Gateway Hotel Railway Road, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishowen Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inishowen Gateway Hotel is located just outside the picturesque town of Buncrana on Donegal's Inishowen Peninsula. The hotel commands stunning views of the majestic Lough Swilly leading out on to the Atlantic Ocean. The hotel has 80 well appointed en-suite bedrooms, many of which overlook the lake. Some of the facilities are the Gateway Health & Fitness Club, Seagrass Wellbeing Centre, Planet Active for kids & The Peninsula Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inishowen Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishowen Gateway Hotel Buncrana
Inishowen Gateway Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing