We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rainbow over Ireland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Loved my stay at the Dromoland Castle Hotel. The staff bend over backwards for you. On my last day I saw a rainbow right outside my hotel room window.
Like a rainbow Dromoland is a true gem. Good job!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ireland F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Ireland F

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,522 - 2,528 of 3,543 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is definitely one of the nicest hotels i've stayed in. You arrive to be made feel special and you leave feeling pampered happy and special. The attention to detail from all the staff is second to none. Staff could not do enough for you and there are so many staff you are never left waiting for anything. Defintely a magical experience to stay in this hotel and highly recomend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Orla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Orla B

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation and indeed for choosing to stay with us, I will share your comments with the entire team at our weekly staff briefing.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The castle and it's staff were flawless! We could only afford to stay one night but you do walk away feeling as if your every need was met. It is a unique hotel experience.
We did find that the cost for the activities such as falconry seemed excessive if Dromoland would like to appeal to families that are more upper middle class as opposed to the wealthy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Eric G

Thank you for your review and indeed for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland Castle. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass your comments onto our Falconer who is contracted by us to provide this very popular activity for his review. Your feedback is very important to us so thank you for your comments.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We sat in the drawing room and started with a cheese board and tea served by a butler in full tuxedo with white gloves. The service was delightful and the food was very good. Following dinner we ventured to the bar room for an evening cocktail. Waterford chandlers adorn many rooms of this stunning castle.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear MaryLollen

Thank you for your review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your dining experience with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice 5 star hotel. Great facilities - castle converted to a hotel with a nice well maintained property around it. Service was excellent and attitude was good. Food was tasty and the chef was accommodating. Golf course is in good shape and is really nice course. I paid for a 9 hole round of golf but could only play 3 since it started raining. They have no rain check. Golf does not have a pro shop. They just have some of the items for sales at front desk and the people there want to sell your everything possible if you did not bring your own. Did not appreciate that. The club rentals were old - they had good ones - not sure why they would not give me decent ones. Did not feel good about that part of the experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank WorldtravellerKNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear WorldtravellerKNH

Thank you for posting your review. I am delighted you enjoyed the castle and your stay with us for the most part.

I am very sorry that your golf experience did not meet your expectations but thank you for your feedback which is very important to us and I will discuss your comments with the team here.

Yours sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Beautiful castle/ golf course.Seems too busy with US weddings and corporate events to accommodate individual travelers.Make sure you request a room above ground level.Make dining reservations before you go.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Pietro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Pietro T

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. While we are enjoying a busy season here we do our very best to ensure all of our guests, from wedding parties, to groups, to our leisure guests are looked after with the finest of five star hospitality.

I am very sorry if we let you down on this occasion and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future so we may restore your faith in our hotel.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Last June, my wife and I took two of our children, along with their families, ten in all, for a three day stay at Dromoland. The facilities were absolutely magnificent, the food was great, but most of all the staff made all of our group feel so very welcome. There were activities for each age group, I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The front desk seemed very anxious to help you find a room to your liking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear John H

Its time you were back for another family gathering!!!! We all very much enjoyed having your family stay with us and hope to see you back soon.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,278 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,488 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
832 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: £178 - £689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing