We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and Cozy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Luxurious and Cozy”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is more of an adventure than a place to stay. From the beautifully manicured grounds to the morning breakfast, everything is top quality, luxurious. Yet, it is not pretentious but very cozy. The staff are attentive. Rooms are spacious. Food is excellent. We enjoyed the bar and live music. It is an adventure to be savored. The only downside to staying here is that you have arrived at a destination. Without a car, you are "stuck" at the Dromoland Castle. Not a bad thing because there are many activities offered. Just know that this is not a hotel where you can walk to other places. That is why I say to make this an adventure. You will be pampered and you will spend lots of money.

Room Tip: Our lovely room looked out over the lake. We could see the setting sun. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenie2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Greenie2480

Thank you for your lovely reivew, we are delighted that you enjoyed your 'adventure' with us and hope that we see you again soon. I will be sure to pass your comments to all the team

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,616
    368
    145
    63
    40
See reviews for
928
1,588
44
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had an unforgetable experience at Dromoland. Everything from the rooms (oustanding) to the grounds to the castle interior is pefection. It seemed as if there was no detail overlooked. The staff was friendly and helpful and not at all stuffy. The food - although expensive - was fabulous. I could have lived for days on the scones alone. Worth every cent and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth O

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland and for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable time with us and really appreciate your recommendation.

Best Wishes from mysel and all the team.

Mark Nolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Every trip to Ireland should include at least one overnight stay in a castle, if you can afford it. This is a perfect pick if you've just arrived on a red eye or if you're headed home early the next day. Dromoland is a 10-15 minute taxi ride from or to Shannon Airport. Perfect if you're tired and want to relax. Perfect if you want a stress free ride to the airport the day you're leaving.

The staff here are very warm and welcoming, especially the porters. Both the day and night porters were energetic and enthusiastic.

The rooms are a bit dark, but, I suspect, that's to be expected in any castle. We stayed in Room 314 which was a challenge to find because it was directly across from room 213. It made sense once we realized the staircase to the third floor was actually in our room!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dveach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear dveach

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us on your next visit to Ireland.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband surprised me with a stay at this castle for our honeymoon. It was splendid! at first I thought that maybe we won't fit in there- we were backpacking and didn't have fancy outfits with us. but I saw a few others wearing simpler outfits and the hotel staff treated everyone with utmost courtesy.our room was very clean, and bathroom was especially nice. the food we ordered at dinner in a fancy dining room with candles was delicious and exquisite. we walked around the property in the evening and in the morning and it's just so peaceful! we highly recommend falconry- we had an amazing time (approximately 1-2 hours) with our guide and the hawk. Enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Newmelodia

Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted that you enjoyed part of your honeymoon with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to Dave (the bird man!) and indeed all the team here.

Very best wishes to you both from all of us at Dromoland

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My family and I stayed here in January and since this is the off season there were only a few other people staying there with us so it felt like we had the entire castle to ourselves. The decor is exactly what I imagine a castle should look like. It was amazing. The grounds are kept up well and are breathtaking. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mruyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear mruyle

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in January and thank you most sincerely for your recommendation.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel arrangements were made by our tour sponsor, Tauck, who always come up with great,comfortable, memorable and convenient locations to stay. The hotel staff could not be more accomodating. The restaurant was first class and we had breakfast and a dinner there during our 4 night stay. The room well appointed and comfortable. The bar area was cozy and drinks excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Joe P

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to visit us in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I know you know it's a castle, but even then wasn't prepared for the beauty of this place. It was incredible! We rented bikes and biked all over the grounds. It is just a beautiful property. Everyone was helpful and seemed happy to work there. It's just amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoonGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear NoonGraham

Thank you for your review, we are delighted your enjoyed your stay at our castle and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,121 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,397 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,537 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
792 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing