We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ending at a Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ending at a Castle”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Family of five concluded our vacation at the Castle. The reception staff are warm and welcoming. My husband and son played a round on a beautiful course. Dinner was fantastic and breakfast equally enjoyable. Two complaints, no down pillows and bedroom chandeliers need a dusting. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Paula M

Thank you for posting your review, I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Your comments regarding your accommodation are very important so thank you for sharing these with us, I will discuss these issues with my accommodation team.

Yours sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,536
    362
    144
    63
    40
See reviews for
890
1,554
43
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Highly recommend. The service was happy and took the time to know you, making you feel special. The grounds were beautiful. The activities were outstanding and entertained the whole family. The food was delicious, high tea was a special experience and breakfast was a brilliant start to the day. The rooms were luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chawrunp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Chawrunp

Thank you for your recommendation, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that if you are travelling in Ireland again we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dromoland.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were greeted warmly upon our arrival. The entire staff went above and beyond to ensure our stay was a wonderful experience. The bartenders were very attentive, and the Irish music in the bar around 10 pm was beautiful. Dromoland Castle was by far the best stay of our Ireland vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Kirk H

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time in Ireland and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland Castle. I will share your comments with all the team.

If you are visiting Ireland again I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Dromoland Castle is a beautiful resort in set in the Irish countryside. It offers a variety of activities to meet the individual tastes of those who visit. The rooms are beautifully decorated, warm, and inviting. The staff go out of their way to make sure that their guests are comfortable. Dining at Dromoland offers something for everyone from casual to fine dining experiences. Staying at this resort was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ruben & Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Ruben & Erin C

Thank you for posting your lovely review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The whole experience was great, the staff are very friendly and attentive.
The food was excellent and facilities well maintained.
The grounds and facilities are amazing.
The spa was run professionally.
Overall one of the best trips I have had

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Edward R

Thank you for your lovely comments which I will be delighted to share with all the team here. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We thought it was so Fabulous we will be back next year and not to be dismissed on anyones trip through Ireland.
The Dining room is 5 star service with professional staff guiding you through each part of the menu and the lifting of silver domes at the same time exposing the guest to a wondrous dish created by the Castles chefs!
All in all it is not to be missed and surpasses anything we imagined it to be!



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Rae L

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are thrilled you plan to return to visit us next year and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feakle, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

i went for soup to the restaurant it was super.
We had a wonderful experience at Dromoland Castle. I only wish our stay was extended! The staff was warm and welcoming. It was the best room we ever stayed in! The gardens and grounds were beautifully maintained! The service was very good as well Horse back riding, archery, clay shooting, and touring the grounds in a horse drawn trap (small carriage). The food in the dining room was excellent. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Good chowder
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornelia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Cornelia S

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland Castle, we are delighted to read that you will return to us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Property: Dromoland Castle Hotel
Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing