We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another successful golf outing.”
Review of The Harbour Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harbour Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another successful golf outing.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Harbour on a previous golf outing for 7, this time there were 10 of us visiting.The standards remain excellent throughout all aspects of the hotel including reception,restaurant,bar and domestics......all doing their job to a very high standard and ,most importantly ,with a smile on their faces.Kathleen and her staff are great ambassadors for Donegal's welcoming reputation.
Look forward to returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    79
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
68
128
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is located on a main road into Buncrana - easy to find with plenty of parking. Great service - friendly and efficient. I was shown to my room on arrival, which was large and very well equipped. Walk-in wardrobe. Good size bathroom with natural light.

Restaurant was very good value with great service. Good selection, even at 8pm on a Sunday. Although the hotel seemed busy, my room was quiet and I had a great night's sleep in a large, comfortable bed.

Wide choice of continental and cooked breakfast, again with great service.

There is a wonderful sandy beach on the shore of Lough Swilly just across the road from the hotel.

I wish I had booked for more than one night. This hotel is exceptionally good value and I hope to be back for a longer stay before too long.

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the front have view of Lough Swilly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Fantastic one night stay. We had a family room whch was actually 2 bedrooms. Very clean. We ate in the restaurant and the meal was fantastic. Breakfast was good and staff accomodated our party of 6 for us by moving tables around. Enjoyed it so much we booked for June while we were there. Only negative the Wifi does not seem to stretch to the family rooms which was disapointing for the kids. Other than that very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erincc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for one night on first weekend in May. We booked two rooms for family. We had our own front door and two rooms opposite on the first floor, Just like being at home and completely private. Perfect place for family with children. The rooms were spotless and warm and had all we wanted - kettle with lots of milk,tea,coffee and biscuits - Iron and hairdryer. The food in the restaurant was excellent and varied and the price was very good. The staff were more than helpfull and take you to your room on arrival. On our two week travel around Ireland I can safely say this was one of the best we stayed in.

Room Tip: Two rooms opposite with own front door is perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 294James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Harbour Inn is an excellent place to stay in Buncrana. It is motel style accommodation in a great location. Our room was spacious and very clean. It had everything we needed - iron, tea/coffee, flat screen tv, air conditioning, plenty of towels etc... The whole building appeared to be very well kept. We had a lovely cooked to order breakfast the next morning which was included in the price. Overall our stay was very enjoyable and I would not hesitate to stay here again when visiting buncrana.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovestravel172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We booked into this small hotel on Easter monday and were immediatley upgraded to a large double room with a sea view by the lovely receptionist. The room was clean, modern and very comfy. The staff were very helpful with their knowlage of what to do locally and the food in the restaurant was varied, very reasonable and delicious.

Room Tip: Room to the front for a view, to the rear for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magoo223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Tyrone, N Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for one night on Easter Monday. It was really easy found, the staff are really friendly & welcoming. We had a massive room with all we needed. Lovely atmosphere in the hotel & the bar. It was perfect for exploring Buncrana & very reasonable too. Lovely & clean - we'd definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsP106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buncrana
0.7 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
899 reviews
15.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,125 reviews
5.4 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
386 reviews
13.7 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,892 reviews
15.8 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn

Property: The Harbour Inn
Address: Derry Road | Ludden, Buncrana, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Buncrana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Harbour Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 luxurious en-suite bedrooms, each with television, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. 70 seater restaurant serving lunch daily and evening a la carte menu. Warm & welcoming lounge bar. 5 minute walk from NorthWest Golf Club & 20 minute drive from renowned Ballyliffin Golf Club. Special rate green fees for NorthWest Golf Club available to hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Harbour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Hotel Buncrana
Harbour Hotel Buncrana
The Harbour Inn Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing