We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous house, great location and lovely people!”
other travellers have booked this property
White Strand Beach House on large private site.Centrally located 1km from town; very close to beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
White Strand Beach House on large private site.Centrally located 1km from town; very close to beach
Hallway Kitchen Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
White Strand Beach House on large private site.Centrally located 1km from town; very close to beach
Hallway
Kitchen Area
Utility Room
Bedroom 2 cont'd
Bedroom 3 cont'd
Bathroom
Bath within Bathroom
Shower within Bathroom
Buncrana Main Street
View of Buncrana from Fahan Hill
Castle Bridge, Buncrana
Old Pier at Fahan Marina
Glenevin Waterfall
Derry-Londonderry City Of Culture 2013
Peace Bridge, Derry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Buncrana, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jenna H
1 review
“Gorgeous house, great location and lovely people!”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We needed a place to rent having to travel from London to Buncrana last minute for a death in the family.


The bungalow was lovely, 4 of us stayed and there was loads of room and good sized bedroom and space.

The lounge was comfy and had a beautiful fire place. The kitchen was well equipped and a good size.

There was a nice garden with space to sit and a swing for the little one to play on.

We were lucky enough to experience some really nice weather and took advantage of the beach which was 2 minutes walk away.


Town centre was only a ten minute walk so it was an ideal location.

Anita was very helpful and really lovely to us. Will definitely rent again if we need another stay in Buncrana, just lovely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review aswell as the thank you gift you left for me. I understand well how a little goes a long way during a time of grief. So glad you enjoyed the bungalow, its location and all the amenities. Please do return again soon.
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“unwelcoming”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

very dirty interior, kitchen worktops filthy, cooker etc very old and dirty, microwave, was absolutly filthy, shower was filthy, kitchen very old cupboard fronts badly stained and cracked,spent the 1st 2 nights cleaning floors were filthy ,dust and cobwebs every where,could not use cupboards etc to store food, due to being filthy inside them also very bad stench from all cupboards, i had to clear someone else,s rubbish that was left behind blue mouldy oranges etc stuck fast to a fruit bowl, crawling with insects disgusted

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing
Liked least: kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Totally shocked at your comments!!! I too am absolutely disappointed that I had no chance to address any issues that you had on site. We have never had such complaints before in the past and have contract cleaners who prepare the property in advance of your arrival which I always check afterwards. The property most definitely had been checked by myself prior to your arrival and you had said you were satisfied when you arrived. Also, a few hours after your arrival I went across to fix the television and at this stage you still made no complaints whatsoever!
Regarding the bins, in Buncrana, our general refuse bin (black bin) only gets emptied once every fortnight. On your arrival on Tuesday night it was pretty full but was sent out for collection early Thursday morning for fortnightly collection and you were given a new clean bin same day. I am only disappointed you did not air any of your views to me during your stay as we tell all our guests to contact us if they need anything. Customer care is important to us as you will see from so many positive past reviews. I cannot understand why you would not speak to me during your stay. Sorry that you felt this way about the property as we do not like our guests to leave disappointed.
Wishing you all the very best.
Anita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chatcatcc
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Homely”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Lovely comfortable home away from home. Great for family. Nice distance from main road. My Son who has special needs and is a full-time wheelchair user was very comfortable and relaxed during his stay, which was very important for me. Was not impressed with having to pay for electricity use or heating(if needed). Paying enough for accommodation per night, highly unusual for holiday rental. This was not stated
on advertisment. Otherwise very comfortable and cozy wouldn't call it luxurious.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Thanks for your lovely review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with your family.
I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the heating and electrical costs but it was clearly stated on the donegal cottages site which you booked from under the tariff section. I also include it in every booking form which I forward to every guest. We feel it's more important to allow each guest pay for the bills as they use them rather than add on an extra which may be too much as every user is different...just like petrol with car hire.
Thanks again and I hope you return in the future.
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosieagne...
1 review
“Beautiful home in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

3 adults and 1 child stayed in this house on the 23rd July 2016 as my sister was getting married near by, the pictures and description of the beach house is exactly what you will get! We really enjoyed staying here as it was in walking distance of the gateway where family and friends of ours was staying. we are planning to come back next year and hopefully this house will be available on the time of booking! Massive thank you to Anita for a lovely clean stay at the beach house and hopefully see you soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Delighted you took the time to write a lovely review for us. The white strand beach house has a great location indeed. Was lovely to see you all having wedding photos taken in the garden! We do hope you return soon!
Thanks again,
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just great”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

that's a great cottage with all the equipment you could wish for
and Buncrana is perfect to explore beautiful Inishowen.
And on top of it: your landlady Anita is just next door
and is very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the great location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thanks for posting a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at our lovely beach house and beautiful Inishowen! We are so lucky to live in a beautiful part of the world.
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidaylo...
1 review
“Nice big house on good location.”
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely stay and the owner was very helpful- letting us in to the house early and providing extras like a cot and high chair, as well as posting us things we left there by mistake!! A 2 minute walk to the sea and a short walk to town. House had a nice big garden which was well kept and all the amenities needed. Very good price too!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for your pleasant review. I'm glad you loved our beach house. Don't forget to return in the future. We just bought a swing set for the kiddies to enjoy!
Thanks so much again.
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claddagh7...
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family get away in Inishowen”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We loved our holiday here as it provided everything we could possibly need for a family holiday. With 3 children under 6 years old it is never easy to find accomodation to suit all. The layout is fantastic as we could cook, eat and open a glass door to the living room to be sociable and keep an eye on the kids. Loved the open fire. The beds and pillows were so comfortable and the laundry items (sheets,duvets and towels) were really soft and cosy that even the kids commented on them. Beach and town were nearby so really convenient for us. Our hosts couldn' t do enough to make our booking and stay welcoming, ensuring all queries and everything was in place for a great holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time and effort to write a lovely review...it is very much appreciated! Delighted you enjoyed our Beach House aswell as everything else Buncrana has to offer. We do try our best to keep the house in good order. We just purchased a lovely swing set for the garden so be sure to come back with the boys again soon!
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing