We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostels I’ve ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tullyarvan Mill Hostel
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 on a cycling holiday and it was great. The kitchen is very well equipped for cooking, and the bed in our room was so comfortable. Exactly what we needed after a hard day of cycling. Everything was spotless and staff extremely helpful. It is very fairly priced too. The old part of the Mill is gorgeous. Buncrana is a lovely little town and I hope I’ll be back there again! One of the best hostels I’ve stayed in.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apo1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2012

We (my boyfriend and me) stayed at our journey through Ireland one night in Buncrana.
Everything there was very clean and the woman at the reception was very helpful!
It was possible to wash our clothes in the laundry room!
Unfortunately no one was really able to explain us the functions of the dryer! Thats really bad when you don't use dryers at home!
Unfortunately the staff hadn't much information about Buncrana and the sights there.
I had also bad luck with the staff at the Tourist Office in Buncrana. They seemed to be not that interested in finding a resolution how to get from Buncrana to Malin Head at a Saturday. We were really disappointed!!!
Also there was big noise at night because someone screamed for hours trying to sing while playing guitar. It was very annoying!
We wanted to check out at the next morning and had to wait HOURS because NO one was there. Another woman at the Hostel wanted to check out also and missed her bus! Sometime the night-watchman appeard sleeply and we were able to check out.

Well, normally I am really tolerant with these unlucky things but we had plans for the day and a noisy night and a late watchman aren't that conducive for travelling people.

My hint for the Hostel:
Choose more precisely your staff, inform them about the area and try to change the strategy of the Tourist Office to a better organized and more informative.

I think it is a very good idea to put a Hostel into a Mill - and it is unpleasing to say that it could be more heartwarming and familial and an assemblage point for travellers through Inishowen.
I hope you can take that feedback to become a better Hostel :) It is just meant well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waschbaerpfote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

3 of us stayed at the mill in early august this year (2011). the staff were very friendly and helpful both on the phone and in person. the hostel itself is the winner. an old mill building has been renovated with a new wing for the hostel. very clean, very spacious and amenities are plenty. kitchen is spot on. within easy walk and stumble to centre of Buncrana. And the garden and stream out the back make a refreshing morning stroll. Highly recommend by us all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iain d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Veronika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank yogame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael D, Manager at Tullyarvan Mill Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Gonzalo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
Thank KarlBigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buncrana hotels
1.3 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
974 reviews
2 mi away
The Harbour Inn
The Harbour Inn
#2 of 4 in Buncrana
309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lissadell B&B
Lissadell B&B
#7 of 8 in Buncrana
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Town Clock B&B
Town Clock B&B
#2 of 8 in Buncrana
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Bridgets B & B
St. Bridgets B & B
#1 of 8 in Buncrana
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbrook House B&B
Westbrook House B&B
#5 of 8 in Buncrana
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tullyarvan Mill Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tullyarvan Mill Hostel

Address: Mill Lane | Tullyarvan, Buncrana Co Donegal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Buncrana
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Buncrana
Price Range: £20 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tullyarvan Mill, a 19th century renovated Corn Mill is situated approximately a 15 minute walk from the seaside town of Buncrana, Co. Donegal on Irelands 'Wild Atlantic Way'. Adjoining the Mill is a purpose built tourism hostel. Designed to offer value and comfort for families,individual visitors, residential groups. There are 51 beds in total, 2 large dormitories, 4 Family Rooms and 1 Double/Twin Room all with en-suite shower and toilet facilities. The large self catering kitchen has TV and Free Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tullyarvan Mill Hostel Buncrana, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing