We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cahergal Farmhouse
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at Dromoland(Newmarket-on-Fergus)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dromoland Castle Hotel(Newmarket-on-Fergus)
US$743
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
225 results
Traveller rating
191
24
9
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
24
9
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesworking farmlast nightshannon airportbreakfast was deliciouspastoral settinghighly recommend a staythe main housefront of the housestayed nightsfamily roomporridgeshort drivehorsescowsmichaelireland
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 225 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had a great but exhausting day driving around the Dingle Peninsula, and finally found our lodging for the night. It was like a dream! The house was absolutely beautiful and the farm and the animals were fantastic. My husband spent time with Michael, the farmer/owner, who was working with the cows, mending the ages old stone fences, and feeding the calves. The working farm had been awarded the Farm of the Year for Ireland, and it had been in the family for generations. Noreen, Michael's wife, was warm and friendly and an amazing cook (in addition to being a modern Irish woman, mother of 4 and a member of Soroptomist International!). Our room was roomy, clean, and had al the modern conveniences. It was by far the best lodging we had on our two week Irish vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickyeatermedford_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It is hard to say enough about how wonderful our stay at the farmhouse was. It is a true family run farm and home. Noreen treats you as guests in her home. We stayed for three nights and could not have had a better time. The breakfast was wonderful each day, Noreen and the other family members were welcoming, and the setting is perfect.

Our room was clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and spacious. The location is also great, in the country side and quiet, but close to town and local attractions. It is the perfect jumping off point for sightseeing. It is also the perfect first place to stay if you fly into Shannon.

If we have the chance to visit Ireland again, this will be our first stop. If you have found this listing, book it today and feel confident you made the right choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Cahergal Farms is a destination, no just a place to spend the night before your flight. It is liking falling back into history///with photos of the generations who came before all over the house, and Noreen happy to share their stories. The hundred acre farm itself is breathtakingly beautiful, with every stone fence kept just as it once was. Great place to bring the family as Farmer Mike is happy to have kids come help with the chores (like bringing in the cows). If you want to bring the whole clan, there is a lovely self catering house in the back that can sleep all the cousins.

While the farmhouse really is less than 10 minutes from Shannon Airport, the only sounds you here are the cows. Quite a nice way to end or begin a trip. And Noreen is as hospitable as they come, making you feel that you're one of her best friends who just arrive from far away. And then there are the scones...and more scones....and if you plan ahead, you might also be treated to a dinner of mouthwatering Guinness stew....YUM!

I would give this B&B 10 stars, but the rating system only allows five. So, double my praise please....and be sure to spend a few days here.

Room Tip: All Rooms seem to be equally good. Top choice for some would be the family room (door in between the two rooms) and any of the front rooms. However, all are quite nice and have more than adequate outlets and lots of bathroom space.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penname26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at Cahergal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. It is always great to hear back from people who have enjoyed their stay. I am delighted you enjoyed the scones so much.

All the best, Noreen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Beautiful country feel with a tranquil ambiance. Amazing hospitality with a delicious and delightful breakfast. Paul came through on multiple occasions to help make our stay as convenient and authentic as possible. We cannot thank him and the staff enough. We will definitely be visiting cahedgal house again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momo021988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at Cahergal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thanks very much for the great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is a nice thing to be able to actually stay at an actual working farmhouse in Ireland - as you drive around the countryside, you see so many off in the distance and they are very intriguing. There are cows & horses at this farmhouse and 2 resident dogs.
Noreen is lovely and very hospitable. We never met Michael unfortunately - he must have been away.
Our room was a bit small and somewhat cramped with furniture so it was not easy to get around the room easily, or access our belongings. That said, there was plenty of hot water in the good sized shower and the towels were oversized and fluffy. In addition, as an added benefit, there are many comfortable common areas to sit and visit with other guests, read a book or just relax.
I will have to say that the only thing I was disappointed in was the homemade "dinner" consisting of a small bowl of irish stew (maybe one 8oz c. of stew) , slice of bread (1 each) and a wedge of rhubarb crumble. To me, €20 pp was outrageously high for such a meal - for comparison, the most delicious stew we tasted in Ireland was in Doolin at the Riverside Bistro for €13.95, and it included a nice sized fresh salad, bread (more than one slice pp) and the stew helping was full of guiness marinated irish beef which was plentiful and was almost too much to finish. In general we found that the helpings in Ireland are almost too big - but for the first time since our arrival, we left this table still wanting.(?) Perhaps we were the exception - or it was an "off" night...at least it would seem so judging from the previously stellar reviews this B&B has received...
The sitting area outside is lovely too and it's great to be able to take a walk around the grounds. All in all it was a lovely setting with very kind and lovely hosts - just didnt care for the dinner..

Room Tip: i think they are all quite different and varied - inquire with the hosts.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceethew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M, Owner at Cahergal Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Many thanks for your review, I am delighted you choose to stay with us and glad that you enjoyed your stay. This is our first year offering evening meals to guests so I really do appreciate any feedback that can help us to improve our service. We offer a traditional home cooked meal along with a typical Irish dessert plus tea or coffee for €20 per person and it has proved far more popular than we ever envisaged. Typically this meal is pre-booked by guests prior to their arrival as we are not a restaurant open to the general public however we do try to accommodate people when ever possible. We always use local top quality meats and vegetables (our own when in season) and feel that this price is reasonable for an evening meal. I am really disappointed you felt your portion size was not adequate. From now on I will be offering seconds to anybody who cleans their plate !

Thanks again for your review and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Ireland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews