We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous cottage and location”
other travellers have booked this property
Cecil's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cecil's Cottage
Elevation facing Stragill Beach with External Patio Area & BBQ Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Cecil's Cottage
Elevation facing Stragill Beach with External Patio Area & BBQ
Dining Room
Internal view of Dining Area
Fireside Dining Room with settled bed
Cosy Multi Fuel stove which heats Main Cottage in addition to OFCH
'Settled bed' within Dining/warm Stove Area - just like times gone by!
Fully Fitted Kitchen with all modern appliances
Sun Room
Sun room with panoramic views over Lough Swilly
Double Bedroom with ensuite shower room
Double Bedroom with spectacular views
Attic Loft Room with ladder access and closable hatch - Double Bed & Double Sofa Bed
Bathroom
Bathroom
Ensuite Shower Room
Single End - Kitchen/Living Area
Single End
Single End - Double Bed
Outdoor wc - just like the old days!
Raised & decked reading area overlooking Lough Swilly
Views from the Garden
Pathway to the beach
Cecil's Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Buncrana, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mcnallym2...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage and location”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family and I stayed in Cecil's cottage for a week and I wish we had booked two weeks. This cottage is stunning, so well finished and true to the style of yonder years. Eileen was so welcoming and her son, who lives in the house up the lane was so friendly, bringing the family donkey for our wee ones to feed. Everything you need is in the cottage and the surroundings are so tranquil and beautiful. The kids had an absolute ball with the freedom to run around and down to the beach which is just a couple of minutes walk. So clean and welcoming and the huge stove, with free supply of turf and coal, kept us cosy and warm in the cooler evening. I would congratulate Eileen and her hubby on a wonderful job and recommend this cottage to all. Absolutely fabulous. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thanks for your lovely review. The cottage is a breath of fresh air for everyone who visits.
We welcome your return in the future.

Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of Lough Swilly
Liked least: The short stay!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
Thanks for making the effort to leave a review. I'm glad we helped make your first irish visit special. As they say..."up here its different" and we are very lucky to have some of the most spectacular scenery you will encounter along The Wild Atlantic Way. Don't make it your last trip...We would love to have you again in the future.
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review! We love happy customers. The cottage is pretty special and a little magical even ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RenatoB12...
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Great Place - and Fantastic Views!”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Set in the beautiful countryside just outside Buncrana and on the edge of Lough Swilley, the traditional cottage has been rebuilt and modernised but very much in keeping with the original. The most outstanding aspect is the addition of a good sized lounge with a panoramic view of the Lough and the hills beyond.

Time passes swiftly when looking out, watching the weather change minute by minute as the showers and sun meander their way across the surface of the water. The Lough is also known as the Lake of Shadows; a very apt description, as the whole look of the area changes so much as the clouds pass overhead.

As to the cottage itself, the accommodation includes a double bedroom at each end, with a good bathroom with long deep bath at one end, and at the other end of the building, a wet room with a very effective shower. In addition there is a large room upstairs in the attic which our three grandchildren made their own for the duration, and also a "settle" or cupboard in the large living/dining room, concealed behind sliding doors, which housed a double mattress, and which the kids took turns to sleep in.

The kitchen is well fitted out with almost every type of crockery etc. you might need to use during your stay. Everyone loved the wood-burning stove in the living room which provided copious hot water and central heating for the cottage, and burnt coal, peat or wood, all of which was provided by the thoughtful owners.

The owners were so friendly, welcoming us to the area, providing a great selection of groceries for us on arrival, and showing us the shoercut to the sandy beach which was only about 200 yards away

All in all a GREAT place to holiday in, despite the rain and wind, but - what else do you expect in this part of Ireland, I'm loath to recommend it as I want to keep it a secret just for me! I'll be happy to go there again and again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the lounge window
Liked least: Very little! Perhaps the only downside was the rain - but even that was soft!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Thank you for your excellent review! We are delighted that all our guests leave with happy memories. Our cottage definitely provides for a wonderful holiday! We would love to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shagwagg
Keralla
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stunning cottage with a view to die for. Very friendly owners who let the children have Jessy the donkey in the field next to us.. Very comfortable furniture and cottage very spacious. Would love to return again if visiting Buncrana.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View was fabulous did not want to stop viewing it.
Liked least: Weather was not as good as we would have liked but children still went into sea.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We love getting great feedback!
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindersma...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Everything was as advertised, the cottage was excellent, the area on which it is built was so quite and still, the folk who look after you couldn't have done more and the area and town was magic, views going up North were so picturesque, yes we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the area and it wasn't that far from town, 10 min drive.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. It's a special location and we are glad we can share it with others.
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write some lovely comments about your stay at our cottage. We are delighted you had a fab birthday celebration. Eileen regrets that she could not see you off but thanks you kindly for your lovely words. Hopefully we will see you soon,
Anita :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing