We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful end to our Ireland holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Our family of six spent our final night of our Irish vacation at this beautiful Castle hotel. From the moment you arrive you realize that this is a special place. All the staff were attentive and happy to be of service. We had three beautiful rooms overlooking the lake. We managed to get in skeet shooting, a hawk walk, rowing on the lake and a guided cart ride around the grounds. We celebrated our son's 29th birthday with an amazing five course meal in the restaurant finishing up with a delicious birthday cake. This is an exceptionally beautiful hotel, but the biggest strength is in the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank chOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear chOntario

Thank you for your wonderful comments and for choosing to spend your final night celebrating your son's birthday with us. We very much appreciate your recommendation and hope that we will see you again soon.

Thank you most sincerely from myself and all the team

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,597 - 2,603 of 3,599 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

An awe-inspiring exterior, a plush, inviting, comfortable interior, perfectly manicured grounds, 5+start restaurant. Elegant, but not stuffy or pretentious. Take the Falconry lessons-a wonderful experience. Afternoon tea delightful. massage was great. Pub was fun, great bartenders, funny, helpful, and a nice lounge singer/balladeer
Everyone was friendly, helpful.
Our itinerary had a staying there 2 nights. After six hours, I called my travel agent, changed our itinerary, and stayed 3 nights.
Not inexpensive, but worth it.
The highlight of a fantastic Irish vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MMouseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear barefoothitchhiker

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We were delighted that you extended your recent stay with us and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What a wonderful experience! We were at Dromoland for our final three nights in Ireland. The grounds are simply incredible. The décor is fantastic. Our room was large, with plenty of storage for our clothing. Everything was so clean. The bathroom was large with two sinks, a bath and a separate shower. We made sure to take advantage of the amenities at the hotel. Our hawk walk was a highlight, as was afternoon fishing. The restaurant was kind enough to cook up the fish we caught for a late lunch. My husband loved the golf course and found it very challenging. Be sure not to miss the garden, which is enclosed within a fence. I could have spent the entire afternoon there with a book. It is just beautiful. One of my favorite experiences was afternoon tea with my daughter. The staff presented it so well, and the sandwiches and pastries were delicious We wanted to ride bikes (free of charge) and go clay shooting as well, but we simply ran out of time. At Dromoland Castle, you can feel as if you have stepped back in time, and yet you can quickly be to Shannon (about twenty minutes) or to the coastal Cliffs of Moher. One small drawback: because there is no air conditioning, windows are left open at night. Families need to be mindful of noise level so as not to disturb other guests whose windows are also open to catch the breezes. We loved our time at Dromoland Castle!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank spillma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear spillma

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am thrilled you had the time to experience so many of the on-site amenities and activities, I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all the team here.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Dromoland Castle is just what I imagined it would be. The castle and the surrounding landscape are just amazing. From the time you walk in you are treated like royalty. Our room was huge and so elegant. The bathroom was great, all done with Old World charm. Dinner was delicious and the service was outstanding. The walled gardens and the grounds are perfect for many photos.
There is no air conditioning, being from the US we are so used to it, but there was no need for it.
It was just perfect for our last night stay in Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trixie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Trixie1953

Thank you for your lovely feedback, and for choosing to stay with us for your last night in Ireland. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Dromoland. Friendly and helpful staff and vaste varity of leisure opportunities! The rooms were very comfortable and large. We used Dromoland also for a very good golf experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear HanS

Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with us at Dromoland.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Dromoland castle was like walking into a dream. I overheard a woman at breakfast being asked, "Did you enjoy breakfast this morning," by a head staff member as she was heading out of the dining hall. She exclaimed, "It almost isn't real." I believe that sums up my experience to a tee-it was that wonderful. I also appreciated the incredibly helpful, and hospitable staff. Tom who met us outside the castle was absolutely magnificent. Saroise was absolutely incredible on the Hawk Walk. It was the highlight event of our honeymoon. Thank you for staying patient with the loads of American Tour buses, and I'm sure many sub-par manners (at times).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Caseyjackson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Caseyjackson13

We are delighted you chose to say with us at Dromoland Castle as part of your honeymoon and hope we can welcome you back for many anniversaries to come!

Thank you for your lovely comments which I will pass on to Tom, Saorise and all the team.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed there every time I go to Ireland. The rooms are so very nice, breakfast fit for a King or Queen....just spending time exploring and enjoying everything that is offered. I would not go to Ireland without spending at least one night. Our next trip will include our grand-daughters,next time will be the 5th time for us.

Room Tip: I have never had a room that I was not happy with..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear reb127

Thank you for this wonderful review and recommendation. We are always delighted and appreciate our return guests and look forward to seeing you again soon.

With best wishes

Mark Nolan & All the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,326 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,500 reviews
5.2 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
434 reviews
14 mi away
Limerick Strand Hotel
Limerick Strand Hotel
#3 of 20 in Limerick
2,728 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: £192 - £692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing