We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“treat yourself - well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“treat yourself - well worth a visit”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Fabulous family lunch at Golf Club on June 10th - food was amazing and staff couldn't have been nicer. Gardens are spectacular and the service was really efficient and friendly. This hotel is really woth visiting

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Mags M

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your lunch in our Golf Club and I hope that you will viist again soon.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,699
    378
    150
    63
    41
See reviews for
975
1,623
45
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tiburon
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great place. Grand staff. Beautiful grounds. And if you like golf "Number two rated foreign course"
by Condo ness magazine. Close to the old town of Ennis with cute little streets and lot of pubs.
They have bike for riding around the property, and you can rent horses, but that is not on the grounds.The food is excellent. You can eat in the grand dining room, or , for more casual,
eat in the bar area, which also had outside seating.
The golf Club building also served excellent food.and dress was very casua. Called The Fig room.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the back overlooking the parking lot and tennis courts. The best are in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edwardTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear EdwardTiburon

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are delighted you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your time here. We hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes
Mark Nolan & All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Family trip thru Ireland and was looking for a memorable castle experience. Dromoland fit the bill to a tee. Outstanding facility, excellent staff, wonderful afternoon tea, delicious dinners, many activities to choose from. Booked thru Amex Platinum, all three rooms upgraded (one to a suite), beautifully appointed rooms, great bathrooms, outstanding views of lake and 18th hole. Loved so much we extended our stay another night, lost the suite but moved to a very nice room on 2nd floor. Girls tried archery, guys played golf, enjoyed the pool, steam, sauna and work out room. Day trip to Cliffs of Moor and Ennis town. Dinners at Fig Tree and Earl of Thomond were very enjoyable. There are no elevators, but if mobility is an issue, the 1st floor rooms have limited steps and there is an exterior wheel chair lift. Overall it is on the expensive side, but definitely worth it!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are beautiful, but I wouldn't think you'd spend much time in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jim S

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we appreciate that you took the time to share your comments. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced some of the many on site estate activities here.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Five of us came and stayed in April. The rooms were wonderful but the service turned out to be the highlight of the trip. Without being imposing, all the staff was just as helpful and courteous as good be. I went to see the walled garden, and a very nice lady just appeared and explained how the garden woukd look in the summer. The Fig Tree restaurant was wonderful: great food in a more informal setting. The tea I had at breakfast was the single best cup of tea in my life, and I can't help but think the sheer kindness of every staff member improved its taste. I really don't mind paying a little more for a room in a place that obviously invests in its staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lacoatrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Lacoatrack

Thank you for your lovely comments which we are all delighted to receive. Thank you for sharing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again soon.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I’m really torn in how to rate our stay at Dromoland. On the one hand we received amazing service, experienced some great food and tried some fun and entertaining local activities; on the other hand the room we were given was awful. But as we decided during the trip that we were on vacation and should focus on the positive.

Pulling off the local road into the long driveway, flanked on either side by the golf course, you know you are in for something special. The castle is situated on a sizeable estate, with some beautiful grounds and it’s own lake. Arriving at the reception you are immediately greeted by one of the doormen (you’ll discover that they are much more than that) who’ll take your car keys, luggage and worries away with them as you climb the gorgeous Liscannor stone steps.

During our stay we sampled the buffet breakfast, Mrs. White’s afternoon tea (a meal in itself), the golf club bar and the signature General Thomond dining room. Uniformly good food and brisk, competent but friendly service. Highly recommended. They even made me a non-chocolate birthday cake! Asides from the obvious golf, you can try archery, rowing, falconry and a host of other “castle-like” activities. We opted for the Dromoland School of Falconry and had an amazing educational experience with Dave the owner, and Ginny, our hawk. The highlight of our stay.

On the downside we checked in and were given Room 211, which basically had a view of nothing. (Disclaimer: I did tell them we couldn’t climb multiple flights of stairs). This was disappointing as the deluxe suites are supposed to have a view of the lake, golf course or gardens. The one thing I wanted was a view. I had my heart set on celebrating my birthday by looking out the window of a castle onto the surrounds and imagining I was back in the medieval days as lord of the manor. Simple, but that’s what I wanted. The front desk kept telling me they were full and couldn’t upgrade me. I just wanted what the room description said I should expect. Our 2nd night they did move us to a slightly better room with a view of the reception courtyard.

So .. as the title says .. fantastic food, superb service and an awful room. Shame. No other hotel/castle treated us that way. Ask lots of questions when you check in about what kind of room you have.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear John C

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor and for the really wonderful comments about our food, service and staff which we were delighted to read.

As you were gracious in bringing your issue with the view from your room to our attention whilst you were staying with us, we are pleased to have had the opportunity to apologise to you in person, and move you to the best room available on that evening. We also hope that you enjoyed our gestures of goodwill extended to you during your stay.

It is our absolute priority to ensure that all of our valued guests enjoy their stay with us and hopefully leave with fond memories of their entire Dromoland experience.

Regretfully, we had not received information prior to your stay on the unsuitability of stairs as the deluxe room in the tower with the lake view that you were initially allocated proved inappropriate. Due to the nature of this sixteenth century castle, prior knowledge of any special requirements is necessary, especially at this time of the year when we are at maximum capacity.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dromoland and ensuring that you will feel like the lord of the manor on your next visit.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night while we were traveling the west coast, based on recommendations from two separate friends that were married here. It was our favorite hotel and experience of our entire trip. We were upgraded to the top room in the tower which was simply stunning. The room was huge and the bathroom was much larger than the typical European hotel. The views though...they were incredible. Which makes sense because the same should be said for the grounds.

Like many of the recent reviews below, we were tired and not feeling up to dressing up so we ate at the Clubhouse. The food was typical bar food but our server was great. The breakfast is a typical Irish offering in a classier setting, but again, great service. The Pony and Trap ride was such a great experience. We decided to do a sunset one (which was like 9:00 PM) and they accommodated the late request. The driver is very well versed in Irish history and tells some really wonderful stories.

When we come back to Ireland, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIrishCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear TheIrishCMC

We are thrilled to learn that you stayed with us on the recommendation of friends and that you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to share your comments with Sean, the staff in the clubhouse and indeed the entire team.

We look foward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed just one night at Dromoland as I had to pick up friends at Shannon Airport in the early morning. I have stayed at the Castle a few times in the past and was anxious to get a little golf in before a much anticipated golf trip around the Irish Southwest.

I booked Dromoland with AMEX Fine Hotels and Resorts and was upgraded to a beautiful suite. The golf both on the day of arrival and early the next morning made my stay worth it. The hotel had a special: 9 holes with a cart, time at the practice area and a sleeve of balls for 45 Euro. I was practicing my chipping and the Golf Pro David gave me a few pointers.It was the perfect tune up before hitting Lahinch the next day.

Dinner was at the Fig Tree Restaurant. More informal and very good. Don't miss the walled garden beside the restaurant. Wow.

The hotel has not changed much over the years which is actually quite nice. Breakfast was excellent and I really had a great experience. I always enjoy returning to Dromoland and am never disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Seacam,
Delighted you had such a good stay and you enjoyed the course so much. It is becoming known as one of the “hidden gems” of Irish Golf due to its condition and layout.

Thanks again for your comments and repeat business.
Mark Nolan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,176 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,434 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
811 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,576 reviews
23.4 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing