We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter's Lodge Bar and Restaurant

Hunter's Lodge Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

stayed in Knocknagow B&B night before Shannon flight. This bar had great atmospher, reasonable prices. perfect salmon/cod. best apple pie in 15 days in Ireland

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patricia193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Food In A Small Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

At the time we had a chance to go eat (about 8pm) this was the only place open for dinner in town. The food was amazing! And the bartender/server was friendly and entertaining. He even looked the part of your typical Irish bartender. If you are in the area or are staying at the Cahergal Farmhouse B&B, this is a place to eat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, il
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprising!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our group picked a random town to stop for food on the way back from the Cliffs. We ended up at the Hunter's Lodge and it was delicious! I don't know quite how to describe it, but it seems like maybe the menu descriptions don't match what is actually being served. Or maybe I was thinking about what the food would be back home in the states. I don't know what was going on in my head.
Anyway- the food was very good! I split a steak with my seven year old and was impressed to see a big helping of fresh steamed broccoli. Others ordered a chicken dish that was also impressively tasty. We also took some chocolate cake for later and it was yummy.
The service was great, I have since found out that she is the owner. She was really friendly and had us all laughing!
Since we just took a chance, we were all pleasantly surprised and had an excellent meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stopped for dinner before returning to room at Dromoland Castle. Staff was friendly and food was great, just what we wanted after a day of sightseeing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelalot79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Irish Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The personable bartender and the friendly local patrons at the bar made this restaurant one of our favorite stops in Ireland. Robert was very accommodating and served us even though we came in well after the grill was closed. The local men were very interesting to speak to and had lots of advice on places to visit (and probably any other topic you'd care to discuss :-). The atmosphere was delightful and the food superb. Offers a great alternative to dining at the Dromoland. By the way, the fish chowder is not supposed to be like New England Clam chowder as the previous gentleman implied. It is outstanding!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunter's Lodge Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
 
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
Newmarket-on-Fergus, County Clare
 

Been to Hunter's Lodge Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing