We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fig tree is not to be visited”
Review of Dromoland Castle

Dromoland Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fig tree is not to be visited”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Went for Sunday lunch with my sisters family and my own (4 kids, 4 adults). The service was very poor - took them ages to take our order, even longer to serve, and we were going to have dessert, but no-one arrived to take our order.
The food itself was fine, distinctly average is the best I could give it.
And the cost? Crikey - kids meals for a tenner?! Give me a break, two crappy sausages and a bit of mash - probably costs 65c to put together.
Utterly unmemorable, except for all the wrong reasons...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank chillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    33
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mrs White's Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I visited Dromoland about two weeks ago as I was passing through the area. Myself and my friend just wanted some tea and dessert as we had already eaten earlier.
We were pleasantly surprised to be handed a menu, "Mrs.White's Afternoon Tea" I believe was the name of it, which had exactly what we were looking for.
We couldn't decide what to order as everything on the menu was mouthwatering. We asked our waiter what he would recommend, taking his advice we ordered some scones along with our coffee's. I cannot stress enough how helpful and friendly our waiter was. I feel guilty for not asking his name as I would like to give him credit for his service. I will 100% be returning again.

We then went for a walk around the castle and decided to enquiry about a weekends stay. As I was walking up to speak to a young girl on reception I felt as if I was being looked down upon. We were the only people in reception and the girl was very dismissive. She offered no advice or suggestions for our stay. Instead she handed me a leaflet and told me to ring reservations and that was all.
I would expect a more outgoing and polite receptionist for a five star hotel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Niamh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My second visit to Dromoland for Afternoon tea was as good as the first. The kitchen staff have updated the Afternoon Tea selection. The classic Ham Cheese and Chutney remains as does the egg, salmon on dromoland brown bread plus a crab sandwich which I don't recall from my first visit have been added. The scones and cakes are freshly prepared and really great. Every five star hotel in Ireland offer afternoon tea now, but there is a quality and style that is required to successfully pull it off. Dromoland is a true five star experience, the service, the staffing level, the ambience and the old world style at Dromoland are all part and parcel of this experience. Our waiter explained the three tier presentation, explaining the new variations, pointing out also the cake with edible silver(mistaken by some guests as a kitchen gaffe). We sat in the long hallway near the bar, it is quiet there but with a nice atmosphere as you can see the comings and goings of other guests. At one stage a rather loud group appeared but were politely moved into an adjoining salon by an attentive member of the staff. It is necessary to book in advance.
Great experience, looking forward to my next visit. I have included some photos I actually took on my initial visit last August.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea in Dromoland Castle”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Recently my daughters and I had Afternoon Tea in Dromoland Castle We had never been to Dromoland and so we were really looking forward to the experience. The grounds were beautiful and the hotel reception was very impressive. However the 'Afternoon Tea' was dissapointing. Firstly, we were only offered regular tea with no mention of different varieties which we were expecting. Although the sandwiches and cakes were lovely, the portions were quite small for four people. In addition the service was not that of a 5 star establishment. We were not offered more tea or coffee and we had to ask for more milk and more coffee. The waiting staff never approached us to ask if 'everything was OK or if we would like more tea or coffee. Overall we were not impressed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank 301Tessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“What a feel”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Beautiful place. Great Golf course. Dinner was great as was the breakfast menu. Nice whisky bar that didn't hurt either. Staff were helpful. Used the swimming pool which was lovely.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JMark2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dromoland Castle also viewed

Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
 
Ennis, County Clare
 
Bunratty, County Clare
Ennis, County Clare
 

Been to Dromoland Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing