We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golf club exceeds expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our ladies golf club visited Dromoland golf club recently. What a wonderful experience . From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed. Part of the deal included breakfast and evening meal. Both meals were superb. The golf course is fantastic if a little long. The walled gardens alone are worth a visit. Will definitely be back .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank fionnuala_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Fionnuala_7

We were delighted to welcome your golf group and of course that you enjoyed our course, the gardens and hotel.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,420 - 2,426 of 3,458 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is among the best 5-star hotels we've been to. The grounds are beautiful, the castle is grand, the service is impeccable, and the food is wonderful. My husband and I stayed here for four nights (August 8 to 12) while we toured the sites on the West Coast, and we are already dreaming of going back. You just feel like you want to feel when staying at a 5-star hotel and are treated as such too. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and I must call out Pamela, who was so nice and went above and beyond about a request we made about our room, and the manager of the restaurant at breakfast, who was always chipper and friendly and who brought my husband six golf balls, when he mentioned he was going to play. All hotels should aspire to serve their guests as they do at Dromoland. Thank you for the wonderful experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunflowers445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Sunflowers445

Thank you for your wonderful review which I will share with Tony, Pamela and indeed all the team here. It is feedback such as yours that makes all our efforts worthwhile.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again soon.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Highly recommend staying at this hotel and enjoying the Dromoland experience. We have stayed here a few times. The first time we stayed in a Queen Anne room which was across the courtyard through a connecting corridor, comfortable furnishing and room with character. On a return visit we stayed in a luxurious and magical suite in the tower, which were upgraded to on a complimentary basis due to very special occasion. On a further return visit we were also upgraded to a large suite which was very opulent. Breakfast is the best we have ever experienced in a hotel with a fantastic variety of fruit, pastries,hot and cold options. Service is excellent and staff are very accommodating. I could not recommend this hotel enough. It is also a lovely place to go for afternoon tea in the gallery or drawing, either way visiting Dromoland Castle is a must!

Room Tip: Tower suite is magical. Rooms are very opulent. If you can go for a room in the main castle building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjryan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear sjryan27

Many thanks for your wonderful review and recommendation. It really gives us all a great boost to receive positive comments such as yours.

We appreciate your repeat custom and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were treated like king and queen of the castle for our stay, We were surrounded by luxury both indoors and outdoors. The sun shone and we left the castle having experienced something special and with lovely memories of our 25th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Tom C

Thank you for choosing Dromoland for your anniversary celebrations, we are delighted that you enjoyed your special occasion with us.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for many more special occasions.

Best wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Dromoland in early July. There is a reason Dromoland is part of the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts program. From the time we arrived, we were very relaxed and impressed. Members of the hotel staff were attentive, friendly, and accommodating. This was the highlight of our stay in Ireland. We were upgraded at check in, and our room was amazing.

My wife always wanted to stay at a "castle" when in Ireland. Even though this was considered a manor house by the locals (since there were no official fortifications), this exceeded expectations and satisfied the standards of very particular travelers.

While here, we did the hawk walk, which turned out to be quite interesting and entertaining. It was really a fun time.

Our biggest complaint is that we didn't have more time to spend here. The grounds are amazing, and the staff really go out of their way to make sure things are right. We would definitely return to this amazing property.

Room Tip: If you are an American Express Platinum card member, book through AmEx to get available room upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Chris E

Many thanks for your wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Dromoland and thrilled to read that you will return us, we all look forward to welcoming you back to visit in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Family of five concluded our vacation at the Castle. The reception staff are warm and welcoming. My husband and son played a round on a beautiful course. Dinner was fantastic and breakfast equally enjoyable. Two complaints, no down pillows and bedroom chandeliers need a dusting. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Paula M

Thank you for posting your review, I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Your comments regarding your accommodation are very important so thank you for sharing these with us, I will discuss these issues with my accommodation team.

Yours sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Highly recommend. The service was happy and took the time to know you, making you feel special. The grounds were beautiful. The activities were outstanding and entertained the whole family. The food was delicious, high tea was a special experience and breakfast was a brilliant start to the day. The rooms were luxurious.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chawrunp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Chawrunp

Thank you for your recommendation, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that if you are travelling in Ireland again we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Dromoland.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,244 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,472 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
824 reviews
23.4 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
475 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: £196 - £597 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing