We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like royalty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

You knew you were entering a first class hotel. Superior staff, delicious and a large variety of food selections, beautiful grounds. Accomodating staff, they'll do anything for you; I received a golf cart ride to the adjoining club house by the receptionist ! Don't miss the falconry; take a walk around the paths, soak in the hot tub, enjoy the spa. Short taxi to Limerick or Bunratty Castle & Folk Park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Kplaces2See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

I and the team are delighted that you had such a good experience and that you got an opportunity to experience so many of the activities on the estate. Thank you for posting your comments, it really is appreciated.

Yours sincerely
Mark Nolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,504 - 2,510 of 3,462 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Every little girl dreams of staying in a castle, and I was treated like a true princess during the stay at Dromoland! I was traveling with family and friends, and we all agreed this was the best stay of our entire trip to Ireland. From the gorgeous grounds, suites and delicious and food, it was wonderful...and, I went on the Falconry class and can now check that experience off on my "bucket list!" Incredible! So look forward to coming back again some day!

Room Tip: Third floor, front castle looks out on the lake and grounds...gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Princess Lucia, thank you so much for your great comments on your recent stay at Dromoland, we look foward to hopefully welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely
Mark Nolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We chose Dromoland because of my husband's O'Brien heritage and scheduled our stay to be our last evening of our family's vacation. This place is just phenomenal! The staff are incredibly professional and friendly -- some even dressed in tails and reminded me of those featured in Downton Abbey. The architecture and artwork are stunning and the grounds are beyond picturesque.

We booked a pair of Queen Anne rooms many months in advance for our family of four but upon arrival my husband and I were upgraded to a state room. Oh, we could definitely get used to this! ;)

We set our teenagers loose who enjoyed the falconry workshop and who availed themselves of the swimming pool, bike rides, scooters, outdoor chess and generally explored the grounds to their pleasure. My husband and I took a trap ride and received a very informative and amusing narration of the history of the castle, hotel and the grounds.

The food was so delicious and very hearty! We dined outside on the patio as well as in the drawing room and enjoyed a light version of High Tea as well. Breakfast was delivered to our rooms and beautifully presented.

An added benefit to our stay was meeting with genealogist Lorna Moloney who was professional and delightful. We exchanged several emails in advance and upon meeting she presented us with many colorful insights into some of our Irish and Scottish ancestors (as well as those who emigrated to the States) and left us with very good notes so that we may continue in our family research pursuits.

I hope that we have the opportunity to return to Dromoland. It is absolutely worth every penny for a stay of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraMOAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

What lovely comments. Thank you from all the team for your nice words about your Dromoland experience. It is so encouraging to all of us and can only hope that you will not wait too long for your next stay!
Best wishes
Mark Nolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The superb accommodations at Dromoland Castle really deserve more than just 5 stars. Indeed, 7 would still be lacking. From the moment you enter the reception area, to leaving the gates, you are surrounded by luxury. The well appointed halls and common areas are but a mere preview to the comfort of the rooms and elegant bathrooms. The golf course looks like a privilege to play, I was sad I didn't have time for a round. The dining continued the experience with exquisite cuisine and extensive wine list. The service was also top notch. Breakfast provided a wonderful reason to arise in the morning. A very special place I hope one day to return to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to post such a wonderful review of our Castle. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your return.
Yours sincerely
Mark Nolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had the privilege of having this fantastic hotel as our first stop on our vacation. The hotel has a fabulous staff, wanting to make our stay as wonderful as possible. Aiden and John were there answering whatever questions would arise. The breakfasts were done to perfection. A terrific place to stay!!

Room Tip: Every room is lovely...only downside is there is no elevator. Not all rooms are air conditioned. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear JacknDee

Many thanks for your lovely review which I will be sure to share with John, Aidan and all the team. We are thrilled you enjoyed your first day in Ireland here and hope the rest of your vacation was wonderful.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went on a fabulous road trip throughout Ireland back in February 2008 (rather than 2013). One of our stops was at Dromoland Castle. The castle is beautiful! We arrived a bit late just around sunset and the sky outlining the castle was gorgeous. The staff were so welcoming, meeting us outside to bring in our luggage. We were brought promptly to our room, which was huge, about the size of our living room (maybe 400 sq ft?). The bathroom was huge as well. Wifi was available, and could be viewed on our big screen tv in front of our comfy couch. Snacks and a local honey cordial drink were waiting for us. The next day I wanted to experience tea at the castle but there was nothing on the schedule, so they asked me where I'd want my full tea and I saw in front of a huge fireplace and enjoyed my own personal tea prepared especially for me! Some of the offerings at the breakfast buffet were a bit odd, but there was still plenty to select from. A wonderful stay overall in a beautiful historical building.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear egcam

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon, its been a while!!!!!

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

No holiday abroad this year as I am in the middle of Chemoteraphy and was not allowed travel as my treatment is every 14 days. We stayed at Dromoland for three nights with our son. Accomodation was fab large room with stting area, great bathroom and was a delight. Staff and service was excellent and we ate in the Hotel each night last night eating in Golf Club. We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fergus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Fergus O

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us last January and hope that your treatment is going well for you.

We all look foward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,246 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,472 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
825 reviews
23.4 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: £196 - £582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing