We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent standard in food...but best view!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach House

Beach House
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Buncrana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Buncrana, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inconsistent standard in food...but best view!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Have dined frequently at the Beach House since it first opened, always had a nice relaxed atmosphere & lovely view! As of late, dining experience has become very inconsistent( others I know who dine there have agreed on this). Dined here recently and ordered gnocchi as a main - which came with a pesto rocket & tomato salad in the presentation. As this was not stated on the menu - I unknowingly ordered a rocket & tomato salad as a side. Had the menu/ waitress informed me of this I could have ordered a different side....! Rocket and tomato salad was completely tasteless - unripe tasteless cherry tomatoes variety (which there is no excuse for as it is June!). Gnocchi was a total different dish since last time I dined there few months ago. Friend also said the same of her chicken. Also limited selection of deserts - the inclusion of summer seasonal desserts would be something to consider as a dessert like ginger & carrot cake seems quite heavy and winter flavored for a sunny hot summers evening!!! Also when we arrived at the restaurant it was very quiet. We were told that the window seats were all booked (even though there was only one table occupied when we arrived). When we left one and half hours later the window seats were all still vacant. It would be nice if staff/seating were perhaps a little more flexible - as we could have easily dined and been gone before the reserved table was needed.( as the restaurant was practically empty!) Staff barely approached and very hesitantly/shyly to take order or ask if food was ok, while another time we were constantly approached (too much!) and had the plates practically snatched from us before we were even finished! Lastly, asked for pinot grigio wine and got served chardonnay!!! Fortunately it didn't bother us too much as it was already poured out so we never said anything, but really not impressive. Usually the Beach House is a very pleasurable experience, food, view and atmosphere is enjoyable, and by far Buncrana's best restaurant but if food is not consistently at the same standard at each visit, it is very off-putting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank local d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Local d,

I am writing to acknowledge your comments in relation to you recent experience at the Beach House. I can assure you that it is our genuine desire to offer great food and service in a relaxed and friendly environment and I am sorry that this was not your experience on this occasion. I hope you visit us again in the future and have a more enjoyable experience.

Yours sincerely,
Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    59
    21
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Scenic Location, Good Food but somewhat expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I love this place. Nice ambience, fabulous views over Lough Swilly whether it be a summer sunset or a stormy winter's night. Very pleasant staff and good service, but I cannot help feeling that value for money is unconvincing. I know this restaurant prides itself in the sourcing of its produce and the haute cuisine but it is always a bit of a deterrent in deciding where to go for a bite to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinDavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear DublinDavidM,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the Beach House. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the Beach House again in the future.

Best wishes,

Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly staff and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was our first visit to the Inishowen peninsula and the owners of our B&B (Sea Vista, Fahan) had recommended the Beach House to us. From arrival to departure everything was just great. Parking is easy, the dining room is welcoming and our window seat looking out over the beach just beautiful.
Staff were friendly, professional and efficient and made us feel very welcome.
Our starters, one soup and one cheese dish, were lovely, our main courses, both fish, absolutely delicious and accompanied by excellent sides. We chose only one desert, a selection of their home made ice creams. This desert alone would have made the visit worthwhile but happily everything we ordered throughout the evening was equally delicious.
We finished with tea for two in the very relaxed atmosphere the restaurant provides.
Great food and service, lovely environment and reasonable prices. We loved it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear LandPC,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us at the Beach House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us. We constantly strive to provide high quality dining in a relaxed and friendly environment. We hope you will get a chance to visit the Beach House again if you are visiting beautiful Inishowen.

Best wishes,

Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent restaurant sitting on the edge of the pier overlooking Lough Swilly, the setting for either a romantic meal or even a quick cup of coffee is second to none.
We have had dinner in the Beach House several times over the past few years since it first opened and have always been treated with a welcome smile from owner Claire and first class service from all her staff.
The menu uses where possible as many local food suppliers an producers which in turn provides a stunning and varied menu to cater for all tastes.
Even once your meal is finished a quit retreat to the bar and a sample of one of the many cocktails is a must.
Well done and keep up the great work.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dshawphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear David,

It is always a pleasure to welcome yourself and Eileen to the Beach House. Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate your continued loyalty. We hope to see you both again soon.

Best wishes,

Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

As far as views go - the beach house is hard to beat. Even if the food was poor I would still come here for the location. Fortunately the food is great and we recently had a lovely meal here. We ordered 3 courses with wine and everything was delicious. The waitresses were very efficient and friendly yet professional. I highly recommend this restaurant - eating good food by the sea is a winning combination.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lovestravel172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buncranabeachhouse, Owner at Beach House, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear lovestravel172,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Beach House and for your lovely compliments on our food and friendly service. I will forward your comments to our team who work really hard to provide a high standard of food and friendly service. We hope to welcome you back to the Beach House again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Claire Mc Gowan
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach House also viewed

Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
 

Been to Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing