We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Arrived to Dromoland Castle and its impressive surroundings. We had a great room ( 312 ) which overlooked the lake. 2 nights B&B with an evening meal. Breakfast was amazing and the service was excellent, quick and efficient. The dinner was also first class, melt in your mouth. Anyone visiting definitely include an evening meal during your stay. The whole experience was fantastic, grounds well kept and maintained and all staff very pleasant. Would definitely recommend a stay and hope to return again in the not so distant future.

Room Tip: ask for room with a view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rambo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Rambo45

Thank you for your wonderful reivew and recommendation, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and of course that you will return in the near future.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,398)
There are newer reviews for Dromoland Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,462 - 2,468 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

we booked in for one night & stayed 2 now that says it all--the bedrooms are beautifully furnished and the little extra touches of little notes & chocs being left on our pillows in the evening was delightful---the fishing on the Lough was at no cost to the guests staying there (now THAT is not the norm) the Fig Tree served lovely meals at the Club House if one just wanted a light meal .ALL in all cant wait to get back .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesleya887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear lesleya887

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Dromoland. We are delighted that you enjoyed your extended stay with us and of course thrilled to hear that you will return to us in the near future.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan and All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Wow! We really enjoyed our stay at Dromoland Castle Hotel. Had a beautiful 3rd floor room with a lake view and a very comfortable King Bed. Breakfast was on the first floor, at the bottom of the lovely double staircase, and we felt like royalty making an entrance walking down each morning! The bar was wonderful and we enjoyed drinks at the Fig Tree one evening as well. Also enjoyed dinner in one of the rooms off of the bar and loved Afternoon Tea in front of the roaring fire one afternoon. Our only disappointment was that our horse and buggy ride was cancelled when Sean was kicked by one of his horses and ended up in hospital! The hotel was generous and offered us a golf cart to explore the grounds so we wouldn't miss out. We rode around for about an hour and enjoyed all the beauty the grounds have to offer. Such a peaceful, lovely castle surrounded by manicured gardens and a lovely golf course. Definitely worth a stay when you're in the West of Ireland - just wonderful!!

Room Tip: The lake view is fabulous!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveAllThingsDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear LoveAllThingsDisney

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your recommendation.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A a girl's vacation through Ireland we wanted to splurge on a castle, who doesn't want to a be a princess! We were not disappointed. The castle and grounds are lovely and the staff exquisite. We had a queen anne room and it was lovely, with large windows looking out on a courtyard. The grounds are beautiful, and took walks and rode bicycles available to guests at the leisure center. The center also has a nice indoor pool, team and sauna. Nice after walking the trails. Breakfast was very good, we mainly had the continental, but there was all sorts of fruit, fresh pastries and more. The service was perfect. So much to do on the grounds, it makes up for the castle being a ways out of any town. We enjoyed tea service one afternoon, which was fun, and then dinner that night in the gallery area. Very cozy. It is a bit pricey, but we were wrapping up our trip. The only complaint I have is the bed. We had a room where they pulled apart the "King" bed and it made two twins, which was fine. But the mattress was thin and lumpy. It did not go with the beautiful room, huge marble bath and lovely hotel. Overall it was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Queen Anne area is lovely
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewsgalBowie_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear NewsgalBowie_TX

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your 'girls vacation' with us and had time to avail of some of the estate activities.

I am very sorry that your mattress was 'thin and lumpy' which is not our usual standard as all our mattresses are high quality pocket sprung King Koil brand. I will investigate your feedback with the accommodation team, I am very sorry if your had a less than restful sleep.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sadly, due to our family's busy travel schedule, we were only able to spend one day and night at Dromoland Castle. What a spectacular property! The structure is amazing as are the enormous grounds. The staff was very attentive, polite and helpful. Our three daughters loved being treated like princesses in the castle and our son loved the structure itself and all the activities available on the property. This place is NOT cheap, but our memory of our short stay will last a lifetime. Presidents, Kings, Queens, Nelson Mandela, The Beatles, U2 and ............. us!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Socalsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear socialsix

Thank you for your comments and indeed for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland Castle. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and have lovely memories of your visit to cherish.

We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were only scheduled to stay one night at Dromoland Castle and wished we had booked more! The accommodations were luxurious and the staff marvelous. We walked a bit around the grounds, but also took the horse and cart tour with Sean and Paddy. Sean was very informative regarding Irish and the Castle's history. Dinner was fantastic. The food was delicious. Overall a marvelous stay that doubled our resolve to visit Ireland once more!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjones754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear gjones754

Thank you for your feedback which I will be sure to pass on to Sean, Paddy the Pony and indeed all the team here.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Ireland.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We enjoyed walking around the beautiful grounds, then headed over to the Clubhouse/Fig Tree Restaurant where we enjoyed drinks and dinner. The Fig Tree was a casual atmosphere and the food was good and reasonably priced. Our rooms were "Amazing Value" Queen Anne Bedrooms on ground level and they left something to be desired. I knew they would be dated and I thought that would be alright and maybe even enhance the experience, but for the amount of money it was a little disappointing. They offer some fun activities such as The School of Falconry and Archery, but those will also cost a pretty penny. This was our big splurge for hotel stays while in Ireland for 8 nights and if I did it over again, I would visit Dromoland and maybe play 9 holes of golf and then stay elsewhere for about 1/3 the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank takeatripMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear TakeatripMN

Thank you for your feedback which I will certainly share with the external contractors who provide us with both falconry and archery.

I am very sorry that you feel you did not get value for money and did not enjoy your chosen room category. Our Queen Anne rooms are very popular and are very competitively priced in the five star market.

I am very sorry we did not deliver on the Dromoland Experience on this occasion and would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,213 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,452 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
821 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
462 reviews
23.4 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: £169 - £929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing