We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect welcome to Ireland”
Review of Cahergal Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cahergal Farmhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It is hard to say enough about how wonderful our stay at the farmhouse was. It is a true family run farm and home. Noreen treats you as guests in her home. We stayed for three nights and could not have had a better time. The breakfast was wonderful each day, Noreen and the other family members were welcoming, and the setting is perfect.

Our room was clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and spacious. The location is also great, in the country side and quiet, but close to town and local attractions. It is the perfect jumping off point for sightseeing. It is also the perfect first place to stay if you fly into Shannon.

If we have the chance to visit Ireland again, this will be our first stop. If you have found this listing, book it today and feel confident you made the right choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

Cahergal Farms is a destination, no just a place to spend the night before your flight. It is liking falling back into history///with photos of the generations who came before all over the house, and Noreen happy to share their stories. The hundred acre farm itself is breathtakingly beautiful, with every stone fence kept just as it once was. Great place to bring the family as Farmer Mike is happy to have kids come help with the chores (like bringing in the cows). If you want to bring the whole clan, there is a lovely self catering house in the back that can sleep all the cousins.

While the farmhouse really is less than 10 minutes from Shannon Airport, the only sounds you here are the cows. Quite a nice way to end or begin a trip. And Noreen is as hospitable as they come, making you feel that you're one of her best friends who just arrive from far away. And then there are the scones...and more scones....and if you plan ahead, you might also be treated to a dinner of mouthwatering Guinness stew....YUM!

I would give this B&B 10 stars, but the rating system only allows five. So, double my praise please....and be sure to spend a few days here.

Room Tip: All Rooms seem to be equally good. Top choice for some would be the family room (door in between th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penname26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at Cahergal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. It is always great to hear back from people who have enjoyed their stay. I am delighted you enjoyed the scones so much.

All the best, Noreen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Beautiful country feel with a tranquil ambiance. Amazing hospitality with a delicious and delightful breakfast. Paul came through on multiple occasions to help make our stay as convenient and authentic as possible. We cannot thank him and the staff enough. We will definitely be visiting cahedgal house again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momo021988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at Cahergal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thanks very much for the great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is a nice thing to be able to actually stay at an actual working farmhouse in Ireland - as you drive around the countryside, you see so many off in the distance and they are very intriguing. There are cows & horses at this farmhouse and 2 resident dogs.
Noreen is lovely and very hospitable. We never met Michael unfortunately - he must have been away.
Our room was a bit small and somewhat cramped with furniture so it was not easy to get around the room easily, or access our belongings. That said, there was plenty of hot water in the good sized shower and the towels were oversized and fluffy. In addition, as an added benefit, there are many comfortable common areas to sit and visit with other guests, read a book or just relax.
I will have to say that the only thing I was disappointed in was the homemade "dinner" consisting of a small bowl of irish stew (maybe one 8oz c. of stew) , slice of bread (1 each) and a wedge of rhubarb crumble. To me, €20 pp was outrageously high for such a meal - for comparison, the most delicious stew we tasted in Ireland was in Doolin at the Riverside Bistro for €13.95, and it included a nice sized fresh salad, bread (more than one slice pp) and the stew helping was full of guiness marinated irish beef which was plentiful and was almost too much to finish. In general we found that the helpings in Ireland are almost too big - but for the first time since our arrival, we left this table still wanting.(?) Perhaps we were the exception - or it was an "off" night...at least it would seem so judging from the previously stellar reviews this B&B has received...
The sitting area outside is lovely too and it's great to be able to take a walk around the grounds. All in all it was a lovely setting with very kind and lovely hosts - just didnt care for the dinner..

Room Tip: i think they are all quite different and varied - inquire with the hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceethew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at Cahergal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Many thanks for your review, I am delighted you choose to stay with us and glad that you enjoyed your stay. This is our first year offering evening meals to guests so I really do appreciate any feedback that can help us to improve our service. We offer a traditional home cooked meal along with a typical Irish dessert plus tea or coffee for €20 per person and it has proved far more popular than we ever envisaged. Typically this meal is pre-booked by guests prior to their arrival as we are not a restaurant open to the general public however we do try to accommodate people when ever possible. We always use local top quality meats and vegetables (our own when in season) and feel that this price is reasonable for an evening meal. I am really disappointed you felt your portion size was not adequate. From now on I will be offering seconds to anybody who cleans their plate !

Thanks again for your review and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Ireland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our last night on a 12 day trip to Ireland and Scotland. What an absolutely beautiful property and welcoming family! We wish we knew how truly great it was ahead of time because we would have planned to stay here longer, and we can't wait to go back. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone traveling in County Clare or near the Shannon Airport.

Evelyn, the young woman who works there, greeted us with tea and warm scones and showed us to our room and around the house. The whole house smelled of fresh flowers and fresh baked goods and there was a beautiful arrangement of huge lily's in the foyer. Our room was very nice with a large comfortable bed and clean bedding and fresh water on the dresser. The bathroom was the cleanest we had during our entire trip to Europe. There were multiple indoor and outdoor sitting areas and everything was lovingly cared for, clean and fresh with lots of space. There is a cute outdoor gazebo with little lights and it looks back on the great vegetable garden.

Even though the house was so nice and clean and fresh-smelling, the best part of the stay was the gorgeous farm complete with the greenest pastures and lots of livestock - cows, sheep, horses, dog! It was so relaxing and serene on the farm. Michael and his son took us on a horseback tour of the farm the morning after we arrived, and told us all about the property and the livestock. Noreen had a delicious Irish breakfast with more tea and scones and brown bread waiting for us when we returned. Noreen and Michael were really delightful hosts, so friendly and welcoming. There was another family there at the same time with two small children who obviously loved Evelyn - their little girl ran up and gave Evelyn a huge hug as soon as she walked in the door! Their family had been there for 2 or 3 days and were also very sad to leave the property, and remarked on how much their children liked Noreen's tasty pancakes.

I can't say enough good things about Cahergal Farmhouse. I really loved it here and want to send special thanks to Michael and Noreen and their son. I hope I will be returning to stay with them soon!

One last benefit, it is only 10 minutes from the Shannon airport! But still was very much in the country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at Cahergal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

That is an amazing review, thank you so much. We were delighted to have you stay and the early morning ride out was a pleasure. All the best until we see you again, Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very comfortable beds with private clean bathroom. My young son loved waking up and hearing cows right outside his window. Wish we had more time to explore the local area. Delicious Irish breakfast and welcoming hostess!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at Cahergal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Delighted you had such a good time, thanks for the lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very nice place to stay with a great host. Noreen was more than helpful in telling us places to see and visit. Quincy's Restaurant in Quin was highly recommended by her and the food there was excellent. Close to the airport and other sites to see. Because we were staying there at the middle of our trip and the end of it she let us leave some luggage there until we returned. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at Cahergal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
2.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,328 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
435 reviews
2.5 mi away
Carrygerry Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
ParkHouse Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 24 in Bunratty
289 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahergal Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahergal Farmhouse

Address: Urlanmore, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: £96 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahergal Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful, restored farmhouse is surrounded by scenic farmland, offering spacious rooms with countryside views. Guests can enjoy horse riding, tennis, and home-cooked breakfasts sourced from the farm itself. Each room at Cahergal Farmhouse includes an en suite bathroom with power shower, and hairdryer. Some rooms include a king-size bed, and guests can relax with a TV in the room. Some rooms also overlook the Fergus River. Breakfasts are served in the bright and airy dining room overlooking the rose garden and ancient stone walls. Freshly cooked, full Irish breakfasts are available, along with an extensive breakfast menu. Horse riding is available on-site with qualified instructors, and walking tours of the farm and surrounding countryside can be arranged. Free parking is provided, and Shannon Airport is only 5 miles away. Bunratty Folk Village is 4 miles away, and Dromoland Castle and Golf Club is 2 miles from Cahergal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cahergal Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahergal Farmhouse Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing