We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base For Exploring”
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Base For Exploring”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our room was a great size, clean and warm. We found the bed really comfortable, the only let down was the shower, the pressure wasn't great. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and tasty. The bar/restaurant is also good, nice atmosphere and good value food. Friendly staff and good location as well.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    78
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
67
125
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Foxford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

When looking for a hotel for the night before a day's visit to Derry/Londonderry, I happened upon details of The Harbour Inn in Buncrana. It turned out to be a good find! The facilities were excellent for a very short stay. The food in the restaurant was well prepared and very tasty, so much so that we bought a drink for their chef!! All members of staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and very willing to provide a good service. We received excellent value for money

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Myself two sisters and four cousins flew into Derry airport on Monday afternoon on our to our uncle's wake in Drumfries, We hadn't booked any accommodation in advance and called into the Harbour inn on route we received a warm welcome and managed to get two good size rooms at the cost 25 euros per person (breakfast included), we ate in the bar/restaurant the food was delicious and reasonably priced.
the rooms were spotless and very comfortable.
Breakfast the following morning set us up for the day, I would recommend this hotel for price, location, great size rooms, cleanliness, It was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Friday and Saturday night on a weekend away to explore Inishowen. Staff were lovely and service very good. Room was spacious, clean and bed very comfortable. Bathroom was also very big and clean. One gripe is the room was cold when we arrived and took time to warm up. When we arrived back after long cold walk on Saturday it was cold again and despite wanting showers we had to decamp to bar while it warmed up. Bar was also not that warm! We ate in restaurant both nights and food was delicious. Bar is more of an eatery and isn't really cosy and pub like. Breakfast was plentiful and I was able to get gluten free option. All round a pleasant if lacking in character stay and good jumping off point for Inishowen 100.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a short valentines break , went for a meal which was fantastic :) best meal in long time .. Reasonably priced and being very busy they managed to fit us in. Would defo be returning ...

Room Tip: Great size off rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We were in Buncrana for a catch up with relatives and so never stay in a hotel. We stayed here after attending a family wedding. It was not planned but I would recommend staying here if you are visiting Buncrana or Inishowen. It is a great base. The room was very comfortable and quite spacious. The view is beautiful. Breakfast was lovely, tasty and plenty of it. We have often eaten at the Inn restaurant and can recommend it. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Inn is an unpretending motel with a good value for the money. Parking is plenty (and a necessity), the WiFi was slow. Voilà the good and the bad. Not a given: the heating stayed on all night (also a necessity at a location so exposed to the gales from the sea).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
887 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake of Shadows Hotel
Lake of Shadows Hotel
#3 of 4 in Buncrana
118 reviews
15.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,868 reviews
9.1 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
378 reviews
5.4 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Property: The Harbour Inn
Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana
The Harbour Inn Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing