We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Vacation of a lifetime!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Vacation of a lifetime!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had the privilege of having this fantastic hotel as our first stop on our vacation. The hotel has a fabulous staff, wanting to make our stay as wonderful as possible. Aiden and John were there answering whatever questions would arise. The breakfasts were done to perfection. A terrific place to stay!!

Room Tip: Every room is lovely...only downside is there is no elevator. Not all rooms are air conditioned. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear JacknDee

Many thanks for your lovely review which I will be sure to share with John, Aidan and all the team. We are thrilled you enjoyed your first day in Ireland here and hope the rest of your vacation was wonderful.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,462
    357
    139
    62
    39
See reviews for
873
1,502
42
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went on a fabulous road trip throughout Ireland back in February 2008 (rather than 2013). One of our stops was at Dromoland Castle. The castle is beautiful! We arrived a bit late just around sunset and the sky outlining the castle was gorgeous. The staff were so welcoming, meeting us outside to bring in our luggage. We were brought promptly to our room, which was huge, about the size of our living room (maybe 400 sq ft?). The bathroom was huge as well. Wifi was available, and could be viewed on our big screen tv in front of our comfy couch. Snacks and a local honey cordial drink were waiting for us. The next day I wanted to experience tea at the castle but there was nothing on the schedule, so they asked me where I'd want my full tea and I saw in front of a huge fireplace and enjoyed my own personal tea prepared especially for me! Some of the offerings at the breakfast buffet were a bit odd, but there was still plenty to select from. A wonderful stay overall in a beautiful historical building.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear egcam

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon, its been a while!!!!!

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castletownshend, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

No holiday abroad this year as I am in the middle of Chemoteraphy and was not allowed travel as my treatment is every 14 days. We stayed at Dromoland for three nights with our son. Accomodation was fab large room with stting area, great bathroom and was a delight. Staff and service was excellent and we ate in the Hotel each night last night eating in Golf Club. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Fergus O

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us last January and hope that your treatment is going well for you.

We all look foward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We only had one night here as part of a package but we absolutely would have stayed longer. Everything was top of the line and beautiful. The staff was amazingly nice and very helpful, really going above and beyond. We did not have time to explore the activities offered on-site, but we did wander around the grounds and saw amazing lawns and gardens and courtyards.We also had dinner in their fine-dining restaurant and were blown away by the level of service and delicious food. It was truly everything you would imagine when staying in an actual castle.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallengoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear fallengoddess

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland and for posting your lovely reivew. We are delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope to see you back for a longer visit in the not too distant future!

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the time we arrived until our departure it was magical!! The service , the food , the grounds , the Staff was top notch. Once you are settled look for Connor....this young man does everything but cut the grass. He and Michelle made our stay very special!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jim H

Thank you for your lovely review, we are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit soon.

I will be sure to pass your feedback to Conor, Michelle and all the team.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My friends and I stayed in Dromoland Castle and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were updated and modern for a castle hotel. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The only downside that we experienced was that the bar stopped serving food at 7, so you either had to dine in the formal dining room, or walk down to the golf club to eat at the restaurant. This turned out to be a fine place to eat, so it wasn't too inconvenient.

The grounds were beautiful and there were several walking paths around the lake and through the woods to be able to take in the scenery.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Janet P

Thank you for taking the time to post your reivew, we are delighted you chose to visit us with your friends and enjoyed your stay with us.

I am a little concered however and will investigate the fact that you were not offered a table in the Gallery area which offers a more casual dining experienced than our formal restaurant and serves food until 11pm.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again in the future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is truly a one of a kind experience! Every detail is impeccable! The breakfast is not to be missed! The bar and afternoon tea perfection! The grounds and garden are stunning! Be sure to schedule a once in a lifetime Hawk Walk! What an amazing experience! The staff is warm, unpretentious and attentive.

As others have mentioned, this is a destination. Not a hotel you can walk anywhere from. We did not play golf but the course looked beautiful!

Room Tip: Be sure to explore the stunning grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear MikeB

Many thanks for posting your review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed the many on site activities we offer.

While we are a resort/destination property we hope that once you arrive you'll not want to leave! Hope to see you back with us soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing