We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heavenly retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A splendid couple of days! Our family arrived in the pouring rain. But the entire staff made our visit friendly, warm and relaxing. The grounds are spectacular, and the food is amazing. Service was superb.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Craig & Yumi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Craig & Yumi

Thank you for posting your review, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,480 - 2,486 of 3,543 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

What an amazing experience. The staff go out of their way to make sure they can assist you with any request. It was like a page from the PBS show Downton Abbey . We highly recommend the falconry as you get to hike through the grounds while you watch these amazing creatures soar in flight . Our dinner at the Earl of Thomand was divine . What a perfect way to end our 7 day Irish vacation !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear EricD

Thank you for posting your lovely review. We were delighted to welcome your family to stay with us and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future if you are traveling in Ireland again.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Went to Dromoland for afternoon tea one sunday this year and it is an understatement to say i was disappointed! Had been wanting to do it for ages and was really looking forward to it.
I understand that taste is very subjective but the basics were lacking in the poor display of food served to us that day.
To start, the cucumber sandwich ( how original!!) were like they had been waiting on a tray for hours and were simply not fresh. The bread was stale. The smoked salmon sandwiches also stale were very basic and not what you would expect from a 5* hotel, neither were the third kind of sandwiches!The sampler cakes would have been passable if they had been fresh and cold, not like something that has spent the day on the kitchen counter.
The only positive were the scones, tiny but delicious.
At €75 for 3 what we got was far from being up to standard.
The staff was not particularly nice or helpful, but condescending and obnoxious!

Not what you would expect from a 5* hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
11  Thank Lily380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Lily380

We are very disappointed with your review but do appreciate your feedback.

We are very proud of our Afternoon Tea offering and in fact we are in the process of developing it further. I am very surprised that you would have been served anything less than fresh sandwiches and pastries but will bring this to the attention of our Chef.

I will not tolerate condescending or obnoxious staff, now or ever, and am amazed at your comment however in an effort to learn from your feedback I would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you and would kindly ask you to contact me off line on mark.nolan@dromoland.ie

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Visited for a wedding and ended up staying the night as a treat.
Service could not have been better and our 5 year old son was spoilt rotten by all the staff who took the time to make sure he had the best visit from endless supplies of ice lollies by the lady at reception to teddy bears and children's dressing gowns in the room. They even remembered his name wherever he went in the hotel.
Golf course was fantastic as were all the facilities the hotel had to offer.
The wedding was done amazingly and we had a great time on all the little visits we made in the week leading up to it.
It was expensive and the wedding bar bill was horrific, but I can guarantee, you get what you pay for.
I only wish I had taken the lady's name who showed us to our room and made my son feel so welcome as she deserves a special mention.

Room Tip: We were close to the wedding venue part of the hotel in a deluxe room and it was perfect with very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheChisletFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear ChisletFamily

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were delighted that you stayed with us and it was a pleasure to spoil you all! I will share your comments with the entire team so your lovely comments will reach the intended staff member who showed you to your room.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We decided to detour from my husband's golf tour to drive to Dromoland for two nights. We are so glad the we made the trip! We enjoyed afternoon tea in the Gallery, Movie Night In, we were the happy witnesses to a fireworks display. The next day golf for our son, horseback riding, clay pigeon shooting, spa appointments, archery and dinner. Archery the next mornig before we departed.
Thank you Liesha for arranging everything and the staff at the castle for sharing your talents! The Johnston Family

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Johnston's!

We were thrilled you made the detour too! It was wonderful to welcome you and delighted that you managed to enjoy so many of the estate activities during your time with us.

I hope if you are traveling in Ireland again you will consider returning to stay with us, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The finest service and facilities anywhere in the world. Attentive and accommodating in every respect. Guest focus and ultimate in service is paramount for the staff. Cannot say enough wonderful things about our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank VSS0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear VSS0814

We are thrilled to read your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dromoland Castle. You have given the team a great boost.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to visit us again soon.

Best Wishes

Mark Nolan & All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A beautiful setting in amazing surroundings and we had an amazing time but was a little bit flawed with too many little mishaps . It did not spoil the amazing time we had but when you pay these kind of prices you can demand a little more we thought.

The rooms are beautiful decorated but a little frayed at the edges and the curtains. The bathroom was amazing in size and made you feel like royals.

the staff are super friendly and outstanding and they go out of their way to help you. They however first could not find my reservation and on check out the bill was wrong with items we never had and therefore took ages to sort out.

We had a few little hiccups with the bikes and a car transport to Shannon airport

We would certainly go back for sure and the place is beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rearthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Nolan_GM, General Manager at Dromoland Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear rearthlondon

Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you had an amazing stay with us. I am very sorry for the mishaps you encountered during your stay and hope these did not inconvenience you too much. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I will share your feedback with the management team.

I am delighted to read that you would return to us and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely

Mark Nolan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket-on-Fergus
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,278 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,489 reviews
5.2 mi away
Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
832 reviews
10.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Limerick
6.9 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromoland Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromoland Castle Hotel

Address: Limerick-Ennis Road | Co.Clare, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Newmarket-on-Fergus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newmarket-on-Fergus
Price Range: £178 - £692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dromoland Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an extraordinary history stretching back to the 5th Century, the Dromoland Castle 5 Star Hotel in Ireland was originally the ancestral home of one of the few families of Gaelic Royalty; direct descendants of Brian Boru, the High King of Ireland. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent lawns, this Irish 5 star luxury Castle Hotel overlooks its own Championship Golf Course and a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dromoland Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dromoland Castle Ireland
Castle Dromoland Ireland
Dromoland Castle Hotel Ireland/Newmarket-On-Fergus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing