We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stay”
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were in Buncrana for a catch up with relatives and so never stay in a hotel. We stayed here after attending a family wedding. It was not planned but I would recommend staying here if you are visiting Buncrana or Inishowen. It is a great base. The room was very comfortable and quite spacious. The view is beautiful. Breakfast was lovely, tasty and plenty of it. We have often eaten at the Inn restaurant and can recommend it. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Inn is an unpretending motel with a good value for the money. Parking is plenty (and a necessity), the WiFi was slow. Voilà the good and the bad. Not a given: the heating stayed on all night (also a necessity at a location so exposed to the gales from the sea).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our first trip up to Donegal and we wernt disappointed with our choice of hotel. A big thank you to Patricia for the warm welcome we received on our arrival , singned in then to our room . Our room was large , spotless and a good sized bathroom with lots of fresh towels and soaps. The room had all what you would need , tea/coffe facilities , tv , good storage and a small safe . The beds where great size and nice linen. The room was warm even it was quite cold outside and we could turn heating up or down to suit ourselves. We went for our evening meal and again the staff , Barry and Danniel where so friendly. We didn't wait too long for our food either which was great. I have to say I have stayed in many places over the years but it was a pleasure to stay in the Harbour Inn. We will def be back in the near future . Many thanks . Frankie.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frunk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Hotel was lovely the bar food and breakfast was excellent, staff were good, only problem waitresses not making eyes contact, so we had to wait to gets waitresses attention and didnt think it was appropriate wearing nail polish serving food, but other than that a great place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patsy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Really superb value found here. My partner and I got a night stay with half board (3 course dinner and breakfast) for 80€! Really friendly staff. Nice food in the bar; the bar was really cozy! Highly recommend as a base to explore the penninsula

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

found every thing at the Harbour Inn to be very satisfactory, lovely welcome at reception, rooms very warm and spotlessly clean, lovely bar and breakfast room nice food, great service, plenty parking, very reasonable, will definitely stay again
ruth tully

Room Tip: some rooms little to close to main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthie086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This was our second visit to The Harbour, and it was just as good as the first time. The room was huge - we'd been given a room with 2 double beds even though there were just 2 of us. The heating was on and stayed on all night which kept the room nice & cosy. It was clean & well maintained as was the bathroom. The bed was really comfortable with good plump pillows - we slept really well. We were in room 220 just above reception & the breakfast room which was handy. We had a half board deal and there is a separate residents menu to choose your meal from. There were ample choices for starters, mains & dessert. We ate really well and were surprised to have read in another review that the residents menu was 'limited' I certainly didn't find this the case at all - if you couldn't find something to please you on that menu then there's something wrong with you!! The restaurant & bar was very quiet in the evening, only a handful of people but there was entertainment on as stated on their website - a young fella with his music system sang until after midnight - he was really good. Breakfast was also really nice, full Irish with tea & toast. We got a fantastic deal for the stay - only £67 for one nights stay half board - unbeatable! Already looking for another deal here, we'll definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewqueen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
979 reviews
13.7 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,979 reviews
15.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 13 in Letterkenny
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
426 reviews
6.2 mi away
Frontier Hotel
Frontier Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridgend
52 reviews
15.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range: £56 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harbour Inn is located 1km outside the seaside town of Buncrana, with the Hotel situated on the shores of Loch Swilly. The Harbour Inn offers 30 En-Suite bedrooms with family rooms available, Offering food 7 days a week with live music in the bar every weekend. The Northwest Golf Club is just a 5 minute walk and the world renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club, host to the Irish Open 2018 is just a 20 minute drive. We are the perfect base to explore the Wild Atlantic Way, with Ireland’s most Northerly Point, Malin Head being just a 30 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana
The Harbour Inn Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing