We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessentially Irish Hospitality at its Very Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quintessentially Irish Hospitality at its Very Best”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed over night. On arrival the concierge appeared he took our luggage and parked the car. Check in was efficient and charming. Our room the Keighley Suite was all that you could wish for. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks in the bar. There's a turf fire in the main hall and the smell could only be in Ireland. Other guests were sitting around in soft squishy couches reading, having a coffee or sipping a drink.
Dinner in the main restaurant was a wonderful experience. Great choices for each course and without being a bore every morsel of food was exquisite.
Breakfast is also a wonderful experience, an extensive array of fresh fruit and also a wide choice of breads, conserves and cereals. This is all before you chose from an array of cooked breakfasts teas and coffees.
In Dromoland the setting is exceptional but if there's a word greater than exceptional that word would describe the staff. The General Manager Mark Nolan oversees every detail with warmth charm and an enthusiasm and energy for serving the customer. If you have a special moment coming up and you feel like a real treat don't hit the airport and go abroad instead indulge yourself in all that Dromoland has to offer you will be so very satisfied with what's on offer

Room Tip: All of the rooms appear superb. We stayed in the Keighley Suite which is magnificent. Great décor fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaL495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear VeronicaL495

Thank you so much for your very kind words and wonderful review. It gives us great encouragement to receive feedback such as yours and makes all our efforts worthwhile. I will be sure to share your comments with all the team at our weekly management meeting.

Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and indeed for your recommendation. We hope to welcom you back to visit us again soon.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,616
    368
    145
    63
    40
See reviews for
928
1,588
44
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Had out "Minimoon" here recently and what a wonderful time we experienced, we certainly won't forget our break here. From the moment we arrived we felt the friendliness, and relaxed atmosphere. Full marks to all staff in every department here in Dromoland, you were all a contributor to a memorable stay. The food was superb, and will remain a highlight of our stay. The Spa is restful, unhurried and totally relaxing and very beautifully decorated. We got an upgrade to the Edward Hyde Suite - thank you - beautiful room. The castle and grounds themselves are a major attraction to a stay here, a total getaway from everything. Can't wait to return even if only for the ritual of Afternoon tea in the gallery, another marvellous treat.
Thank you to all at Dromoland Castle for the many little details that added up to a most memorable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear DeirdreC

We were delighted that you chose Dromoland for your "mini-moon" and we were able to make this very special occassion so memorable for you both. I will be sure to pass on your lovely review to all the team and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for future stays and of course Afternoon Tea!

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our visit was part of an Irish Splendor tour. The Dromoland Castle Hotel visit was the tour highlight. Outstanding service, wonderful dining experience and quality food in the dining room. We had a sunny day and walking the grounds was very rewarding. We will definitely spend more time at Dromoland on our next Ireland visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear RobertG

Thank you for choosing to spend part of your time in Ireland here with us at Dromoland Castle. We were thrilled to hear that you had good weather while here and of course that you plan on spending more time with us when you visit Ireland again.

We look foward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I recently stayed 4 nights at Dromoland prior to meeting up with a tour. The area had recently been besieged by terrible storms that affected the water system, golf course, and walking trails. It didn't damped the wonderful hospitality of this grand hotel. Zyn made sure we had bottled water in our rooms and replenished it regularly.

We were lucky enough to enjoy a day in their spa. Had a wonderful massage and facial. Great technician who was quiet during the massage and then slowly encouraged conversation during the facial. Just the right amount of chatter. (I think her name was Erica...)

Also, can't say enough about the wonderful wait staff--from the bartenders to the breakfast wait staff. All were wonderful. Shane helped us several times during our stay and was always attentive.

The only drawback is that this property is not close to any towns and other attractions. We hired a car and driver (outside the hotel) for around 200 euros to take us around for an entire day. (9:30 am to 8 pm).

All in all, I would recommend this as a great place to rest and relax. Many thanks!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzfan647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Jazzfan647

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Dromoland. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your patience while we got back on our feet after the storm!

I will be sure to pass your lovely comments to the Spa and indeed all the team here. We hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My wife and I spent a Sunday night at Dromoland, just as a little break from work and the awful weather at present. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our Travelzoo voucher was instantly accepted, and we got our promised glass of prosecco, room upgrade and €50 restaurant discount without any problem.

After a swim in the pool we had aperitifs in the cosy bar and a fantastic meal in the Earl of Thomond restaurant. Attentive service but not in your face, just the way we like it. Next morning a beautiful breakfast in the restaurant and then my wife went to the spa for a massage while I took a stroll in the lovely grounds.

Back in Belfast via the Kildare Outlet Village, we agreed that we will be repeating the experience again soon. Thanks to all the staff at Dromoland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Deramore

Thank you for choosing Dromoland Castle for your break from work and weather! We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us and thrilled to hear you will return soon, we all look foward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tullyallen, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a family break: a three night stay during my daughter's mid-term break in February. We received a very warm and genuine welcome from the receptionist. Then John (a concierge) ushered us into our lovely bedroom soaked in opulence overlooking the lake. There were glorious treats left in the room to welcome us, including a personalised letter from the General Manager! We had the evening to explore the castle and the surrounding with the help of the staff who were genuinely interested in us and our stay.

The breakfast is served in grand style and is cooked to individual requirement. On the first morning Pauline made sure that we were OK and offered us food of our choice in addition to a large selection of fruit, pastries and juices in the self-serving area. Home-made bread and cakes were celestial, particularly the banana cake. We tried different cooked breakfasts each morning and they were cooked and served to an exceptional standards.

We also had the privilege of tasting some of the pastries: inimitable in taste and presentation.

Leisure facilities in the Club House were a real treat, followed by a sumptuous relaxing lunch in the Fig Tree restaurant was an experience to relish. Our daughter also enjoyed the buggy ride from the hotel to the leisure facilities.

Everything in this oasis of luxury is attention to detail in a serene and salubrious setting.

Notwithstanding the adverse weather conditions that had done some damage to the area, the management has taken every single effort to welcome guests to make their stay memorable. Credit to their efforts.

Sadly, three nights are not enough to get the full benefit of Dromoland Castle and its surroundings. We returned home relaxed and pampered.


We shall return. Thank you from the Lowe Family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CletusLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear CletusLowe

I was thrilled to read your reivew which I will be sure to share with all the team here, it gives us great encouragement to receive your feedback.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My fiancé and I came in mid-January for (sadly) only one night, which was nice because it was the off season and it was very tranquil and peaceful. I love how the entrance to a castle is a ~1/2 mile road which really gives you a sense of the scale of the grounds around the castle. We were treated very well, and Tom was very accommodating and friendly as he helped us with our luggage and car. Our room was very unexpectedly (in a WONDERFUL way) located in one of the towers, and the room was circular and quite large. The views were lovely, it's so nice waking up and seeing swans on the lake from the HUGE windows.The bed, appliances, and décor were charming, and the shower+bathtub were AMAZING. The shower's pressure was very strong, so you could have a very luxurious hot shower if you wanted to.

Later in the evening, Deirdre was nice enough to give a very long walk around the castle and grounds, and she really put in the extra effort despite our tour being unplanned. She answered all of our questions about venues, rooms, capacity, sites, etc. Shortly after we got back to the states, Margaret emailed us almost immediately.

The restaurant was very "Downton Abbey" ish, and the decor really gives one a sense of the late 19th/early 20th century life of Irish noble families. Super charming. The food, presentation, service, etc were all above and beyond. It was like something in a movie! The food was perfect in every way.

My fiancé are now in the pre-planning stages of having a small,intimate wedding here. So excited to return!

Room Tip: try to get a tower room if you're going as a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear SashaM

Thank you for your very comprehensive review of your recent stay, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and thrilled that you are thinking of Dromoland as a wedding venue.

Margaret, Deirdre and indeed all the team and I look foward to helping you plan special day here. We look foward to welcoming you back soon

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,121 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,397 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,537 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
792 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing